What’s Amazing Is How They Airbrushed Away Her Soul, Too

Because, see, in the “before” shot, you can see life in her face, in her beautiful eyes. In the “after” shot, not so much.

Faith Hill: Gorgeous, but not gorgeous enough, bitchez.

Over at Jezebel, from whence this image came, they’ve also got a 10-point annotated guide to what was done digitally to make Faith Hill “cover-ready.”

This reminds me of the Dove ad which followed the transformation of a pretty but plain model into a billboard-worthy picture of perfection–right through hair, make-up, and digital processing:

Shaker Grrls, please promise you will never, ever, feel shitty about yourselves again because of this shit. I beg you.

[H/T to SAP.]

99 Comments

Filed under 01_shakespeares_sister

99 responses to “What’s Amazing Is How They Airbrushed Away Her Soul, Too

  1. This is why I can’t convince my 17 year old daughter that the tiny, insignificant, little bulge of her stomach is just the natural, normal shape of a WOMAN. She weighs all of 120 pounds and thinks she’s FAT.

    Look at how they gave Faith those skinny anorexic arms. Sick!

  2. Sorry ‘Liss, but I really can’t make that promise, as if I did, I know I’d be lying.

    As much as I think of myself as a confident, successful, powerful woman, I’m part of this society, and so have internalised a goodly deal of it’s value structure. Now, admittedly, I’ve rejected a lot of it, but there’s still large chunks that are fairly intractable. And I will say I do look at the magazine rack when I am in line at the supermarket, and compare myself, and come up wanting.

    I wish I didn’t, and I am working on it, but to promise that would ultimately be a lie.

    Sorry hon.

  3. Jewel

    Sarah, I’m with you. It is so damn HARD to deprogram oneself from normalized beauty standards.

    But seeing something like this helps a lot. Amazing. Thanks for posting this, Melissa.

  4. And I will say I do look at the magazine rack when I am in line at the supermarket

    Ugh–that FUCKING MAGAZINE RACK AT THE SUPERMARKET! It’s the Gauntlet of Enforced Low Self-Esteem! Fuck that magazine rack!

    Fuuuuuuuuck iiiiiiit!!!

  5. Paul the Spud

    I try to make this promise too, but I’ve got my own little Adonis complex to work through.

    And yeah, seeing this does help. It’s amazing how much work goes into making someone look like a perfect clone of themselves. And am I the only person in the world that finds laugh lines around the eyes incredibly sexy? (I know I’m not, but you know what I mean)

  6. Ick. This just makes me love when Kate Winslet told a magazine off for doing this to her to make her picture ‘cover ready’ even more.

  7. am I the only person in the world that finds laugh lines around the eyes incredibly sexy?

    Good lord no!

  8. They took off the freckles on her arm? Honestly, why the fuck would you do that?

  9. I knew they touched things up but I had no idea they went to this extreme. Faith Hill really doesn’t even look like the same person. Is Redbook the preferred magazine for Stepford wives?

  10. FUCKING MAGAZINE RACK AT THE SUPERMARKET! It’s the Gauntlet of Enforced Low Self-Esteem! Fuck that magazine rack!

    lol, sometimes I really love you ‘Liss … 🙂

  11. nightshift66

    Just wondering: did Faith Hill authorize/approve the airbrushing, or did the mag do it on their own? I didn’t see anywhere in the links what Hill thought of it. And no, it doesn’t change the point if she’s bought into the culture as opposed to having this done to her without her approval, but it would add a layer of crap if it were the latter.

    I ‘get’ why the patriarchy acts as it does. It is in a position of power and privilege, and human nature is to preserve that position for oneself. I’ve always wrestled with why so many women buy into it. I’ve suggested before that there are rewards to individual members of oppressed groups who ‘go along’ with the way things are. (Sorry I never got around to that post, Liss!) For example, isn’t Jessica Simpson well rewarded with money and fame for embodying certain stereotypes? But that doesn’t explain why Jane Doe in Anywhere, USA is out there buying from the Evil Mag Rack. And it IS women who buy make those mags profitable.

