Question of the Day

We’ve done this one before, but it’s always fun… How did you find Shakesville? (Or, if you’re a long-time Shaker, Shakespeare’s Sister.)

Space Cowboy’s got a wonderful and very detailed answer to this one, btw. He even remembers the exact post that brought him here!

Since I can’t really give an answer to that question, I’ll instead mention that I knew some people whose names are very familiar around these parts before Shakes Sis was even a gleam in my eye. Back in early 2004, pre-blog, I was a regular commenter at AmericaBlog, where I got to know Oddjob, Pam Spaulding, Ms. Julien, The Dark Wraith, and Holly in Cincinnati, with all of whom I still correspond. Now several of us are bloggers, too, and their blogs remain among my daily reads to this day. Which I think is pretty cool.

82 Comments

Filed under 01_shakespeares_sister

82 responses to “Question of the Day

  1. My brother found it. I followed. And my Internet experiences have since been rich and cunt-filled. You could say that they are now cunterifical. Fuckity-slut. God, I like it here.

  2. Misty

    I found Shakes Sis from someone else’s blog that you (Melissa) used to comment on. One very tiny little blog in the corner of the ‘sphere (as opposed to AmericaBlog) that I knew the author of from a whole different internet life of debate bulletin boards.

  3. Came via Pam’s place. Became a lurker for a while, and then started commenting steadily. Never been the same. 😉

  4. I honestly have no clue. Senility and drunkenness dampen all faculties.

    I could say the cosmic powers of the monstrous MELMANDA or perhaps the Pink Petulance forced me to submit.

  5. Never been the same.

    Lemme guess. It’s the cuntyness, right?

  6. I’m pretty sure I got here through Paul the Spud’s old blog. You’d think it would’ve been a cross-post, but I just clicked the links on the side, and I liked Shakespeare’s Sister because it had a cool name. Also, the writing was excellent, and you updated a lot. And then, for some reason that I have yet to fathom (I expect there’s an epic revenge plot at work here for a slight I committed in grade school; someday I’ll turn on my computer, and Melissa’s face will stare back at me from the monitor and she’ll just laugh and laugh), Liss invited me to post. A privilege which I have, so far, completely failed to take advantage of, but I’m still here.

  7. I guess I came via Pam’s and txrad who was reading blogs before I really knew what they were. I still remember the first time I went to Shakespeare’s Sister and thought, “wow, these are a bunch of intellectuals. They’re rather intimidating!” I had no idea I’d come around to consider them my “friends.” But I do. End of story.

  8. Or maybe I should get in the Tart camp and say, “wow these are a bunch of…cunts.”

  9. mamajane

    I don’t remember exactly, was definitely via a linky from another blog, probably Skippy or Atrios or Rox Populi… anywhoo, found Shakes’ Sis one day, got hooked in by the irresistable combination of blasphemy and cunt, and like the stalker chick that I am, maintained lurker status for well over a year. Followed the Pink Petulance and her cohorts here to Shakesville, happily ever after and such.

  10. sharp instrument

    I found you through an article on Feministing. It linked to your assessment of the too-disgusting-for-words Opie and Anthony segment. Your candor in that piece left me feeling raw, numb and raging mad all at the same time. I drop by on a fairly regular basis now, and you’re on my bookmark toolbar, right between Feministing and I Blame The Patriarchy.

  11. Thank John Amato at Crooks & Liars….although he has yet to update your link. First time here, I found the reference to “QCoFM” and WtP?”, and knew at that moment that I had found kindered spirits with the same warped sense of politics and humor…though I occasionally skate on the thin Ice, I take my lumps and continue to scream at the top of my lungs that the current resident of the White House has no business running a lemonade stand, much less a country.

    I have friends who are registered Greenies, and I listened to many years of “There’s no difference between Democrats and Republicans.” Last Friday, I saw one of them and said, “See the Supreme Court decisions that came down this term of the court? THAT, my friend, is the FUCKING DIFFERENCE, and you need to ALWAYS remember that before you throw away another vote.

    I love Molly Ivens, rest her soul, and she had the best piece of political advice….politics ain’t always about doing what’s right…sometimes it’s about doing what’s BEST. No matter how idealitic you are about a cause, there are points in time that you have to swallow your feelings and vote for the lesser of two evils. Pulling that lever can feel as bad as sucking on a greasy nickel, but you have to think about what will happen if your vote doesn’t count because you stood by your principles.

    Fight the power.

