Say It Ain’t So: The Tyrannosaurus of Turpitude to Resign?

Nooooooooooo!

According to the Politico, columnist Robert Novak will report this weekend: “Former House Speaker J. Dennis Hastert has indicated to a close former aide that it is likely he will not run for a 12th term from his northern Illinois district and may even resign from Congress before his present term concludes. That runs counter to widespread speculation on Capitol Hill that Hastert will continue in the House for another two years as a private member with no leadership responsibilities.”

Oh, Denny! Sob.

Memories…

15 Comments

Filed under 01_shakespeares_sister

15 responses to “Say It Ain’t So: The Tyrannosaurus of Turpitude to Resign?

  1. What was that phrase I heard? Oh, he’s leaving to spend more time with his bank account.

  2. Nadai

    So did he show up on the DC madam’s phone list?

  3. So did he show up on the DC madam’s phone list?

    God, I hope not. *shudders*

  4. oddjob

    I’m not surprised. A lot of Dem. dinos resigned after the Repubs. gained majority status in ’95. With the House rules putting the minority so wholly at the mercy of the majority it can’t be any fun to be shunted to the sidelines after having been one of the majority’s senior leaders.

    Furthermore, he was a weak leader. DeLay was next in line, but knew he was too polarizing to serve as Speaker so he handpicked Denny to be Speaker.

  5. L

    I may be sick thinking of the Tyrannosaurus being, well, naked and nasty. Ugh.

  6. oddjob

    So did he show up on the DC madam’s phone list?

    God, I hope not. *shudders*

    I’ve seen internet rumors before suggesting his interests don’t swing that way, if you know what I mean….

  7. I’ve seen those rumors as well, oddjob. They surfaced during the Mark Foley meltdown. I guess I was thinking that the DC madam might have been a full-service establishment.

  8. oddjob

    I guess I was thinking that the DC madam might have been a full-service establishment.

    Ah. I hadn’t considered that possibility.

  9. Memories…

    We need a new episode. How about saving Keith Olbermann’s stuff from Bush’s executive order?

    Here’s a little something to spark inspiration:

  10. i think denny’s tastes (regarding DC madam) is more along the lines of naked wrestling in the manner of the spartans. ..

  11. larkohio

    Bye Dennis.

  12. I’ve seen internet rumors before suggesting his interests don’t swing that way, if you know what I mean…

    If you live in Illinois, you’ve heard the rumors for years and years. And they include his interests swinging, uh, young, too.

  13. mamajane

    Slightly OT, but while we’re speaking of reality-challenged Repugs, I just read this: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2007/07/20/bush-on-iraq-amputee-go_n_57083.html

    Yes, Bushie went even farther down the “Oh no he didn’t say that” road. Excuse me, I have to go throw up my breakfast now.

  14. Hooray! Bye, Denny, you prick!

    I take a personal interest in this as I grew up in Hastert’s district. My neighbors helped him fundraise when he was first running for office, and I’ve met him, several times. He is as despicable in person as his politics suggest.

  15. Pingback: Quote of the Day at Shakesville

Leave a Reply