    But if someone as intelligent and accomplished as Sarah gets caught up in comparing herself to a woman who doesn’t actually exist, but is merely the plasticized, synthetic distortion of a real person, then the task of correcting the situation seems awfully daunting.

  12. Ugh! The art director responsible for this ought to be airbrushed to within an inch of his (or her) life! I remember once, when I was shopping for a new haircut, I looked at one of those Celebrity Hairstyles magazines and got so completely creeped out over how the whites of these women’s eyes were WHITE! Not just an easing of any bloodshottedness (did I just invent a word?), but #FFFFFF white, from corners to eyeballs! Just. ICK!

    I’ll have to stop at the news stand by my office and see if they photoshop the men as badly.

  13. Apricotmuffins

    Did you see what some magazine did to Kelly clarkson? it was pretty much the same thing. The girl suddenly had anorexic arms and no hips. It was like they stuck her head on someone elses body completely.

    Why the hell do they DO This? I can understand changing the lighting to look less harsh… maybe even getting rid of the red strap marks around her shoulders… but anything else? WHY. just learn to take better photos, for goodness sake.

    The backfat thing is upsetting, simply because SO many women have that and now its one more thing to obsess over, when it should just be normal and accepted.

  14. Back in College, I did a paper on the beauty industry and its effect on women. I knew what the effect was, but before I started researching my thesis, I had NO IDEA what went into advertising. I was appalled at the messages being sent to young women and their responses to them. It was sad.

    That being said, I have often told my 12 year old daughter that beauty comes in all shapes and sizes. As a photoshop user, I taught her the magic of photo retouching and to never believe what is pictured on the front cover of a magazine. I hope she gets the message as she grows into a teenager.

  15. But if someone as intelligent and accomplished as Sarah gets caught up in comparing herself to a woman who doesn’t actually exist, but is merely the plasticized, synthetic distortion of a real person, then the task of correcting the situation seems awfully daunting.

    But nightshift, the whole point is that it doesn’t exist. If it did, then there would be a group of women for whom the advertising techniques wouldn’t work on.

    I’m not saying it’s an all encompasing “woe is me” kind of thing.

    But, if there is one thing that we’ve discussed in gender classes that was universal across all women, in all groups, in western society, was body displeasure. To be a normal woman in our society one is EXPECTED to not like your body.

    You even read that in such magazines, where an expression of displeasure in a body part by a supermodel is greeted as a really nice thing, as in she’s just like every other woman!

    Or, in other words, if you’re happy with your body; you’re not a normal woman in our society.

  16. This is reason number 1 why I stopped reading womens and fashion magazines. They are literally designed to make us feel like we are defective bodies.

  17. Kate Harding

    But that doesn’t explain why Jane Doe in Anywhere, USA is out there buying from the Evil Mag Rack. And it IS women who buy make those mags profitable.

    Because the evil mag rack is telling her, “WE CAN SOLVE ALL YOUR PROBLEMS!” at the same time it’s, you know, causing those problems. Vicious circle.

    The thing I can’t get over (shockingly enough) is that the people doing the airbrushing evidently really thought her arm was too fat. I mean, I can see getting rid of the sundress muffin top (although it’s nice to see that happens to thin people, too). But knowing that someone looked at that arm and thought it was too big? That it needed to be reduced by that much? That’s just fucking chilling to me. What kind of brain could think that change was acceptable, let alone necessary?

  18. Angelos

    I’ll have to stop at the news stand by my office and see if they photoshop the men as badly.

    Absolutely.

    Andy Roddick loves telling a story about walking through an airport and seeing himself on the cover of a magazine.

    “Oh yeah, that shoot from a couple months ago,” he’s thinking.

    He gets close, and realizes it’s not his body. They didn’t even try to airbrush him, they just put his head on some fitness guy’s muscular torso.

