OMFG: Bush Commutes Libby’s Sentence

You have got to be shitting me:

President Bush commuted the sentence of former aide I. Lewis “Scooter” Libby Monday, sparing him from a 2 1/2-year prison term in the CIA leak case. Bush left intact a $250,000 fine and two years probation for Libby, according to a senior White House official, who spoke on condition of anonymity because the decision had not been announced.

Bush’s move came hours after a federal appeals panel ruled Libby could not delay his prison term in the CIA leak case. That decision put the pressure on the president, who had been sidestepping calls by Libby’s allies to pardon the former chief of staff to Vice President Dick Cheney.

Whatfuckingever. I hate these people.

[Thanks to Shaker Allie for the heads up.]

40 Comments

Filed under 01_shakespeares_sister

40 responses to “OMFG: Bush Commutes Libby’s Sentence

  1. oddjob

    What a surprise, not.

  2. oddjob

    I wouldn’t mind changing the Constitution to make it impossible for a president to pardon someone convicted of committing a crime of this kind. It’s plain as can be that he was hiding something done by the vice president and that the president is in on it all somehow.

    No criminal should have the power to pardon another one.

  3. Melissa McEwan

    No criminal should have the power to pardon another one.

    Well said–and good point.

  4. At least he’s been disbarred, and he’s going to be a felon stripped of the right to vote. That’s the tarnished silver lining I can see in the cloud of his commuted sentence.

  5. Constant Comment

    The only thing that surprises me is how quickly he did this. Guantanamo is too good for the lot of them.

  6. Well, if he didn’t, Scooter might start talking.

  7. It should be unconstitutional for the President to pardon or commute the sentence of someone who works for his administration.

    A subsequent president should be able to issue the pardon as long as he wasn’t a member of the same administration.

    This just makes sense. Otherwise, a president could have one of his staff members kill someone and then pardon him after he’s been convicted. (I wouldn’t be shocked if that turns out to be Dubya’s next move.)

  8. amish451

    ….Dubya’s next move …..

    Do we really want to stay and watch that …??

  9. You took the words right out of my mouth. WTF? I think it’s very thoughtful of Bush to at least keep Scooter out of icky old jail seeing as how Scooter totally took the fall for him and Dick.

    Bush DID say: “If somebody did leak classified information, I’d like to know it, and we’ll take the appropriate action.” Little did we know that meant: If someone did leak… we’ll totally commute his sentence and then pardon him later. You know, on my way out of office.

    It IS criminal to allow criminals to commute other criminal’s sentences.

    And I love how Bush said “I respek the jury’s verdict but…” you know, I just don’t respek it enuf to let it stand as is. Libby ONLY committed perjury and obstruction of justice.

    Whatfuckingever, indeed. Hate doesn’t even begin to cover it for me.

  10. Hell, I thought he would give him a full pardon. I guess he was only half-erect today.

  11. from Bush’s statement

    Others point out that a jury of citizens weighed all the evidence and listened to all the testimony and found Mr. Libby guilty of perjury and obstructing justice. They argue, correctly, that our entire system of justice relies on people telling the truth. And if a person does not tell the truth, particularly if he serves in government and holds the public trust, he must be held accountable.

    Yeah right! O’ Precious Truth where art thou?

  12. NameChanged

    Is he daring the House to impeach? Will he double-dog-dare? What will that look like? My eyeballs are melting.

  13. my. head. just. exploded.

  14. I 2nd/third that whatfuckingever (or wufev?). Not surprised, but still pissed.

  15. Melissa McEwan

    Others point out that a jury of citizens weighed all the evidence and listened to all the testimony and found Mr. Libby guilty of perjury and obstructing justice. They argue, correctly, that our entire system of justice relies on people telling the truth.

    IT ALSO RELIES ON PEOPLE WHO BEEN CONVICTED IN A FAIR TRIAL WITH THE BEST DEFENSE MONEY CAN BUY SERVING THEIR GODDAMNED SENTENCES.

    But The Decider has decided to FUCK ALL THAT and do whatever he wants, as per fucking usual.

    Fuck Bush. What an asshole. There aren’t words to express how fucking much I hate him.

  16. Bill Kristol is so creaming his pants right now! I need a drink for typing that!

  17. eastsidekate

    I need a drink for reading that.

  18. eastsidekate

    Speaking of which, who is Lizzie (as in “Lizzie Smash!”) Can I order a bumper sticker of her?

  19. There’s not a way to get this reversed, correct? I mean, short of forming a pitchfork-wielding mob?

  20. Aly

    Ye gods.

    Of course, if Libby was in jail, it’d all go downhill for Bush (not that it isn’t already) but still. This is just crap.

    I need chocolate.

  21. Don’t have a stroke Melmanda! You are finally back in Shakesville.

    By the end of the week, there will be a whole new BALL of Hate for Captain Howdy! As always, just when you think he can’t push the threshold higher, he does.

    The ASS-Rape of America will continue.

  22. Melissa McEwan

    Speaking of which, who is Lizzie (as in “Lizzie Smash!”) Can I order a bumper sticker of her?

