Pinkie Needs a Home

Shaker Jaclyn, who is a regular foster mom to animals in need of adoption, has just taken in a new ward, Pinkie. Pinkie needs a good home, and there’s information about Pinkie, and how you can adopt her, below the fold.

Am I cute or what?

Jaclyn: Pinkie is a 12-year-old lemon basset hound. (Lemon is her coloring, not a statement of quality!) Her previous owner had medical issues that prevented her from being able to care for a large, low dog—so we are fostering Pinkie for a new group: Alabama Basset and Bloodhound Rescue. You can see her page here.

As bassets go, Pinkie is large. She has an overall bigger stature than my others (past and present), and she probably weighs around 75 lb. Like most senior bassets, she does have a bit of arthritis in her hips and lower back. She really can’t (and shouldn’t) do steps without assistance, but she is learning to use a ramp well. We are working on reducing her weight to see if that helps her mobility. She can walk just fine and goes out and wanders the backyard regularly.

Personality-wise, Pinkie is wonderful. She loves everyone, especially if they will give her attention. She doesn’t demand much past air conditioning, food, petting, and a comfortable bed. She will whimper and whine a bit if she’s missing one of those, but otherwise she’s fairly quiet. She ignores cats and gets along fine with other dogs. She is housetrained both with and without a (low) doggy door.

Pinkie needs a good, permanent home of her own. All of ABBR’s adoptions require a home visit check to make sure that everything on the application is accurate. If someone is interested in her from another area, I expect that ABBR would get a rescue volunteer to do the home visit, and the adopter would help ABBR arrange transport.

And I’d like to remind everyone that purebred or mostly purebred dogs are given up for adoption every day. For many breeds, including bassets, there are breed-specific rescues to help families find the perfect pet. Sites like Petfinder.com also allow you to search by breed. So even if you have a particular attachment to a breed, there’s no reason to shop pet stores or backyard breeders. Please provide a home to a homeless pet!

* * *

Liss again. If you’re interested in adopting Pinkie, or finding out more, drop a note in comments or email me, and I’ll put you in contact with Jaclyn.

17 Comments

Filed under 01_shakespeares_sister

17 responses to “Pinkie Needs a Home

  1. I’d love to have a second Basset, but would Jaclyn pay the lawyer fees for the divorce?

    (Loki is not a dog person)

  2. cellar door

    Aw. I hope she find a good forever home. My husband and I just adopted a tiny 5-week-old calico kitten that someone had tossed out of a car window (!!!) in Houston. Friends of ours took her to the local no-kill shelter and they were full, but the vet provided the care she needed (stitches on her lips and lower jaw, flea dipping, antibiotics for an eye infection, etc.) for free on the promise that they would not give her to a kill shelter or abandon her. They have two pets already, so I took in the cutest kitten ever. She is now running our house quite nicely. Even my older cat seems cute-afflicted (though fro a distance so far).

    Poor homeless pets. 😦

  3. Pingback: Pinkie needs a home! « Kowai

  4. Brynn

    Lemon is her coloring, not a statement of quality! LOL!!!

    She’s so homely she’s adorable!! I hope she finds the wonderful home she deserves.

  5. Susan

    Where is Pinkie? I mean, state, city, etc.

  6. mamajane

    She’s an absolute beauty! If we weren’t in the opposite corner of the country, I’d give her a forever home in a second. I hope she finds the home she deserves as soon as possible.

  7. Mamajane, transport may be available. Jaclyn, can you comment on that…?

  8. Kathy Kattenburg

    Susan, I think Pinkie must be in Alabama, since she’s being fostered by Alabama Basset and Bloodhound Rescue.

    Kathy

  9. oddjob

    She’s so homely she’s adorable!!

    If you look up “Basset hound” in the dictionary isn’t that pretty much what the definition will say? 😉

  10. Jaclyn

    Hey everyone 🙂
    Yes, we’re in Alabama. Tuscaloosa, to be exact. No stalkers, please.

    I’m just a foster for ABBR, so I can’t promise anything. BUT, I know that long distance transports do happen. The longer they are, the more difficult they are to arrange, but it’s not impossible. Having the adopters willing to help with the transport can be a big plus.

    On the other hand, there are also basset rescues all over the country. This is a breed that’s frequently given up because people didn’t expect the size, the drool, the shedding, and/or the energy level. So it would be wrong of me not to remind you to check locally first. There’s a good list of rescues here:
    http://www.dailydrool.com/rescue.html

  11. Pingback: Pinkie Needs a Home — Cute and Fun Cats and Guinea Pigs There All my friends…

  12. I have to say, as a Basset Hound owner, that I was prepared for everything except the vocalizing. And our basset doesn’t drool, but leaves ear trails on the floor after he’s had a drink of water.

    I really can’t take in another dog, but I can tell you that basset hounds are really wonderful, loving dogs, and also add a tremendous amount of humor to your life as well.

  13. Pingback: William K. Wolfrum » Blog Archive » Can you help Pinkie find a home?

  14. JoshWatermanMN

    What a cute dog! I love hounds–I have a beagle. Wish I could hae another dog (I rent from someone else right now), because I would snatch Pinky up in a heartbeat!

  15. Just ran across your blog. Did Pinky get adopted? It is now Jan 08 and it has been a long time since you or anyone posted/commented about her

  16. There are certainly a lot of details like that to take into consideration.That is a great point to bring up.I offer the thoughts above as general inspiration but clearly there are questions like the one you bring up where the most important thing will be working in honest good faith.I don?t know if best practices have emerged around things like that, but I am sure that your job is clearly identified as a fair game.Both boys and girls feel the impact of just a moment’s pleasure, for the rest of their lives.

Leave a Reply