  19. For example, isn’t Jessica Simpson well rewarded with money and fame for embodying certain stereotypes? But that doesn’t explain why Jane Doe in Anywhere, USA is out there buying from the Evil Mag Rack.

    Jane Doe in Anywhere, USA is rewarded if she can approximate the beauty standard, too. Attractive people (and thin people) on average get offered higher starting salaries, for example, and are perceived to be happier, more successful, and more rich with friends–and that perception is worth something, even if it doesn’t reflect reality.

    And if that isn’t reason enough, well, there’s always this.

  20. Kate, I think it’s the kind of brain that does what it is told sometimes. And sometimes it is the kind of brain that says, hey, the general public is used to seeing models on covers and she doesn’t look like a model and if I do this this and this she will….

    And, slowly, the visual standard for what is considered “fat” gets lowered and lowered.

  21. nightshift66

    Liss,
    Thanks for the “FBOFW” link; I missed that post in my travels. Sounds exactly like the treatment my wife got from her ex: “No one else will have you, blahblahblah.” She eventually punched him in the face and threw him out. (Hurrah, wife!) So, while I knew that such behavior occurred, I’m astonished that it is so prevalent. Worse, even my stouthearted wife has bought into the whole ‘I hate myself ’cause of my weight’ crap; it’s really frustrating that I cannot overcome the collective culture to get her to see herself as I see her.

    Sarah, I think I understand your point, but it seems counterintuitive to me that the advertising works by selling an impossible ideal. I would think that attainable goals would sell better.

  22. Fuck that magazine rack!

    I tried that once. Turns out, it doesn’t matter if you only have nine items in your basket; you can still get kicked out of the Express Line.

  23. Jewel

    Nightshift66, yeah, you’d think that selling attainable goals would work better, but no. What they do is, they put claims on the cover like “Flab to fab in 5 minutes a day!!!!”, giving the impression that if you follow whatever silly little routine they outline in the article, you too will end up as fleshless and sterilely perfect as the cover model. When, of course, that fails to happen, you don’t think, “Huh, that was an unrealistic ideal being marketed by a completely fake picture,” you think “I didn’t try hard enough, I’m a failure, I’m not good enough, I better buy the next magazine and try whatever de-fleshing routine THEY’RE selling.” It’s pernicious and very deeply ingrained and VERY hard to break out of that kind of self-defeating thinking.

  24. Jess

    Go Fug Yourself takes this on occasionally… “if you want to have $starlet on your cover, why don’t you want her to LOOK like $starlet?” (The answer, of course, is handily provided above: because unachievable, depersonalized idealism sells more products.)

    I spent last night ill-advisedly reading through a “photoshop the ugly people” thread on Something Awful. With very few exceptions, they gave everyone the exact same facial and body proportions and said “she’s hot now.” Then there was a lot of discussion about how some of these chicks just need to wear makeup. Because, of course, it becomes our primary duty to live up to these ideals.

  25. Jess

    Oh, and nightshift66, here’s the thing: if you promote an attainable goal, eventually some people will get to STOP. If it’s impossible to be thin or blonde or tan or smooth-skinned enough, if you’re always dissatisfied with how you measure up, there never comes a point where you can cease buying products.

  26. I tried that once. Turns out, it doesn’t matter if you only have nine items in your basket; you can still get kicked out of the Express Line.

    Perv. 😉

  27. Jewel

    And another thing: if you’re not aware of the level of photoshopping that goes into producing the cover photos, it’s very hard NOT to think that you are a failure when your arm is twice as thick as the model’s. After all, the model succeeded in attaining the Ideal of Thinness, why can’t I? Which is why, as I said earlier, it’s so helpful to be reminded so starkly that the cover photos Aren’t Real. (It’s easy to forget that when you’re feeling down on yourself for having a body endowed with all the adipose nature gave it.)

  28. JoAsakura

    portion of my babbling comment at Pandagon, re: this..C&P because i’m really lazy.

