Gays Pick Up Chick

Yet another inconvenient truth for the “gay parenting is unnatural” crowd:

A pair of gay flamingos have adopted an abandoned chick, becoming parents after being together for six years, a British conservation organisation said Monday.

Carlos and Fernando had been desperate to start a family, even chasing other flamingos from their nests to take over their eggs at the Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust (WWT) in Slimbridge near Bristol.

Could there be anything cuter than gay flamingos named Carlos and Fernando desperate to be parents? No, I daresay not.

In further evidence of how unnatural this abomination is, Carlos and Fernando can feed chicks by producing milk in their throats.

14 Comments

Filed under 01_shakespeares_sister

14 responses to “Gays Pick Up Chick

  1. This is so priceless, I don’t even know where to being.

  2. uh, begin.

    I can’t type.

  3. I knew what you meant.

    And yes, I agree. Totally, adorably priceless.

  4. Susan

    This has been one shitty day until I saw this story. Thanks! Life is looking better.

  5. Hava

    “Gay flamingos are not uncommon”

    I plan on working that line into at least 3 conversations before the end of the month.

    …and yeah, that’s the sweetest thing I’ve read all day.

  6. anangryoldbroad

    Oh,that’s just too sweet and adorable for words. Carlos and Fernando? Geeze,I’m glad I’m not diabetic,lol. May the happy family live long and be well.

  7. Grandjester

    Next time someone pulls the “it’s unnatural” card. Hello, nature here and we’re FABULOUS!

  8. Chromosome Crawl

    but if they can produce milk, than it can’t be unnatural for them….

    some people just need to expand their frame of reference and not be so sapien-centric.

  9. mamajane

    This is the sweetest thing I’ve heard in ages. Sadly, I’m beginning to have visions of the Phelps clan picketing Busch Gardens now…

    Here’s to the happy family!

    I just forwarded this link to most of my address book, curious to hear the responses from my less open-minded acquaintances.

  10. RW

    Righty McMeanypants: Homosexuality is unnatural!
    Someone Else: But animals are gay
    Righty McMeanypants: What are you, trying to reduce us to the status of animals?

  11. My boyfriend is permanently traumatized by the concept of “throat milk,” but other than that, this is awesome.

  12. evil Kevin

    “produce” milk?

  13. This TOTALLY makes up for that floozie who broke up the cute Central Park Zoo gay penguins. 🙂

Leave a comment