Oops

GOP Republican candidate and former Arkansas governor Mike Huckabee must be one proud papa: “His 26-year-old son, David, just got busted at Little Rock, Arkansas’s airport today when an X-ray spotted a loaded Glock in his carry-on luggage. You know, like the one Cho Seung-Hui used in the Virginia Tech shootings.”

Ouch. More here, including some of that good, upstanding, conservative personal responsibility from gun-toting sonny’s pres-wannabe pops: “My wife and I love our son. What he did was irresponsible but not intentional. It’s one of those stupid things.”

Yeah, I do that all the time.

[H/T Constant Comment.]

7 Comments

Filed under 01_shakespeares_sister

7 responses to “Oops

  1. burnt toast

    the lack of critical gun debate after VT by democrats is deafening… good opinion piece:

    http://www.nytimes.com/2007/04/26/opinion/26thu4.html
    Guns and More Guns

  2. Constant Comment

    The wingnuts must love this guy! The (not so) weird part about this is that this creepy dude (really, he is so totally a Bubba) has already had justice meted out to him. As you can imagine, just a slap on the wrist. Because, you know, that could happen to anyone….

  3. What does this say about ahem, responsible gun ownership?

    If you can’t remember that you have a loaded Glock in your luggage, what keeps you from “forgetting” about it around the house, the kids, the neighbor’s kids? Etc…

    If we can’t find Democrats with the balls/ovaries to ban handguns, can’t we AT LEAST attach some serious punishment to airheads like this who treat these deadly weapons with such a caviler attitude?

    And before some troll starts to tear me up – I was raised in a gun culture. There were weapons in my house growing up, and I was given guns as gifts as a child. I was taught to respect them and handle them safely. As an adult, I made a conscious decision to rid myself of all firearms.

  4. And more here. The problem at VT was, apparently, a dearth of guns.

  5. I’m going to keep saying it everywhere until somebody responds. Regulate the militia. The right to keep and bear arms is contingent on a well regulated militia. Gun owners are militia and should be made to conform to regulation. I would suggest requiring a course of basic training as well.

  6. Erin M

    Did he get a nice personal meeting with a cheerful civil servant with cold rubber gloves? I’d hate to think he was singled out for special treatment, y’know?

Leave a comment