    I look at my friends, and I see some very attractive women, made all the moreso because of the “imperfections” (as the beauty industry would say).

    They complain about their own appearances and I say “My god! you’re beautiful!!”

    and then I go home and look in the mirror and I think “Holy shit, I’m old/fat/look at my NOSE!” and then find myself thinking, when my friends in turn tell me i’m beautiful, “Geeze. are they blind?”

    I *hate* that i’ve internalised this. I *HATE* that I’m an adult and I still look in the mirror and cringe (more than) just a little bit. I know what’s going on. I know how it all works.. and still. “If my tummy were flatter, if I didn’t have such deep-set eyes, if my nose was different, or my skin flawless and my boobs perkier, maybe I’d be loved more.”

    Which, of course, is completely stupid. But it gets inside of you like a parasite. ;_;

  29. JoAsakura

    I tried that once. Turns out, it doesn’t matter if you only have nine items in your basket; you can still get kicked out of the Express Line.

    damnit, THAT’s why it always takes so long to check out at the grocery.

  30. wordhorder

    You know don’t knock the mag rack, how else would we learn the going ons of batboy? Or know when the second coming of Jesus is? I mean there is a lot of information in some of the award winning periodicals there.

    That’s all I’m saying

  31. They do it to a man in this one:

  32. This one is hilarious:

  33. Did anyone notice the ironic blurb on the cover: “Faith & Tim: what’s normal about them (and what’s not)”?

    (Then we get to flip to the back and see Tim. I wonder how heavily he got airbrushed?)

    I’m not quite sure just what they did, but even her smile looks different, more forced.

    Ugh.

  34. wordhorder

    Damn it Fritz, how did you get my myspace pic?

  35. Then there was a lot of discussion about how some of these chicks just need to wear makeup.

    This reminds me of an exchange I had with a former boss:

    Him: Don’t you ever wear make-up? (said with the clear expectation I would either offer to start wearing it, or offer some explanation as to why I couldn’t, e.g. allergies)

    Me: No.

    He stood there in front of my desk for a few more seconds while I continued working, then eventually just wandered away.

    It really bothered him that I never wore make-up (he mentioned it on two other occasions, as well). The pressure on women to conform to the beauty standards in a professional environment is huge. I’ve had other male bosses who have commented on hair cuts, new glasses frames, how my clothes fit (“That sweater is too baggy; don’t you have anything that fits?!”), and (I shit you not) how big my feet look in various pairs of my shoes (“Your feet look so tiny in those red shoes–they look much bigger in those black ones you usually wear.”). And I’m sure I’m forgetting some stuff.

    I’m sitting here saggy-titted, barefoot, make-up free, with my hair tied in a big crazy bun, wearing a t-shirt and jeans, and I feel completely confident and happy. But I couldn’t go into a workplace without strapping down my boobs, wearing some ridiculous monkey suit that completely doesn’t fit or look nice on my fat frame, and taking all the personality out of my mad, wavy hair. I would feel less confident in myself the more I tried to approximate some beauty standard that’s designed around bodies mine is nothing like.

    And that’s part of the reason a lot of women have self-confidence issues. They aren’t allowed to exist as they are most confident in a professional world designed by men.

  36. Damn it Fritz, how did you get my myspace pic?

    LOL! I’m so outing you: I met Wordhorder this weekend and he is Teh Hotness! 😉

  37. Erin M

    Sweet waltzing Matilda! It’s a promise I’ll have trouble keeping (circumstances being what they are), but it does make me glad I shop at a market with no magazine racks.

