Mitt Romney: Torturing my dog proves PETA sucks

Mitt Romney: Confessions of a dog torturer:

“You know, PETA has not been my fan over the years,” Romney said. “PETA has been after me for having a rodeo at the Olympics and were very, very upset about that. PETA was after me when I went quail hunting in Georgia. And PETA is not happy that my dog likes fresh air.”

I’ll give Romney this – he’s no Michael Vick. But one would imagine a Presidential candidate might want to aim a little higher. Of course, no one expects any GOP candidate to ever take any responsibility for their actions. That’s just not their thing.

Good work by Anna Marie Cox in showing what a heartless bag of crap the flip-flopping, say-anything-for-a-vote Romney is.

In the end, Romney can try and slough off this story all he wants, but here’s the truth – A vote for Mitt Romney is a vote for animal abuse.

WKW

29 Comments

Filed under 07_wolfrum

29 responses to “Mitt Romney: Torturing my dog proves PETA sucks

  1. Melissa McEwan

    “He scrambled up there every time we went on trips,” Romney said at a campaign stop in Pittsburgh on Thursday. “He got it all by himself and enjoyed it.”

    Oh really? Then why’d he shit himself?

  2. Pingback: University Update - Mitt Romney - Mitt Romney: Torturing my dogs proves PETA sucks

  3. And PETA is not happy that my dog likes fresh air.

    For some reason, that reminds me of the old NASA film of a dog in a wind tunnel.

  4. t87

    Oh really? Then why’d he shit himself?

    Well my dog threw up in the back of my SUV on Sunday. In the 5 years that I had my last dog, she shit in the back of my truck twice when she was sick.

    I mean, really, isn’t there enough that is objectionable about Romney’s stand on the issues without engaging in this sort of petty stuff? It’s Coulterish.

  5. William K. Wolfrum

    I mean, really, isn’t there enough that is objectionable about Romney’s stand on the issues without engaging in this sort of petty stuff? It’s Coulterish.

    And perhaps it would be better to only judge Michael Vick on his passing rating and scrambling ability. After all, what does being a big player in dog fighting have to do with his position as a quarterback?

    Fuck Romney. Any type of ghoulish fuck that thinks mistreating animals is just a non-issue and a sign that he “coolly handles problems” is demented and has no business being in the public eye.

    Call it what you will. But as long as dogs can’t complain about mistreatment, I’ll use whatever voice I’ve been given to loudly discredit and showcase those inhuman enough to abuse them.

    –WKW

  6. Melissa McEwan

    In the 5 years that I had my last dog, she shit in the back of my truck twice when she was sick.

    When she was sick. Exactly. Your dog was in distress when she lost control of her bodily functions. Thanks for making my point for me.

    I mean, really, isn’t there enough that is objectionable about Romney’s stand on the issues without engaging in this sort of petty stuff?

    Considering that mistreatment of animals is actually a widely acknowledged indicator of several serious personality disorders, I don’t consider this “petty” at all. Quite clearly, Romney’s behavior is different than someone who physically absuses an animal, but that doesn’t mean nothing can be gleaned from his regard for animals in his care.

  7. t87

    And perhaps it would be better to only judge Michael Vick on his passing rating and scrambling ability.

    What? You are lumping together Vick (who is a good football player) and thus qualified for the job with Romney, who is not suited for the job he seeks. Your example would make sense if you would compare Romney with an Arena football league hack who can’t make it in the bigs. That’s why there is plenty to talk about Romney on substance.

    Your dog was in distress when she lost control of her bodily functions. Thanks for making my point for me.

    You too, miss the point. Yesterday, my dog got sick during a 25 minute ride from the park. He looked fine when he got in the car and, in fact, he looked fine when he got out and I wouldn’t have known anything had happened had his vomit not oozed out when opened the rear hatch.

    And, when my last dog shat all over the back of my car – believe me – I did not think she was going to do that when I put her in there. Shit happens.

    Considering that mistreatment of animals is actually a widely acknowledged indicator of several serious personality disorders, I don’t consider this “petty” at all.

    Please that is an argument of desperation. There is no indication here that Romney “mistreated” he family pet. I would not put my dog on the roof of my car in a carrier, but I regularly put him in a carrier in the back of pickups when I am out hunting and he doesn’t mind it at all the the wind whips around pretty good back there. (You do know that in the original story Romney’s kid talked about how his dad had gone to the trouble of even cobbling together some sort of windscreen so the wind wouldn’t be bad on the dog.

    Anyone who has ever owned a dog knows that sometimes they get sick and barf or shit all over the place. That is part of owning a pet.

    To assert that a) the dog shit so b) that means that it was in distress from being on the roof of the car is a really, really stupid.

    And, anytime a politician can frame the argument as “me and my beloved golden retriever” against that PETA whackjob Ingrid Newkirk, the politician wins.

  8. oddjob

    To assert that a) the dog shit so b) that means that it was in distress from being on the roof of the car is a really, really stupid.

    Not if it indicates that on an obviously long trip he hadn’t bothered to account for the dog’s need to relieve itself. You’re apparently assuming the only reason the dog did what it did was because it became ill. Where in the original article did you read anything to justify that assumption?