    It’s not Lizzie; it’s “Lissie.” 🙂

  23. oddjob

    There’s not a way to get this reversed, correct?

    Correct. The president’s power to pardon is absolute. It’s one of the checks and balances in the system. This is one of the executive branch’s checks on the judicial branch.

  24. eastsidekate

    Ahhh, Lissie, as in Melissa. Duh.

  25. Can I order a bumper sticker of her?

    Shakesville merchandise! There’s you some income generation!

    Lissie Smash!! bumper stickers and plushies
    Feminazi Cooter plushies
    QCoFM ikons (for our home shrines)

    Make this a question of the day and get tons of suggestions!

    (Hey, I may hate capitalism – and money in general – but that doesn’t mean that I’m blind to its potentials)

  26. I can’t believe how mad this made me. I actually felt my face flush when I heard the news.

    What galls me is the speed. I literally had the radio on in the car on the way to the grocery store and they were saying something like “This decision increases the pressure on Bush to issue a pardon,” went in, bought $40 worth of groceries (meaning, like NOTHING), came out, and the news was talking about the commutation of the sentence.

    It was all ready, all set, all waiting for the judges’ decision. There wasn’t even a respectful waiting period, you know, to honor the judiciary in any way. It was just, “Well, that’s over with.

    My face turned RED.

  27. Melissa McEwan

    Shakesville merchandise! There’s you some income generation!

    I once spent about 18 hours putting together a Cafe Press store after a comments thread in which people listed all sorts of things they wanted on bumper stickers, t-shirts, etc.

    And then no one bought a single thing. Literally. Not one sale.

    That’s not something on which I’ll be wasting my time again anytime soon. 😉

  28. eastsidekate

    From W’s statement (emphasis mine):
    This case has generated significant commentary and debate. Critics of the investigation have argued that a special counsel should not have been appointed, nor should the investigation have been pursued after the Justice Department learned who leaked Ms. Plame’s name to columnist Robert Novak. Furthermore, the critics point out that neither Mr. Libby nor anyone else has been charged with violating the Intelligence Identities Protection Act or the Espionage Act,, which were the original subjects of the investigation. Finally, critics say the punishment does not fit the crime: Mr. Libby was a first-time offender with years of exceptional public service and was handed a harsh sentence based in part on allegations never presented to the jury.

    So, if and when Rove is brought up on charges, Bush’ll pray that Karl gets the chair? Yeah, sure.

  29. Ivory Bill Woodpecker

    We might as well look on the bright side. It’s one more albatross that can be hung around the neck of the GOP in the next elections. 🙂

  30. oddjob

    That is indeed the bright side. If there was ever any question about whether these un-Americans viewed the law as something that only applied to others, that question has been answered.

    As Sully pointed out, Shrub’s justification is nowhere near as convincing as the observation that Libby got out of jail after committing a felony simply because he was a powerful Republican.

  31. jahf

    Is he daring the House to impeach?

    What are you talking about? BushCo does shit like this precisely because they know that no one has the balls to even broach the topic, let alone do the deed.

  32. Arkades

    I just read about the ways in which this selective commutation of the sentence differs from a standard-issue pardon. By saying that verdict was acceptable but picking and choosing which elements of the sentence to keep and which to invalidate, it’s like a line-item pardon, more or less.

    I didn’t think it was possible for me to hate that dumbfuck in the west wing more than I already did, but apparently I *can* despise him even more. What a wonderful legacy.

  33. oddjob

    Someone over at Pam’s House Blend also mentioned that a full pardon is still possible. I don’t know if that’s true or not, but I wouldn’t be surprised.

  34. Pingback: The United States of Jamerica

  35. Absolutely mind-blowing. The sheer hubris, the cheek, the long piss on the rule of law is incomprehensible. Caligula sits in the White House.

  36. Yes, yes and yes, what everybody said above. This goddam fucking asshole can’t leave office fucking fast enough. I hate hate hate hate hate George Fucking Bush. And so on. The goddam prick.

  37. DerelictDaughter11

    OMFG and whatfuckingever indeed! I was on the train on my way into work this morning when I found out. I caught a glimpse of the front page of someone’s Daily News (of all things) and proclaimed I was about to have an aneurysm. This motherfucking douche just ruined my day with this criminal bullshit, and Happy Fucking Fourth of July. That’s Independence Day. Ya know, a patriotic celebration of our freedoms and democracy. FUCK.

  38. Liss, is any of that stuff still available on Cafe Press? I don’t believe I was lurking here when you tried that.

  39. eastsidekate

    And then no one bought a single thing. Literally. Not one sale.

    That’s not something on which I’ll be wasting my time again anytime soon.

    I wasn’t aware that it was a Shakesville thing when I brought it up (I just thought it would look cool next to other pithy bumper stickers). How’s this– once my partner gets paid, I’ll pay you the princely sum of $5 to not make a bumper sticker. (Really, I swear, it’s all I’s got– that’s one of the problems with having a progressive audience).

    Kate

Leave a Reply