  38. Betsy

    Several years ago (probably in a doctor’s office or something) I flipped through one of these magazines with all the “tips” about how to “look your best!!!!” Upon seeing it, I realized that A) it made me feel much worse about myself and B) that I hadn’t seen a beauty mag (or watched TV) in a long time, and that that fact probably had a lot to do with why I felt fine about my looks. Seeing that magazine after a long period of never seeing them was a shock – just that one issue gave me such a self-esteem dive!! It really made it clear how powerful these images are. Though I watch more TV now, I never ever read those stupid things. They just make me feel fat and ugly (and I’m 5’1″ and weigh 115, so even according to our ridiculous standards I’m not fat). So while I in NO WAY want to compare the pressure I feel to what I know a lot of other women who weigh considerably more than me feel, I just want to say that even thin women can be made to feel bad by these stupid magazines. I mean, I have belly fat! And my arms aren’t the width of a napkin ring! And my bra makes it seem like I have a fat back! And I have this big ugly nose! And…you get the idea. It’s nonsense.

  39. Fritz–You know what’s disturbing about that extreme retouching video with the kids in it…? The kids are given dilated pupils, which is an indicator of being turned on by the person at whom you’re gazing. So. Gross.

  40. Sorry, but I cannot read a post with Dove’s award-winning “Evolution” video without pointing out the super-hypocracy of Dove’s parent compnay, Unilever — makers of “Fair and Lovely” skin lightener. You know, so your skin won’t look so dark. So men will like you and you can get a better job. More here: http://twoknives.net/?p=214

    Great post. I love my laugh lines.

  41. wordhorder

    Thanks Liss, for the ego boost, but you are more beautiful!

    xoxoxoxoxo

    Off to France, where my dreams of expatriation might become a reality 😉

  42. Pingback: Truth in advertising « Now or never

  43. Off to France, where my dreams of expatriation might become a reality

    Don’t forget us, mon cheri.

  44. You know, so your skin won’t look so dark.

    If you click through to my original post about that video, you’ll notice I also take them to task because their “campaign for real beauty” was used to sell firming cream to “fat” girls. Blech.

  45. carol

    We already don’t watch tv, play with barbies, or allow clothing like Brittney Spears, but it feels like I’ll never be able to protect my 5 year old daughter from the infiltration of this crap, no matter how hard I try.

  46. I have a dumb question. Where did they get a copy of the unretouched picture? I couldn’t find any reference to it on the Jezebel site, maybe I missed something.

    But shit, even compared to the unretouched picture I feel like a troll. I mean, I know better than to compare myself with the goodness of Photoshop by now, but sometimes it’s hard not to feel like almost every real-life woman is prettier than I am. I don’t see their crow’s feet or their size-8 muffin top that they undoubtedly obsess over. I see my PCOS-ravaged scalp that will never grow back full, I see zits I’m way way way too old to be having, I see OMG OBESITY I AM EVERY WOMAN’S NIGHTMARE OF WHAT SHE MIGHT BECOME! I’m not sure any of that would go away without ever being exposed to Photoshop goodness.

  47. Andy Roddick loves telling a story about walking through an airport and seeing himself on the cover of a magazine.

    “Oh yeah, that shoot from a couple months ago,” he’s thinking.

    He gets close, and realizes it’s not his body. They didn’t even try to airbrush him, they just put his head on some fitness guy’s muscular torso.

    Dang, you mean I’ve been jerking off to a Photoshop? 🙂

    This kind of crap bothers me because it’s been going on forever; look at the fashions of the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries. I suppose it’s one of those things you hope that we’d evolve out of but… it ain’t gonna happen.

  48. nightshift66

    Meowser,
    I don’t know if this’ll help, but… well, you know how good the people you love look to you. It’s human nature; after we like/love a person, they look better and better to us no matter what others think. Like me, you perhaps have friends who can’t take a compliment worth a damn, because they can’t process the thought that someone sees the real them under the illusion of the physical appearance and without the distorted prism of cultural messages. But you see the things in them that matter: the mind, the heart, the soul. You also see their good physical features that leap out at you even though they obsess over other features. You see their kind eyes, broad shoulders, pretty hair… it can be anything, because we all have slightly different aesthetics. You can see that your friend or love is beautiful, even if he/she refuses to ever believe what you say, since they’ve totally internalized the bullshit.

    Always keep in mind that the people who love you (and they are the only ones who matter) see you that same way. It helps me to remember it, at least.

