OMG! Bill O’Reilly Has LOST IT!

He has well and truly lost his motherflippin’ mind. Here he is talking about violent lesbian gangs: “You know, I never thought of this. It makes sense that if you have lawless gay people, they would do this kind of thing, but you don’t associate it. You associate homosexuality more with a social movement, not a criminal movement. But you’re saying this is all over the country, Detective?”

Sweet lord, people—this man has his own national show!!!

Btw, I’d like to note that the Pink Pistols, mentioned by O’Reilly’s “law enforcement expert,” are not an underground lesbian gang. Also, News Bloggers points out that “the footage O’Reilly used to illustrate Lesbian Gangs, was actually a youtube video of a random ‘Chick Fight’—The dialogue of the video indicates they are fighting over A Man.”

H/T BlondeSense Liz. David Neiwert has more, including the transcript. (Thanks, Brian.)

40 Comments

Filed under 01_shakespeares_sister

40 responses to “OMG! Bill O’Reilly Has LOST IT!

  1. Does it make me a bad person if I secretly hope there really are lesbian gangs roaming the streets? Because I’ve gotta say, that would be awesome.

  2. Melissa McEwan

    Does it make me a bad person if I secretly hope there really are lesbian gangs roaming the streets?

    Oh, there are. Just not violent ones. (Although, if I were Bill O’Reilly, I might be worried…) Just don’t tell the wingnuts. The Dykes on Bikes takeover of America is supposed to be a surprise.

  3. What is so appalling about this piece for me, is that it is after four young African American women were sentenced to prison for defending themselves against being attacked by a man that hurled anti-gay slurs at them and then tried to strangle one of the women.

    The message is: women aren’t allowed to defend themselves from unwanted sexual advances by straight men, but it is moral imperative that straight men kill gay men who make similar unwanted sexual advances.

    I am heartbroken for the “Jersey 4” and I don’t even know where to begin to make a difference.

  4. Dave Neiwert has even more on the story, including the background on the “Fox News Crime Analyst.” Not surprisingly, he’s not reliable.

  5. I’d laugh if he weren’t so influential. I mean, I still laugh, but it’s scary that he has a national platform and some of his audience thinks the same way. (And the “chick fight” thing is unbelievable.)

  6. JoshWatermanMN

    Does it make me a bad person if I secretly hope there really are lesbian gangs roaming the streets? Because I’ve gotta say, that would be awesome.

    Not to mention gay gangs. MMMM, rough trade . . .

  7. Paul the Spud

    Jebus, I wish I could see this. I so wanna be a Deb for a lesbian gang.

  8. William K. Wolfrum

    A little bit on Food Investigator “Detective” Rod Wheeler and this horrifying issue of lesbian street gangs.

    –WKW

  9. Graham

    Your post, for some reason, brought to mind this hilarious Monty Python skit.

  10. Not to mention gay gangs. MMMM, rough trade . . .

    Yeah! Sounds like a Friday night at the old Gay ’90’s on Hennepin Avenue in 1976…

  11. Melissa McEwan

    this hilarious Monty Python skit

    Yes, lol!

  12. I’ve tried to join several of these roving bands of lesbians here in NYC, but they just laugh and point.

  13. SAP

    So Captain Falafel is reduced to showing off his personal bum fight video collection on his show?

    Lame. No wonder he got his radio show replaced in DC with Jim Rome.

  14. William K. Wolfrum

    He got replaced by Jim Rome???

    Oh, that’s gotta hurt.

    –WKW

  15. It’s bad enough to be replaced by a completely different sort of radio, but Rome? He’s worse than awful.

  16. eastsidekate

    Women of Color Blog has links to a great story about the Jersey 4.

  17. eastsidekate

    D’oh…. lemme try that again:
    http://brownfemipower.com/?p=1612

  18. JoAsakura

    I, for one, welcome our roving lesbian overlord gangs. *_*

    and to be serious,

    The message is: women aren’t allowed to defend themselves from unwanted sexual advances by straight men, but it is moral imperative that straight men kill gay men who make similar unwanted sexual advances.

    Not just sexual advances. The message really is (like espoused by that tool and the commandments about dating his daughter) that women/gays/people of colour should have no agency whatsoever, and that we only exist at their leisure.

    I mean, shit. Falafel-boy’s already whined that people want to take away his precious privilege…=p

  19. Homosexuality is not a social movement.

    The fight for equal rights for homosexuals is a social movement.

    Gay people aren’t trying to change the world just by being gay. Nor do they become gay just to mess with society.

    When are conservatives going to get this?

  20. I have to admit, the first time I read about this story, I just laughed my ass off. I guess the guy Wheeler, the consultant O’ Reilly talked with, is the member of an very anti-gay mega-church.

    But, really, I can’t tell right wing talk from satire any more!

  21. Varina

    That may be the largest pile of horseshit I’ve seen in awhile. I just can’t stand the way he talks about them recruiting young members and making initiates have sex with established members like that has something to do with them being gay and not A GANG! All urban gangs behave in that way. In fact, female members of gangs are habitually initiated via gang rape. Even if every word of that stupid report were true it still wouldn’t mean queers were out recruiting kids, like Bill O’Reilly is so clearing trying to imply any more than the existence of gay pedophiles means that all gay men want to have sex with boys. All gay PEDOPHILES want to have sex with boys. All gangs recruit young people and frequently rape them as part of initiation. How can anyone with an ounce of intelligence not see that!

  22. Graham

    Tart, here’s a little something for you. Sorry I can’t find the link.