  12. I saw the link (to Shakespeare’s Sister) in Petulant’s blogroll and clicked, lurked for a while, and then one day (I wish I could remember what post it was) popped up and said how pleased I was to find a place where people expressed rational thought rather than engage in invective – and had a typo. Commented a second time apologizing for the typo, and from the moment the response to that second comment came up, I was hooked. And I am proud to be a devotee of the QCoFM!!

    ‘Course, I’ve always had a thing for cunts. 😉

  13. I had been linked here (well, to the old Blogspot site) a few times so I knew it existed, but I didn’t become a regular reader until Shakes linked to my humble blog and then I was all “WHOA HEY WHAT OH HELLO TRAFFIC.” Then I subscribed in Ye Olde RSS feed reader and it wasn’t long before I decided I like the writers and community and I’ve been a reader ever since.

  14. I also apparently have a thing for unintended double entendre….

  15. you’re on my bookmark toolbar, right between Feministing and I Blame The Patriarchy

    Nice!

    Btw, I just want all you cunt-lovers to know that I have a new character to add to the Shakes’ lexicon, who will soon be making her big debut…and she will delight you greatly. 😉

  16. Kate Harding

    I believe I found Shakespeare’s Sis via Salon. I lurked for about a year without commenting, because you were all too smart for me. I commented once at SS before it became Shakesville.

    Things really got rolling when I made a nuisance of myself in one of Brynn’s threads, about research that happened to be done by a woman I knew personally, so I was in a position to know the assumptions Brynn was making from the article weren’t true — although the article itself sucked and didn’t make that at all clear. At one point in that thread, I snarked on Brynn for not getting the female perspective because he’s a man. Apparently, I wasn’t a close reader of everyone’s posts before… 🙂

    For some unknown reason, Liss and Brynn didn’t tell me to fuck myself sideways, and from that, correspondence developed, and then poof! Here I was!

    Liss’s generosity with commenters and new bloggers continues to blow my mind. I love it here so much.

    Mostly because of all the cunty goodness.

  17. I’m a Morrissey fan. Enough said.

  18. I’m just happy to say I was never really a lurker. I came out of the gate screaming. 🙂

  19. I think I was one of the original readers way back when, but I am having a tough time recalling how I came across your original home. You might actually remember, but for the life of me, I do not. It must have been some magical lure of hedonistic, liberal decadence that somehow pulled me in unwittingly.

  20. My original comment seems to have vanished, so my wittiness is gone as well. I know I was one of the earliest readers, but I honestly cannot recall how that happened. You might have commented on my site first. Do you remember?

    [Was just caught in the spam filter–M. And no I don’t remember! ;)]

  21. I’d seen SS linked at a bunch of places I’d frequented, but it always took forever to load on my computer, so I rarely read it. When it became Shakesville, I started visiting daily. It’s been at the top of my reader for a few months now. It knocked IBTP out of the top spot, which is sayin’ something.

    I just gotta say thank you, Shakers, for making this such a welcoming community. I feel that people are engaged, not bullied, here – which is not true at some other notable blogs.

  22. Betsy

    I noticed that Feministe and Pandagon got interesting stories and outlooks from this “shakespeare’s sister” site with some frequency, and those posts were usually ones that I liked. So I started reading. (plus, being a Woolf fan, I loved the name, and was kind of sad when it changed to Shakesville, not that it’s any of my business.)

  23. NameChanged

    I was linked here for the “rape is funny: set to music” series by a fellow teacher blogger, Bird

    http://birdsblog.blogspot.com/2007/06/grab-bag-of-online-reading.html

    The day after I read that incredible post, the DoS shit started, so I went over to Shakespeare’s Sister. I was hooked, and I have a bizarre addiction to this place. I started commenting quickly, but never with any sort of eloquence. I am so pleased that I can come here and find out so much about what I don’t know. Until I found Shakesville I was not whole. 🙂

    I am new to blogging, and so any technical mistakes (i.e. the inability to link) are open for ridicule and suggestions.

  24. Kim

    I came in after Hurricane Katrina, September 2005. I was mad as hell and all over the Internet looking for information. I could have been linked here through Atrios, Rox Populi, Crooks and Liars, or some other blog – I don’t remember. It seems like I found all my favorite political blogs at once.

    Unfortunately, Bush is still president and I’m still mad as hell – but Melissa McEwan still has a kick-ass blog.

  25. but Melissa McEwan still has a kick-ass blog.
    Not just a kick-ass blog, but the kick-ass blog.