  49. Kym

    And I guess this is why I’ve been asking myself if I didn’t get the jobs I interviewed for this summer because my arms are too fat. Totally absurd thought, but these are the insecurities that pop up all the fucking time.

  50. I think i need to start up a collection of these somewhere. A while back, i posted a link to a before-after photoshop with mouseover goodness.

    You can’t look like that because they don’t either.

    What’s really eerie? When you see the original photo and re-acclimate your brain to it, the after-photoshop image doesn’t even look human. I mean, you start to notice things like body parts out of proportion (is Faith supposed to have arms like a chimp, lengthwise?), and the skin tone is just a little too even. It looks plastic.

    They can do similar things on television. Different techniques, but similar effects. I’m completely serious when i say that not watching telly and not reading glossy magazines was the best thing i ever did for my body image and self-esteem.

  51. The fact that Faith Hill — Faith Hill — is too fat and ugly to be put on the cover of a magazine without massive touching up is all one needs to know about how unrealistic beauty standards are in society. Incidentally, don’t assume that any model, ever is going on a cover with any less work being done. Nobody’s perfect, which is why the visions of perfection Americans — especially female ones — are expected to live up to are so terribly damaging.

  52. Angelos

    There was a great follow-up post too.

  53. SAP

    I remember thinking when I saw this, “OMG, they reduced her butt.”

    See, I fully expected the face and arms and the little roll on her back. But reducing the radial size of her left leg and buttock, … I know I shouldn’t be surprised, but there it is.

    Words fail me.

    By the way, I showed this to my Pop. His response: “Why the hell did they do that to such a beautiful woman? They made her look like a freak of nature. Her real face has so much more life in it.”

  54. Kathy Kattenburg

    Shaker Grrls, please promise you will never, ever, feel shitty about yourselves again because of this shit. I beg you.

    Ooops, too late. 😐

    And Max, I have a 17-year-old daughter with that same tiny, insignificant bulge of her stomach. She’s not 120 pounds, but she’s got a *very* womanly body — yet all she can see is that tummy. She keeps saying, “I was always so SKINNY when I was younger!” And I say, “Yes, that’s because you were a child when you were younger and had a child’s body. Now you are a young woman and have a woman’s body.”

    And all the while I’m telling her that, I feel like a damn hypocrite, because I have always been just as critical of my body as she is of hers.

  55. Along the same lines, years ago PBS did a piece on food advertising. There was the cereal ad with the perfect cherries sprinkled on top. The hunt for unblemished cherries took weeks. In the end, it was clear Nature wouldn’t cooperate, so the ad crew used handcarved wooden cherries, painted and glazed to perfection. Those gorgeous turkeys in the Thanksgiving ads? All golden-brown, with no particular feather follicles or anything? Plastic, with sauce on them. There’s no other way, apparently.

    I’ve looked at ads with a jaundiced eye ever since … and yet I was still amazed at what they did to Faith Hill’s picture, and the model in that interesting youtube clip.

    There oughta be a law.

  56. Pingback: thoughts from an empty head » Photoshopping Beauty

  57. Damn, this reminds me of an old Susan Dey movie called Looker. The “improvements” of Faith Hill’s pic are just creepy, and they’re part of a problem that’s bigger than unrealistic beauty standards — the ability of the media to define what’s “real” and “authentic”, whether it’s retouched celebrity pics or political candidates.

  58. I gave myself the Faith Hill treatment.

    Scary!

    What is the reaction when this kind of thing is done to a man?

    I’ve basically done the same thing — made my features more like that of a child.

  59. Pingback: s.f. bayarea forums - craigslist

  60. I met Wordhorder this weekend and he is Teh Hotness!

    Aha! I was unavailable to be his tagalong, with the sole purpose of meeting you, this weekend. However, he is but one half of our recently revived foul-mouthed dynamic duo.

    Teh Hotness has certainly come into his own in the past year, and against my better judgment, I will very publically agree with you Melissa!

