You gotta have (my) faith

Shorter Chuck Colson:

While I fully respect the fact that there should be no religious test for public office, my personal biases compel me to make one up anyway.

The former Watergate felon and current prison ministry impresario says only Christians and Jews need apply for public office in these United States. The beliefs of Wiccans and pagans aren’t “compatible” with, you know, democracy.

And, uh, the Founding Fathers would so totally agree with him.

(Cross-posted.)

22 Comments

Filed under 02_waveflux

22 responses to “You gotta have (my) faith

  1. Melissa McEwan

    former Watergate felon and current prison ministry impresario

    LOL! Never has an accurate description of someone, sans use of “douchebag,” been so hilarious.

  2. Good catch, Phil. I was going to post about this, but you nailed it.

    And these Jesus-shouters wonder why people don’t like them.

  3. Paul the Spud

    Not being as familiar with paganism in its various forms, I do not wish to condemn it unfairly.

    Oh, for the luvva crumb cake. JUST. SHUT. UP. I’m sure you won’t be voting for Mormons or Muslims, either. I’m so sick of this theocracy nonsense.

  4. Arkades

    It’s *so* refreshing to hear a felon moralize about how others’ belief systems render them unfit for public service in a democracy. Mainstream religion *obviously* did such a *great* job insuring *his* moral fitness, after all… not to mention how it guaranteed the high moral fiber of countless corrupt other politicians and apparatchiks!

  5. Man, they went all out with the xtra-large, industrial size, too-big-for-cosco, truck of irony with this one, didn’t they?

  6. For those who thought the short version was too wordy, here’s the short short version:
    “I’m a bigot.”

  7. NameChanged

    The only thing compatible with democracy is democracy. Everything else is ass-butter.

  8. Damn. Does he count Buddhists as atheists, pagans, or heathens? I will never get elected in Minnesota’s 6th if they find out I am neither Christian nor Jew. Actually, in the 6th, I would never get elected as a Jew

  9. dnA

    I don’t think he said Jews. He said “Judeo-Christian.” I think Mr. Colson chose Pagans because explicitly opposing the election of Jews or Muslims to public office could draw criticism from either side of the political spectrum.

  10. (It is debatable whether paganism is a religion, per say.

    Tell me this didn’t really appear in WaPo. per say?

    I’m not sure why it is, but when the viewpoint is retarded, ignorance of Latin feels very significant.)

  11. oh but pagans can die for this country.
    he didn’t say anything about turning away pagans at recruitment centers.

    jack ass that he is!

    no, let me say what i really think of him:
    FUCKER!

  12. You know, it just struck me … ever notice that fundie/evangelicals seem to do this awfully often:

    While I fully respect the fact that there is a reality, my personal biases compel me to ignore it completely anyway.

    They’ll make some statement recognising something that is bloody obvious, and then turn around and say something that IS THE COMPLETE BLOODY OPPOSITE.

    Now I know my paraphrase of Phil’s excellent “Shorter” is now a couple interpretations removed now, but this is a rhetorical commonality that seems to pop up. It just shows their complete hypocracy, in mentioning something for appearance’s sake, hoping that just the mention will somehow give their argument more credence, and then from that moment on pretending as though it not only wasn’t mentioned at all, but actually holds no reality at all.

    It’s the rhetorical equivalent of a pat on the head.

  13. And now we let you godless heathens have your Satanic pentagram on your tombstone in Arlington, so be happy, you whiny liberals, you. And turn away? If you can walk upright, you’re eligible for the meat grinder.

  14. A Stranger

    For once, the comment section filled me with hope. Most of the commentators were rationally and rightfully indignant. A couple of wingnuts eventually slipped through, but most folks were *gasp* intelligent. Woo.

  15. Anne

    And these Jesus-shouters wonder why people don’t like them.
    OMG, Mustang Bobby, I can’t believe you just wrote that. No more than five minutes ago at my workplace, we had a guy in here who was LITERALLY a Jesus shouter — he came in, started YELLING at the top of his lungs about Jesus, scared a bunch of kids, and we called the cops on him. I wish I had it on video for you!

    only Christians and Jews need apply for public office in these United States. The beliefs of Wiccans and pagans aren’t “compatible” with, you know, democracy.
    Yeah, because obviously religions like Catholicism where only a very few men and no women get a say in the church’s leadership are more democratic than those non-hierarchical pagan religions where everybody gets a say in how the group is run…

  16. Holly in cincinnati

    I’d rather have an Atheist or a Pagan than Charles Colson as President!

  17. I love how he doesn’t even discuss what aspects of paganism lead him to conclude that it “falls short.” The logic is so incomplete and conclusory, he comes off sounding like an old man rambling to his grandkids about the things he doesn’t like. “A tomato isn’t really a vegetable, per say. It’s important for a vegetable to provide nourishment. Now, I don’t know much about tomoatoes, but I don’t think they provide enough nourishment to be considered a vegetable.”

  18. I just spent like an hour fisking this, and now I find the short version. Well the long version goes up tomorrow, come to my place and see.

    don’t think he said Jews. He said “Judeo-Christian.” I think Mr. Colson chose Pagans because explicitly opposing the election of Jews or Muslims to public office could draw criticism from either side of the political spectrum.

    Besides the fact that there’s no such thing as “Judeo-Christian,” Colson’s essay is one of a group of essays on the On Religion blog done as reaction to a Pagan 4th of July rally. We are trying to get Pagan chaplains in the US Military. It’s the next big issue for Pagans in public life. Chaplains have been blocked and double-fucked. I’m linking it all to shit tomorrow.

  19. If you can walk upright, you’re eligible for the meat grinder.

    So they’ve changed the requirements. Back in my days as a boy soldier this didn’t seem to matter. Knuckle draggers abounded. They were mostly called Sarge.

  20. Pingback: Property of a Lady » Colson’s “Religious Muster” doesn’t pass religious muster

  21. I bet he said Judeo-Christian so as not to exclude the Deists and Unitarians who, you know, _founded_ this country!

    This is not, nor has it ever been, “a Christian nation.”

  22. Pingback: If I Ran the Zoo: Colson's "Religious Muster" doesn't pass religious muster

Leave a Reply

