Nice Try, Fran

Homeland Security Advisor Frances Fragos Townsend:

Today in an interview with NPR, Homeland Security Advisor Frances Fragos Townsend argued that the NIE’s findings strengthen the administration’s argument to stay the course. “Al Qaeda’s resources are focused in Iraq because that’s where we are capturing and killing them every single day, so it drains their resources there,” she said. “[T]hey are very much tied down because we are keeping them tied down fighting them in Iraq.”

NPR host Steve Inskeep challenged Townsend, pointing out that al Qaeda had “no capability in Iraq before the war.” Townsend refused to answer the question, stating, “I don’t know — I wasn’t at that briefing.” She then added, “I’m going to rely on the intelligence community. … I would refer you to them.”

Pete Townshend:

I know you’ve deceived me, now here’s a surprise
I know that you have ’cause there’s magic in my eyes

I can see for miles and miles and miles and miles and miles
Oh yeah

If you think that I don’t know about the little tricks you’ve played
And never see you when deliberately you put things in my way

Well, here’s a poke at you
You’re gonna choke on it too
You’re gonna lose that smile
Beacuse all the while

I can see for miles and miles

Of course, there are around 30% who still can’t see for shit.

10 Comments

Filed under 08_space_cowboy

10 responses to “Nice Try, Fran

  1. Jess

    This was my favorite Townsend quote today:

    “The fact is, we were harassing them in Afghanistan, we’re harassing them in Iraq, we’re harassing them in other ways, non-militarily, around the world. And the answer is, every time you poke the hornet’s nest, they are bound to come back and push back on you. That doesn’t suggest to me that we shouldn’t be doing it.”

    I hope she has children so I can pass that on. “Mommy says go ahead and poke the hornet’s nest, sweetie! Just because they’re going to sting you is no reason not to do it!” (The kids, at least, would learn not to do it again.)

  2. Fritz

    Al Qaeda in Iraq and Al Qaeda in Pakistan/Afghanistan ARE NOT the same organization.

    They are only affiliated by their sworn hatred of America. Their is no structural unity. The groups are isolated and under separate leadership.

    How many times does that have to be repeated?

  3. Fritz

    There not their — duh!

  4. Arkades

    Today in an interview with NPR, Homeland Security Advisor Frances Fragos Townsend argued that the NIE’s findings strengthen the administration’s argument to stay the course.

    Not surprising. According to the neocons, *everything* strengthens the administration’s argument to stay the course.

    I’m surprised they haven’t argued that finding blueberries in one’s pancakes at breakfast is a point in favor of staying the course.

  5. I happened to hear that exchange this morning, and I ended up YELLING at my car radio (I’m sure the people near me in traffic were impressed). Ms. Townsend seemed to be hearing entirely different questions than the ones being asked by Steve Inskeep, and yet she was the one insisting that he wasn’t listening. Baffling.

  6. Constant Comment

    Not surprising. According to the neocons, *everything* strengthens the administration’s argument to stay the course.

    Arkades, I absolutely concur. We can’t apply rational discourse to folks who purposely make stuff up.

    *bangs head on desk*

  7. I’m surprised they haven’t argued that finding blueberries in one’s pancakes at breakfast is a point in favor of staying the course.

    laugh/sob/growl

  8. jahf

    I’m surprised they haven’t argued that finding blueberries in one’s pancakes at breakfast is a point in favor of staying the course.

    Not necessary to. The troops are still there, still killing and dying, and they aren’t leaving anytime soon.

  9. Just remember: When you buy blueberries, you’re funding terrorism. Or something. I think they were talking about cannabis, but it made about as much sense.

  10. Osama Bin Laden prefers blueberries in his pancakes. If you eat blueberry pancakes, you are helping terrorism. Is it too far out?

Leave a Reply