  61. Fritz, the gleam on your teeth was a particularly nice touch there.

  62. and against my better judgment, I will very publically agree with you Melissa!

    LOL! 🙂

    We’ll have a Chicagoland Shaker meet-up soon, I promise.

  63. Fritz, the gleam on your teeth was a particularly nice touch there.

    Indeed!

    Fritz, that’s a perfect example of how the Photoshopping takes away one’s character. You’re so much more dashing with the lines around your eyes, IMO. I’d take the “before” picture any day of the week.

  64. Pingback: reddit.com: newest submissions

  65. Sycorax

    Meowser: You asked about where the un-shopped picture came from; Jezebel held a contest and asked for “before” pictures from people in the fashion/publishing industries, and this was the winner.

  66. Pingback: hawaii forums - craigslist

  67. magikmama

    Yes, please post on the Chicagoland Shaker meetup! And can it please, please not be on a monday-thurs, for those of us who live in the distant shithole of suburbia????

  68. Yes, please post on the Chicagoland Shaker meetup! And can it please, please not be on a monday-thurs, for those of us who live in the distant shithole of suburbia????

    Oh it won’t be, since I live in the distant shithole of suburbia, too. We always do weekends. 😉

  69. JoAsakura

    Fritz, the “after” needs a “TING!” sound effect happening there with that toothy lens flare you got goin’on 😀

  70. Anne

    That fucking magazine rack…Yesterday at Borders I was on a mission to cover up all the covers of GQ with copies of the New Yorker, the Economist and whatever else I could conjure up. One thing that I’m going to start doing is leaving pictures and cartoons inside of some of those magazines. There’s a great postcard Jacky Fleming makes that I’ve printed out that’s about to miraculously end up in some of the magazines at the library — it’s here, and it’s the one called “Ladmags.” I’m also working on a one-to two-page Word document with pictures of supermodels who’ve died of anorexia and brief descriptions of how they died. Those are also going to suddenly appear in both men’s and women’s magazines at the stores and libraries.

  71. Susan

    They not only took away the little roll of fat, but they shrank her waist and added more arm to the left side.

    I had a neighbor in high school who was a model who used the money to get through college. She took me along to a couple of shoots. It’s all an illusion, and that was way before Photoshop. Cindy’s clothes were pinned from behind with clothespins and they used masking tape instead of a bra. Her face was constantly breaking out because of the combination of hot lights and heavy makeup. Never took herself seriously, thank goodness.

  72. Em

    What I really want to know if they do the same thing to men, say…shirtless men on the cover of SI or ESPN The Mag.

  73. SAP

    Em,

    I have $20 that says that they do. 😀

  74. Anne

    OK, has anybody else noticed that they touched up her COLLARBONE?!? It’s weird, because they make it look less bony in the touch-up, but if she really were as skinny as they made her look, her collarbone would be EVEN MORE PROMINENT.

  75. Fritz

    What I really want to know if they do the same thing to men, say…shirtless men on the cover of SI or ESPN The Mag.

    I can tell you that they Photoshop the men in gay porn magazines. A friend of mine worked as a graphic artist for Men magazine. He showed me how they make their penises bigger and touch up their skin.

  76. Em

    See that Fritz already covered that on.

    Also: meet-up: yay! Really hope that I can make this one.

  77. Pingback: new york forums - craigslist

  78. Pingback: portland forums - craigslist

  79. Pingback: Important Placeholder « Goodness Gracious

  80. BAC

    Thanks for posting this … it’s a reminder that even the models can’t meet the standard being imposed on women.

    BAC

  81. Angelos

    BAC I believe it was Cindy Crawford who said something along the lines of “I wish I looked like me.”

    She knew the score.