    I am new to blogging, and so any technical mistakes (i.e. the inability to link) are open for ridicule and suggestions.
    Oh we LOVE to do that shit. 🙂

  26. Jaclyn

    Liss’s generosity with commenters and new bloggers continues to blow my mind. I love it here so much.

    Amen. I can’t remember which blog linked me here, but I’m guessing it’s been purged in my semi-frequent RSS cleanups. Shakes has stayed, and it’s one of the only ones I read AND comment on. Yes, the writing is excellent, but that’s true of some of the deleted blogs too. The atmosphere in the comments section was what did it for me. Very welcoming … so many other groups with smart people get rude, assuming that people are stupid until they prove otherwise.

  27. He even remembers the exact post that brought him here!

    You are so overdue for more index cards and BFF schoolgirl font letters.

  28. I came via a tip from a friend, who said: “You have to read this blog”. She had found it via Pam’s, which she found from Jesus’ General, which she found from Crooks and Liars.

    I lurked at the SS site for a very long time. I don’t think I started commenting until Shakesville was born.

    Because my comments were often too big for the comment box, I started my own blog. So, Shakesville is kind of Teh Portly Dyke’s grandparent, I guess.

    Don’t worry, I won’t ask you to babysit.

  29. Time-Machine

    My friend posted a link to this post right after it was made in her livejournal, along with a bit of her own commentary. I was blown away, and slowly began poking around. I tend to more of a lurker than a commenter, but I seriously love this place. People like you folks give me a bit of hope that maybe not all of humanity is lost just yet.

  30. Thanks to the magical interaction of old age and sloth, I cannot remember a time before the Shakerosity.

    Someday, amici, we’ll knit crookedly in Mama Shakes’ Warehouse for the Bloggy Aged, dentures clacking awkwardly against tongue barbells, shouting, “What’s this I hear about the Eagle Rights Amendment?”

  31. I can’t remember the exact post that brought me over to Shakesville Sister, but I believe it occurred around the time of the whole Edwards thing. I was reading Amanda at Pandagon and she kept mentioning this Melissa person, so I decided I better figure out who Melissa was…and now here I am!! I don’t really comment though – I confess, I feel a little intimidated!

  32. I was using the Next Blog button on Blogger. Was it even Shakespeare’s Sister back then? Seems like it was titled At the Far Left Bank of the Midstream or something like that. Or maybe that was a subtitle. Anyway, I was hooked right away, and while I’m happy for you for your well deserved blogging success, I do kind of miss how it was when it was smaller.

  33. I think it was either Feministe or Pandagon.

    The fact that 2004 was “pre-Shakespeare’s Sister” territory boggles my mind.

  34. beatgrl

    I think Melissa had a post at Ezra Klein’s, which I found through Crooks and Liars. I been a Shaker ever since.

  35. Doktor Wankenstein

    I found you from one of the links at TBogg’s — the name sounded literary.

  36. I came via a link at another Birmingham blog, Local Tint, which was also the first blog I ever read. Y’all created a monster! 🙂

  37. eastsidekate

    I’m pretty sure I found my way here from Marti Abernathy’s blog. I’m new enough at commenting that I’m still fighting my obnoxious habit of leaving multiple wall-of-text comments on the same thread. I’ll come around, I swear.

    BTW, is there a BFF schoolgirl font you can do with HTML tags? That’d be awesome!

  38. Thorn

    I found SS just about a year ago now, linked to something from Feministing, I’m pretty sure. I lurked for a long time, and still mostly lurk, though I’m commenting a bit more often now.

    I have to admit, the whole atmosphere here throws me for a loop sometimes. My last big online community experience was in an RPG fan forum, and it was full of 19-year-old “libertarians” whose idea of debate involved lots of strawman attacks and Who Can Post The Most Frequently To Win By Drowning Everyone Else Out.

    Why I put up with it for so long I’ll never know, but I’m glad to be here, re-learning how to disagree like a grownup and enjoying the cunt-tacular goodness.

  39. MisFit Farm

    We are so lame – we looked you up after tuning in to the furor at the Edward’s Presidential camp. As an English major and Morrisey fan, “Shakespeare’s Sister” was a total hook.

    Those wingnuts didn’t do any of you justice. You so way kick more ass than they could ever imagine.

    Before that, we didn’t know just how transforming, enlightening, affirming and amusing the blog experience could be. We had been using it to entertain friends with our stories of Great Dane rescue, what a waste! (smile)

    Thanks again to Melissa and everyone here. This is a great community.

