Bret? Yep. Jemaine? Yeah, obviously. Murray? Present.

Shakers, we need to talk about Flight of the Conchords. Why? Because it’s a gazillion little bits of hilarious goodness stitched together with golden strands of awesomeness, all wrapped up in a big bow of brilliance and topped with a cherry of jocose absurdity. I mean, if that’s not worth talking about, wtp is?!

If you have no idea who or what Flight of the Conchords is, it’s a two-man band. And it’s a show about them. The band is fake, in the sense that they’re really comedians, even though the band is also sorta real, and the show is fake, in the sense that the real Jemaine and Bret aren’t totally stupid. But they are really Kiwis on the loose in the US. Hang on. I’ll just let HBO, which airs the show, explain:

Flight of the Conchords follows the trials and tribulations of a two man, digi-folk band from New Zealand as they try to make a name for themselves in their adopted home of New York City. The band is made up of Bret McKenzie on guitar and vocals, and Jemaine Clement on guitar and vocals.

Bret and Jemaine have moved to New York in the hope of forging a successful music career. So far they’ve managed to find a manager (whose “other” job is at the New Zealand Consulate), one fan (a married obsessive) and one friend (who owns the local pawn shop) — but not much else.

Yeah, okay. That sums it up pretty well. Except for the glaring omission about the little bits of hilarious goodness and the golden strands of awesomeness, but wev. Not everyone has a flair for gushing hyperbole. The thing is, you really just need to see the show. So there’s a full episode below, in three pieces. But if you’re at work, or don’t feel like watching a half hour of YouTubery, even if it is highly awesome Flight of the Conchords YouTubery, then here’s just a short clip to whet your whistle.

Hip-Hopopotamus vs. The Rhymenocerous

My rhymes are so potent that in this small segment
I made all of the ladies in the area pregnant!
Yeah—sometimes my lyrics are sexist
But you lovely bitches and hos should know I’m trying to correct this.

Seriously. Any more awesomeness, and I’d probably just die in a huge explosion of happiness.

* * *

Episode One

25 Comments

Filed under 01_shakespeares_sister

25 responses to “Bret? Yep. Jemaine? Yeah, obviously. Murray? Present.

  1. It’s Mel, the fan. Every time she’s onscreen, it gets better, and creepier, and wronger …

  2. Angelos

    I forgot to DVR the first episode, I’ll have to get on that stat!

  3. Melissa McEwan

    It’s Mel, the fan. Every time she’s onscreen, it gets better, and creepier, and wronger …

    Totally, lol! Btw, her video diaries at the show’s website are fucking hilarious.

    I forgot to DVR the first episode, I’ll have to get on that stat!

    It’s also “On Demand,” for anyone who’s got Comcast.

  4. Edo

    saw some clips on youtube just a few days ago. Liss has is exactly right when she says:

    Because it’s a gazillion little bits of hilarious goodness stitched together with golden strands of awesomeness, all wrapped up in a big bow of brilliance and topped with a cherry of jocose absurdity.

    If they ever get the recognition (and attendent $) they deserve, I hope they send some Shakesville way!

  5. Regina

    This is exactly the kind of thing that can keep me not writing my thesis.

  6. Jemaine was on some Outback Steak House commercials earlier this year.

    I don’t have HBO, so I will have to YouTube the episode.

  7. I recently discovered this show. The musical numbers are hilarious.

  8. Cool! I don’t have HBO, so this is nice. I’ve loved every appearance they’ve made that I’ve seen.

    BTW, here’s them on Fresh Air:

    http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=11067696

  9. Jersey

    Is there anything gay in the show? I’m sorry to be so single minded but I’m sick of the lack of gay characters. Yeah I can get behind quirky and all but come on, throw us a bone for christ sake. I’m still crying since they ended Keith and David on SFU.

  10. Melissa McEwan

    Is there anything gay in the show?

    None of the four main characters are gay (that we know of). But there’s only been three episodes.

  11. Jersey

    I keep seeing this on my scroll page along with that Joe or John from Cincinati but I just can’t watch either until there’s some acknowledgement that there are gay people in NYC or LA. In fact I think I’m going to cancel HBO and replace it with Showtime. Don’t they have a couple shows with gays?

  12. Arkades

    Jocose Absurdity would totally make an awesome band name.

  13. Melissa McEwan

    Jocose Absurdity would totally make an awesome band name.

    LOL!

  14. Well, the last time a two-man band had a hilarious show on HBO, they grew up to be Tenacious D, so I am in favor.

  15. But they are really Kiwis on the loose in the US

    KIWIS IN THE HOUSE!!!!

    *BIG GRIN* Ayup, that they are … I remember hearing an interview with Jemaine Clement on NPR (yay proper kiwi accents!! woohoo! music to my bloody ears) and the things he talked about in terms of cultural differences (and americans often not getting our sense of humour as we are too deadpan and subtle with it) were totally spot on.

    Glad to know I wasn’t the only one noticing this shite.

    Not to mention they totally still dress like kiwi uni students … 🙂

    Great, now I am homesick …

  16. lou

    and a little bit of trivia for you. Bret McKenzie’s previous claim to fame was playing an elf in the Lord of the Rings trilogy.
    Apparently he got some squee girl cult following from his brief, silent appearance in the first movie. Peter Jackson thought it was so hilarious he gave Bret a brief speaking role in the third one. Blink and you miss him.

    I think there’s even a website dedicated to Figwit, the nickname. Wonder if he’s trying to live that down.

    PS and have only caught a couple of episodes of the Conchords but I love quirky humor and this definitely has it.

  17. I want the soundtrack to that show. The show has its funny parts, but the songs kill me. Especially the rap from last weeks episode.

  18. I think there’s even a website dedicated to Figwit, the nickname. Wonder if he’s trying to live that down.

    Aka Frodo Is Great – Who Is THAT?

  19. I saw the first two eps at a pals house and I think I’m in love! I love Tenacious D (they rock live, too) I can’t wait for these Kiwis to take off here in the states. Mel has some competition for fandom!

  20. In fact I think I’m going to cancel HBO and replace it with Showtime. Don’t they have a couple shows with gays?

    There is an evil, closeted gay character on HBO’s Big Love.

    http://www.hbo.com/biglove/cast/character/alby_grant.html

  21. They are so good they could be “part time models.”

    Best. New. Show.

    [Def gives Always Sunny in Philadelphia a run for their money!]

  22. We just caught their 1/2 hour Comedy Central show over the weekend, while in sister-in-law’s wedding hell…. It was the best part of the weekend!! I was immediately smitten, and devoutly wish that we had HBO.

  23. Best. New. Show.

    Definitely.

  24. KarateMonkey

    Our favorite part from the comedy special is here.

  25. Pingback: Something interesting today? - WHOA! Eddie Murphy STEPS DOWN As Oscar Host!

Leave a Reply