  82. Pingback: los angeles forums - craigslist

  83. Pingback: minneapolis forums - craigslist

  84. Pingback: The True Confessions of an Hourly Bookseller: July 2007

  85. Pingback: phoenix forums - craigslist

  86. Pingback: new hampshire forums - craigslist

  87. Pingback: san diego forums - craigslist

  88. Pingback: copenhagen forums - craigslist

  89. Onnada on Vancouver Island

    There was actualy an episode on Ugly Betty where this whole ‘touched up pictures’ issue is addressed.. actually the whole show is a funny and yet scairy view of how the fasion world is so utterly messed up.

    On the up side I do know that rescently at one of the last fasion shows they refuzed to take models that were UNDER a sertain weight and size (dress size, not hight). I was utterly giddy to hear that. lol. I think they couldn’t be under size 2 and they couldn’t be under wight of about.. 120 or something.. depending on thier BMI… I was actually really impressed by the whole affair..

  90. Pingback: Phuck the Patriarchy at Shakesville

  91. Pingback: The Bilerico Project | Because women aren't pretty without Photoshop

  92. Pingback: DataLounge: Another example of unrealistic expectations of beauty.

  93. Pingback: Well, Now That You Mention It, I Am in the Market for a Bridge! at Shakesville

  94. Pingback: Well, Now That You Mention It, I Am in the Market for a Bridge! « Shapely Prose

  95. I’ve been working on deculturalising my experience of my body for the past thirteen years. I’ve given up reading all the “women’s magazines” (and thus lost a whole heap of Bad Body fever), and I’ve given up on television (thus losing another chunk of it) and I also buy my clothes at specialist stores for women who are size 16 and up (thus missing all the fun of going into $TRENDY_BOUTIQUE and discovering that the only things which fit me are the hairclips). Even so, I *still* have days when I look at myself in the mirror and think “eugh”.

    Seeing things like the Faith Hill picture, however, reaffirms my resolve not to get caught in the image trap again. Life is too short to spend it wanting to look like a caricature of myself.

  96. Pingback: Eleanor Blair's Friends

  97. Pingback: kissmyass_cosmo: This picture scares me, and oh, did I mention why I HATE so-called 'women's' magazines?

  98. Wendi

    Actually, I think I’m doing pretty well. I stopped looking at “women’s magazines” when I realized what their purpose really was – to convince me that if I did not obtain the following:

    An insane amount of consumable skin care products
    Personal trainer
    Dietary consultant
    Liposuction
    Plastic surgery to face, belly, butt and breasts
    Regular hair stylist
    Weekly manicures/pedicures
    Lots of very, very expensive makeup, preferably applied with a trowel
    Laser hair removal
    Skin bleaching
    Dermabrasion
    Shoes that will later require extensive podiatrist consults.
    Designer clothing & accessories
    Deodorants, perfumes, jewelry, etc.

    …then I am an unworthy, subhuman person and no one will ever love me, my children will be humiliated to have anyone see me with them, I will never get a good job, and I will die old and alone.

    I gave up reading that kind of crap years ago… and felt like less of a woman for doing so. Once I started dating a professional art photographer, and watched what went into his finished pictures, and he explained what actually goes into the modeling genre of photography, I felt a lot better. Check out the “models” section on http://www.dreamlandvisions.com (OMG boobies alert – NSFW) – I think most of you will be pleased. Photoshopping is limited to correction of major scarring on one model, and achieving art effects in general.

    A suggestion for those of you who have a friendly photographer handy –
    1) Before shot (nude or bodystocking).
    2) Describe what you think you look like, have photographer photoshop.
    3) Describe what you think you “should” look like, have photographer photoshop.
    4) Compare images – with therapist if necessary (friends with body dysmorphic disorder have used this to very, very good effect).

    It’s taken a lot of work to to separate the identity concepts of being “good” “pretty” “desirable” “attractive” “worthy” and “deserving”. There’s all kinds of things that “good, appealing” girls aren’t supposed to do besides looking pretty – and discounting our talents and abilities are two of the most crippling next to these fabricated images.

    Damn, this is turning into a book (too late! she cried), so I’m just going to cut it off here.

Leave a Reply