  40. Liss’s posts at Ezra Klein’s place did it for me. They seem to have stopped, but by that point I was hooked.

  41. I know exactly how I found this wonderful place. I was reading Blue Gal for a while, mostly lurking as I do here and she had some comments about the whole John Edwards debacle. I figured I would check y’all out as Shakespeare’s Sister and was hooked.

  42. SAP

    By accident. I was looking for the lyrics of a really lame late-80s song called Stay by a group called Shakespear’s Sister.

    One dropped “e” – that’s all it took.

  43. I remember because I was so new to reading blogs when I first stumbled in.

    It was a link from Waveflux.

  44. I don’t remember. Maybe because of a link from Pandagon, back when Jesse Taylor was the sole proprietor?

    I was using the Next Blog button on Blogger. Was it even Shakespeare’s Sister back then? Seems like it was titled At the Far Left Bank of the Midstream or something like that. Or maybe that was a subtitle. Anyway, I was hooked right away, and while I’m happy for you for your well deserved blogging success, I do kind of miss how it was when it was smaller.

    John Howard, author of the hottest blog on the internets! I remember when John Howard and I were two of only a few commenters here.

  45. Misty

    I do remember that one of the first comments I made on Shakes Sis was about gardening and oddjob promptly came back into the thread and showed how completely useless I was on giving gardening advice. LOL!

  46. When I first started blogging, I was mostly looking at high-traffic “A list” blogs. My friend Tom (of If I Ran the Zoo) recommended that I might enjoy myself more at lower-traffic blogs where I could get to know other commenters, and specifically recommended Shakespeare’s Sister. I looked at a bunch of blogs, including SS, and commented and blogrolled several, but this was the one that became my home away from home, and as my work life got busier, remains one of the few I still visit daily.

  47. RayCeeYa

    I was and still am a frequent visitor of Pandagon and Feministing. I’m not even sure which one I got into first but I love you all you headstrong, tough, and above all honest blogger grrls. You say what needs to be said and more importantly what should be heard.

    P.S. I hope “grrls” is still considered to be an endearing term like its original context and hasn’t been tainted by stereotyping and distortion like what happened to “feminist”.

  48. I found it because of the Edwards campaign ridiculosity. Got curious, and now I’m hooked.

  49. Angelos

    Toast told me me I had to read it.

  50. Don’t recall exactly but I ran into a beautiful set of brass balls someplace and had to check them out. And seeing as how I was really looking for someone/place that disliked King George the lesser at least as much as I do I felt at home immediately and instantly began making my usual pain in the arse mood felt by all and sundry.

  51. Jay in Oregon

    I found Shakespeare’s Sister after being purged from Americablog in the “big girl” kerfluffle from several months back.

    I admit I was one of the ones who lost my head and said some things that would have been said more diplomatically — and this was not to John, mind you, but to one of the commenters in that thread — but even after I apologized for my behavior, John blocked my IP addresses from posting.

    So needing a fix, I somehow ended up on Shakespeare’s Sister. After that, I went cold turkey on Americablog; I’ve moved and gotten a new job since then, so it’s not like I couldn’t reply. But if he doesn’t want to hear my opinions, then screw him and the high horse he rode in on.

  52. Doug

    It’s been a while, but I’m pretty sure I got here through Sean Carroll’s old blog, Preposterous Universe. Ever since I’ve come back for my daily dose of snark.

  53. Erin M

    I think I got here via a link at Pandagon (possibly a plug from the illustrious Pam), but I can’t remember. It may also have been via Alternet, since I think I remember you writing/blogging there at one time. Really can’t remember anymore. To be honest though, out of all the sites I mention above, this is the only one I still come to regularly. 🙂

  54. First found Shakes’ back when there was talk about the A-list male bloggers not linking to female bloggers. During the discussion Atrios linked to Shakes, that post got me to come bag and to return again and again. Atrios’ post made me realize how much I wanted to hear from more female political bloggers (at the time most of the female bloggers I read followed pop culture) and this one always showed a great awareness.

    Also, at first I was trying to figure out if you were a Smith’s fan, a Virginia Woolfe fan or a fan of britpop duos formed by a former Bananarama member.

    Side note, usually I stop reading a blog when it becomes a group blog. Too often I find the voice that drew me to the site diluted, there’s more content for me to read and there’s less reward. Melissa’s done an amazing job growing her blogs in a way that always added to my enjoyment of it.

  55. I can’t remember exactly, but I think it might have been a day when both our blogs were linked in the Daou Report over at Salon.

