Clinton Hires Gephardt

Hillary Clinton has hired erstwhile Dem. Rep. and former presidential candidate Dick Gephardt as an economic adviser to her presidential campaign.

An interesting choice, considering that, in April, Gephardt signed on as a lobbyist for the coal industry to help “defeat efforts by democrats to put caps on carbon emissions,” in May, became a registered lobbyist for global investment monolith Goldman Sachs, and, just last month, joined the board of directors of EMBARQ, a telecom corp. whose CEO is deeply hostile to net neutrality.

All righty then. The best part about this move is how the Clinton campaign is trying to frame it as evidence that she’s not a corporate shill, but fights for the little guy—a repudiation of her husband’s free trade fandom. (And an attempt to out-Edwards John Edwards.) Gephardt may have led the charge against NAFTA lo those many years ago, but it was evidently to protect American corporations, not American workers. Color me unimpressed.

Now, if Clinton had hired Chrissy Gephardt instead of her dad, she’d have had my congratulations.

[Btw, sucking corporate dick is the one place where “both parties are the same”-ers will get no argument from me. The Democrats are shameful. And evidently shameless.]

14 Comments

Filed under 01_shakespeares_sister

14 responses to “Clinton Hires Gephardt

  1. Paul the Spud

    Btw, sucking corporate dick is the one place where “both parties are the same”-ers will get no argument from me.

    Ditto.

  2. Though it’s still early, I’ve pretty much decided Clinton won’t get my vote — and she seems intent on making sure that’s true in November 2008 as well.

  3. oddjob

    Interesting that Gephardt of all people is busy lobbying for big business. One would perhaps have more likely expected him to become a lobbyist for big labor since it was from them that he always drew his political support.

  4. Melissa McEwan

    One would perhaps have more likely expected him to become a lobbyist for big labor since it was from them that he always drew his political support.

    Yeah, it’s actually quite sad to see what he’s become.

  5. Btw, sucking corporate dick is the one place where “both parties are the same”-ers will get no argument from me.

    I completely agree.

    And it’s completely sad where Gephardt has ended up – and even more sad that Clinton has taken him on and is using that as a notion of how she’s not a corporate shill.

    What the hell ever.

  6. nightshift66

    Kevin,
    As for myself, I’m resolved to vote for the Dem nominee in November 2008 no matter who it is. I doubt that it’ll save the republic, because I believe that a Dem president will use the powers accumulated by Bush and not have the character to get rid of them. But I may be wrong, and even if I’m not, it’ll be amusing to watch the GOP cry as Hillary (or whoever) slips the black bags over Rush’s noggin and makes him disappear.

    In the primary, I don’t see how Hillary can win my vote at this point. I’m leaning Edwards, and maybe Obama if he shows some spine between now and then. Richardson would make a good pres, I think, but he’s strictly 2nd tier and probably will be out of the race by March, when we finally vote.

  7. MBW

    This just makes me sick. So many of the Bush DoI/DoJ slime buckets, such as Tom Sansonetti and Bill Myers are now Peabody lobbyists. There is no such thing as a decent Peabody lobbyist. Peabody has been screwing Indians, particularly Navajos, Hopis and Apaches in the Southwest for decades.

    I was pretty sure, with Clinton’s piss poor record on Indians, in particular fucking over the New York’s Iroquoian tribes, that I couldn’t support her. Now I’m certain. I’ll just leave that box unchecked.

  8. oddjob

    it’s actually quite sad to see what he’s become.

    Now that you mention it, I’m not really surprised. He always left me less than impressed, except for the way he handled his daughter’s coming out. I thought that was very, very classy.

  9. NameChanged

    nightshift66-“and even if I’m not, it’ll be amusing to watch the GOP cry as Hillary (or whoever) slips the black bags over Rush’s noggin and makes him disappear.”

    Please, please, please? Will that happen? I would really, really love it! 🙂

    “Richardson would make a good pres, I think, but he’s strictly 2nd tier and probably will be out of the race by March, when we finally vote.”

    He’s my gov, and he would make a great pres, but you are correct. Maybe he can be the anti-Cheney VP and do the puppet master thing, but in a good way.

  10. MBW

    NameChanged – did you hear on NPR last night that now Richardson may be in trouble for bringing an energy executive to work in the Governor’s office, while still on the corporate payroll?

    I’m not a NM resident, but we’ve been camped out on the Cochiti Pueblo on and off since May (with a few weeks on the CN in OK.) I’ve been surprised at how little physical support (bumpersticker, signs, etc.) I’ve seen around Santa Fe, Albuquerque and Taos for Richardson for Pres. I like the guy’s position on Indian issues, but feel it’s balanced out by his crappy record on energy. All and all a wash.

  11. Pingback: University Update - Hillary Clinton - Clinton Hires Gephardt

  12. I have figured out already that if Ol’ Hillary gets the Democratic nod I will once again write-in one of my cats. Perhaps it will be Scooter the white, lazy, scheming kitty that begs for money…I mean food.

    Or it could be my favorite cat Al..as in Gore.

  13. I couldn’t vote for Hillary Clinton. Not in a primary or if she wins the nomination, sadly. I do not think she would yield George Bush’s executive power grab, frankly.

  14. Pingback: BlogNetNews.com » Florida » Pushing Rope « This Week's Most Linked Blogs

Leave a Reply