    In 1968 then justice minister Pierre Trudeau mouthed his infamous words ‘the government has no business in the bedrooms of the nation,’” Elley told MPs who were debating the government’s extension of benefits to same-sex couples.

    Infamous, my ass. I’m a Canuck. Pierre Trudeau later became Prime Minister of Canada. IMHO he is the best PM we ever had, at least in my lifetime.

  23. puellasolis

    Was anyone else reminded of Rep. Ackerman’s quip that the terrorists should get “a platoon of lesbians” to chase the homophobic US military of Baghdad? 🙂

  24. Dan

    I know BillO went to Harvard so he must have heard about the Honey Bees in the Charlestown section of Boston. They’re a gang that has been around since the late 70’s-early 80’s, it’s core members and founders are/were lesbians.
    I doubt Billy ever dained to venture out of the ivy walls of Cambridge but before he could make a buck inventing epidemics, this gang existed. But I’m sure it has to do with them being lesbians and not social and economic pressures because we all need more reasons to be distracted by fear.

  25. Brynn

    Hey, still thinking about another comment thread on the subject of language, insults and sensitivity, I’d like to point out that “Lame,” is actually hurtful to disabled people. I only just learned this when I used “Lame!” to express my antipathy over I can’t remember what to my best friend here who permanently walks with a crutch. Yep, I can be that dumb and clueless. She let me know it wasnt a neutral term, and now I notice how often and unconsciously the word is used. Now it seems to be it’s like calling something you don’t like “Gay.”

  26. Graham

    I’d like to point out that “Lame,” is actually hurtful to disabled people

    Hey, Brynn, you have a point.

    But when I here the word now, it just seems to have a totally different meaning. I don’t even think of disabled people. Language is an evolving thing.

    Gay used to mean “bright and lively and fun”. Obviously it means something different now.

    I’m not disrespecting what you’re saying, I’m just sayin’.

  27. When I lived in L.A., the police had problems with a very violent gang of drag queens. They had a specific territory in the Santa Monica Blvd. and Highland Ave. area.

    That particular gang formed because the drag queens and transexuals who hung out in that area got tired of being victimized. So, they banded together and went on the offensive. There were number of stabbings and armed robberies.

    I have to imagine that these “lesbian gangs” have a similar origin. One way to keep from being victimized is to become meaner and tougher than those who victimize you.

  28. Grendel72

    Yeah, to be honest I wish groups like the Pink Pistols were more proactive. I think every gay person in this country (especially thos of us in Jesus Land) should be armed, but more than that I think we need to be quite open about being armed. We need something like the Black Panthers on our side.

  29. idlemind

    O’Reilly and other Murdoch henchmen deal in human eyeballs, which they deliver to their advertisers by the truckload. Their base — which is pretty much Bush’s base — thrive on paranoid fantasies like this. In advertiser’s terms, this sort of programming is “sticky;” people keep watching and coming back for more. There is no actual “liberal media” to balance it because its formula simply doesn’t work on more reality-based viewers.

    It’s only “news” in the vaguest sense. But that’s not the object. This is: ka-ching.

  30. SpecialK

    O’Reilly is ridiculous on so many levels and he seems to be so full of himself at this point that he doesn’t even try to hide it anymore. The Chick Fight video, along with the random shot from a helicopter, make absolutely no sense. He conjures images of angry, man-hating diesel dykes prowling the streets and raping children, then slaps the audience with 20-something girls in bikini tops and miniskirts pulling hair.

    It boggles the mind that he still has a fan base that is willing to accept his swill without question. All they want to hear is that the evil gay agenda is a fact and is ruining the world.

  31. Gee, I guess lacing a few lies through every propaganda piece wasn’t enough; O’Lielly decided he to manufacture entire stories out of b.s.

    Given Faux News’ two-year slide in the ratings, and O’Lielly’s dwindling radio ratings, desperation outweighed the fear of being fined by the FCC for falsifying the news. Pathetic.

  32. Your headline “OMG! Bill O’Reilly Has LOST IT!” presumes that Mr. Falafel once had it to begin with.

    .
    I find it highly amusing (tho’ I doubt the GBLT communities would agree with me) that his newest fake bogeymen are actually fake bogeywomen.
    .
    There’s no lie Loofah Boy won’t tell in order to stir up his base, which he knows includes rabid homophobes. No one ever accused him of being dumb; the truth is simpler: He’s just a lying sack’o’manure.
    .
    With all my love,
    Aunty Em

  33. Linnaeus

    O’Reilly hasn’t lost it. He’s a sociopath.

  34. Yeah, to be honest I wish groups like the Pink Pistols were more proactive. I think every gay person in this country (especially thos of us in Jesus Land) should be armed, but more than that I think we need to be quite open about being armed.

    Oh yeah, THAT’S what we need to do, introduce FIREARMS into violent situations. Because that’ll make things LESS VIOLENT.

    *snort*

    I call bullshit. I am really sick of people advocating that the way to make ourselves safer is to introduce more violence through the presence of guns into a cultural space. And particularly not from liberals. That isn’t the fucking answer. The answer to pieces of filth like O’Reilly is to address the culture itself that gives wastes of humanity like him validity.

    And I say this as a take-no-shit, stroppy-arse, hardly pacifist femme dyke. Groups like Pink Pistols make me sick.

  35. Pingback: Around and About « Semidi

  36. Pingback: an ode to -isms: my feminist libertarian manifesto (or, I propose a truce?) « yellow is the color…

  37. Pingback: Feministing

  38. Molly

    Doesn’t anyone remember the lizzies????

  39. Pingback: Release the Douchehounds! at Shakesville

Leave a Reply