    Ever since, I’ve never missed a day, and I can’t imagine a day without Shakes. I’m also honored to be a contributor.

  56. DBK

    I think it was from LiberalOasis.com, but I can’t remember. It was a long time ago.

  57. I found you when the Pope was on Fox News complaining about you aborting your babies live during John Edwards’ speeches. Or something like that. That’s what you did, right? I’d really hate to know that I started readng your blog if you WEREN’T aborting babes your lesbian life partner artificially inseminated into you, then I don’t know what I’m doing here.

    Ok, kidding. I did find you, though, when that noxious Donohue was complaining about you and I figured that anyone he hated would mean I’d love you.
    I was right.

  58. Arkades

    I was already reading Echidne of the Snakes and Pam’s House Blend around the time I discovered Shakespeare’s Sister, so I *might* have followed links over from either of those worthy sites… but it might also have been one of Liss’ linked posts that showed up on the Daou Report (back when it was still called that) which got me to start tuning in here regularly. The Daou Report played a huge role in my early explorations of the blogosphere, so odds are pretty good that I first learned of Echidne, Pam, *and* Shakes from there.

  59. soccer mom (aka jeanne marie)

    Via americablog comments in late 04. That’s where I met you, Rexroth’s Daughter, and The Green Knight – all still in my daily reads. But now everyone uses their real names . . .

    John Howard, not only the author of the hottest blog on the internets, you are a trail blazer. That is your real name, yes?

  60. I can’t say for sure, but I expect that Jazz, from the now mostly-defunct Running Scared site made me aware of the original SS site. Maybe Melissa even commented on RS, who knows. Once when I went on vacation, Jazz asked Melissa to guest-post on my 14-reader blog with him, and she did. I felt so cool!

    🙂

  61. amish451

    I believe I may have linked from Rude Pundit or perhaps a link from a link, from a link…to Shakespearessister …and Brass Balls..
    There is community here, most of you so more bright than myself and certainly better writers, and you tolerate me and my old fart opinions…
    Best evah was the day my Son was reading over my shoulder and said, “Hey, I know that guy!”, pointing at a photo on the sidebar. Seems Melissa and I have a mutual friend/acquaintance ….I expect to see him this week-end.

  62. AlterNet! So many interesting cross-posts, I eventually clicked over. I’d been visiting AlterNet for about five years, but now I’ve grown tired of the ignorant flamers (in the Web sense, not the sexual-orientation sense) from both left and right in the comments section and lost track of how to hide comments there, so I now gravitate toward this more erudite bunch.

    How I discovered AlterNet in the first place is an interesting story in itself, but I’d rather not explore that here.

  63. carol

    Shamanic of simianbrain (and now cernigsnewshog) is one of my dearest oldest friends. We survived Alabama together, although, somehow she got out, and I’m still here. Anyway, she had linked to you on her site.

    IMHO, the internet has saved the “news” industry in America. This is the only place you can get real commentary and reporting from people that aren’t beholden to big company or government interests.

    Thank you, technology, and Shakespeare’s Sister!

  64. Liss’s posts at Ezra Klein’s place did it for me. They seem to have stopped, but by that point I was hooked.

    I stopped posting at Ez’s place when I joined the Edwards campaign, because it would have created a conflict of interest for him while he covers Edwards for the American Prospect.

    It was too bad, since I really enjoyed contributing there.

    Seems Melissa and I have a mutual friend/acquaintance ….I expect to see him this week-end.

    Oh goodness! Tell him I said hi! 🙂

  65. KarateMonkey

    I found the Shakespear’s Sister when Kevin Drum stuck his foot in his mouth and started the whole “Why are there no women political bloggers?” brouhaha. I realized that I wasn’t reading any women and I probably should be. Fortunatly, one of the results of the whole debate was that there were plenty of links floating around to quality blogs written by women.

    I introduced RedSonja to the blog, and she began commenting. Since we’re lucky enough to live in the chicagoland area she brought me along to, I believe, the second meetup. We got along so well that Mr. Shakes’ friends from out of town didn’t realize that we’d never actually met before until very late in the evening.

    That’s also where I picked up my handle. Someone misheard RedSonja saying that one of her co-workers wanted a coatimundi. Everybody agreed that a Karate Monkey would indeed be a good thing to have around the house, and I picked up a name and lost my last excuse for not commenting.

  66. the second meetup

    That was such a fun night. My god, I can’t imagine how much beer was collectively drunk at that pub where we settled in for the evening.

    We got along so well that Mr. Shakes’ friends from out of town didn’t realize that we’d never actually met before until very late in the evening.

    Ha! So funny–I totally forgot that. I’d also forgotten that Beer is good for your teeth because it’s enriched with fluoride. This is a Known Fact. until I reposted all the News from Shakes Manors lately.

  67. KarateMonkey

    Beer is good for your teeth because it’s enriched with fluoride. This is a Known Fact.

    It’s a good thing too because the other lesson I learned that night was when drinking with Scotsmen your glass needs only a second of inattention to refill itself.

  68. when drinking with Scotsmen your glass needs only a second of inattention to refill itself

    LOL! Yes.

  69. Jewel

    It was the Americablog “big girl” debacle. Oddjob suggested in the comments that Pam’s House Blend and Shakespeare’s Sister were good blogs for those of us fed up with Aravosis, and I have been reading both regularly since. Thank you Oddjob! (Also thanks Melissa and Pam for having such wonderful blogs!)

  70. I don’t remember exactly how I came here (well, to Shakes Sis) but it was something I was researching for a blog post I wanted to write. Like so many things I think of blogging about, I saw a post here and realized you or the other Shakers said it much better than I would have. You’ve brought so many wonderful bloggers on board that they (and many of the commenters here) continually blow me away. It’s one of the very few sites that stays open and gets refreshed all day long. And I’ve discovered several other wonderful blogs that I visit during the week.

  71. Todd

    See, there was this chick that I used to date in high school before I became a big old homo and she started this cute little blog, and uh, you know …

  72. DW pointed me here…

  73. To be Honest, I thought it was a really cool “Aging Hipster” Blog with nostalgia posts about the Smiths, Cure, Depeche Mode, High School in the late 80’s early 90’s, and how we all were soooo….uh…Tragic back then. I mean…Uh..”Shakespeare’s Sister?” Come ON!

    When I started reading and found out that it was an awesome liberal blog with so much bloggy goodness and some nostalgia thrown in (with the occasional gladiola thrown to Morrissey for good measure) I was pleasantly surprised….

    Someday, I’ll write about my Morrissey Concert experience. It was so funny, so very High school….

  74. See, there was this chick that I used to date in high school before I became a big old homo

    LMAO!!! You’ve outed us. 😉

  75. oddjob

    I do remember that one of the first comments I made on Shakes Sis was about gardening and oddjob promptly came back into the thread and showed how completely useless I was on giving gardening advice. LOL!

    The pedant strikes again! 😉

  76. magikmama

    I found a link on Echidne of the Snakes about how rock-awesome you were.

  77. oddjob

    The first blog I ever read was Sully’s, a blog I still read every day. That was back in ’04 (or even maybe autumn of ’03 was the very first time). I can’t remember exactly how, but somehow from starting there I found Americablog in the late summer of ’04 and Aravosis’s shrill writing style perfectly matched how I felt (FEEL!!!!!!!!!) about this administration. Being a loudmouth when anonymous, I found a comment thread I couldn’t resist adding to, and from that got a response from Holly in Cincinnati. I immediately became a regular there (finding Holly’s comments largely quite cool, and Dark Wraith’s even better!)

    I stopped regularly commenting at Americablog when he blew Jim Guckert’s (aka “Jeff Ganon”) cover. I couldn’t deal with the ensuing traffic explosion and the flood of repeating, often not especially worth reading, comments on his blog after that. I comment very occasionally there now.

    Dark Wraith set up his own blog in about Feb. of ’05 and that became my regular hang-out. He put a link to Shakespeare’s Sister on his blog and I checked it out during the spring of ’05 sometime.

    The writing here is so enjoyable to read!

  78. The writing here is so enjoyable to read!

    Especially in the comments threads, due in no small part to yourself, my friend.

  79. oddjob

    Thanks, but your prose is what rocks most! My writing is fine if you want to read exposition, but your style has such a nice literary flair!

  80. Via Pound, which brought me to this post, which inspired me to write this post and to become a regular Shakesville reader. I love it here, you guys rock. 🙂

  81. John Howard, author of the hottest blog on the internets!

    Ha, I had actually forgotten about that myself. Sadly, I am way too lazy to blog regularly once it became less of a novelty. I think my brother did post something new today, though.

    John Howard, not only the author of the hottest blog on the internets, you are a trail blazer. That is your real name, yes?

    Can you imagine someone boring enough that they would choose that name as a pen name? Well, if you could, it would probably be me, but it is in fact my real name.

  82. Pingback: The Virtual Pub is Open at Shakesville

Leave a Reply