  9. I would NOT put a dog in the back of a pick-up.

    In fact, it is illegal in many states to transport a dog in an open bed of a pick-up truck. I used to be an auto insurance claims rep. Ever see what can happen to a dog in the back of a pick-up when it is involved in an accident? They usually end up smeared across the asphalt. I once saw one that was tied to the bed with a rope. Half of the dog was missing — just the head and front paws hanging from the rope.

    …when I am out hunting and he doesn’t mind it at all the the wind whips around pretty good back there…

    Wow! Your dog has TOLD you that? Either that your your one of those animal psychics. Or maybe Dr. Doolittle!

  10. oddjob

    Unless I’m mistaken, it’s illegal to transport a dog that way in Massachusetts, although I don’t know if it was illegal back when this happened.

  11. t87

    Fritz – As I mentioned I put my dog in a carrier in the back of pickups which is quite “legal”.

    Wow! Your dog has TOLD you that? Either that your your one of those animal psychics. Or maybe Dr. Doolittle!

    I understand that this is probably just an attempt to be a smartass on your part, but if you are actually serious, I can tell that my dog doesn’t mind because whenever I walk him up to the back of a pickup truck, he jumps up on his hind legs and tries to get into the bed of the truck where the carriers are even before I lower the tailgate so he can jump in. And if I don’t lower the tailgate, he starts whining and scratching at the back of the truck.

    That, to me, is pretty good indicator that he does not have any bad associations with being in the back of a truck.

    For purpose of comparison, when I drive him up to the vet, I have drag him through the door because he does not like being there.

  12. t87

    You’re apparently assuming the only reason the dog did what it did was because it became ill. Where in the original article did you read anything to justify that assumption?

    The same place that everyone else is getting their information – nowhere.

    I haven’t seen any information in the stories about how long the poor dog was up there before the crap started flying. If he kept the dog confined for hours and hours without allowing it to get out to relieve itself, then of course that was a thoughtless thing to do.

    But the assumption of the posters here and elsewhere is that the dog was so tortured and abused (their words, not mine) that it lost control of its bowels. That is just dumb.

  13. oddjob

    I haven’t seen any information in the stories about how long the poor dog was up there before the crap started flying. If he kept the dog confined for hours and hours without allowing it to get out to relieve itself, then of course that was a thoughtless thing to do.

    When the article’s immediately preceding information is that he warned his children that the only stopping would be when the car was getting refueled I think it’s safe to say the writer’s impression was that Mitt hadn’t considered the bowel movement needs of his dog.

  14. Melissa McEwan

    the assumption of the posters here and elsewhere is that the dog was so tortured and abused (their words, not mine) that it lost control of its bowels

    Leaving a dog confined for so long that it shits its immediate area in desperation isn’t just “thoughtless,” especially when it’s because you’re just determined to stick to some arbitrary travel schedule that you’ve decided can’t include pit stops. That’s cruel. Many will quite reasonably argue it’s abusive.

    Just because you don’t think leaving a dog in extreme discomfort until it relieves itself it its carrier is abusive doesn’t mean it isn’t, and it most certainly doesn’t mean that people who think it is are “just dumb.” Frankly, it’s pretty “dumb” to suggest that an animal forcibly contained in its own filth isn’t abusive, when that’s one of the most obvious signs of neglect. (Otherwise known as animal abuse.) It doesn’t matter if the dog was put into distress regularly or just when it was convenient for Mitt.

  15. t87

    “Leaving a dog confined for so long that it shits its immediate area in desperation isn’t just “thoughtless,”

    Again – this assumes that the cause of the flying shit was that the dog was confined for hours and hours. Does anyone know how long the dog was up there and whether or not he got a potty break beforehand? I haven’t seen that information anywhere.

    And, since were are really addressing the important issues and getting to the bottom of the dog poo issue – the original story said that the dog had been up there “for hours”. Does that mean 2 hours, 3 hours, 6 hours? After I take my dogs out in the morning, they manage not to poop again for about 24 hours. Until the next morning. Some friends of mine have a dog that poops twice a day. So do you know whether the Romney dog was a once a day pooper or a twice a day pooper? Have any idea? I mean, if the dog was a once a day pooper, do you think it is cruel to not give it a chance to poop every 2 hours? Every 6 hours? I mean if you have an idea that this story indicates that Romney is an animal-abusing psychopath, I would think you would have some opinions on this that are pretty firm.

    And speaking if firm, that is one thing that the poop was not. The story said that poop started to run down the back window of the car. That, to me, would indicate a dog that has the shits. That can happen no matter what. Like I said, I’ve had a dog shit all over the back (inside) of my car twice because it was sick. So if Romney’s dog was sick, it wouldn’t have mattered if he stopped every 20 minutes, when the dog starts to barf or shit – it’s going to happen.

    Just because you don’t think leaving a dog in extreme discomfort until it relieves itself

    And you know the dog was in “extreme discomfort” because of what, exactly? Seriously, have you ever had a dog?

    Frankly, it’s pretty “dumb” to suggest that an animal forcibly contained in its own filth isn’t abusive,

    Again you are just stringing words together that have no relation to reality. When the dogs flying shit became apparent, they pulled over and cleaned the car. I am just assuming that they also cleaned off the dog and the carrier if for no reason other than the fact that they wouldn’t want shit to continue to dribble down onto the car. Do you have anything that substantiates your assertion that they left the dog in the carrier “contained in its own filth”? Anything at all other than your animus towards Romney?

  16. In case you’re not aware of it, the Freepers are countering the Romney dog story with the following photos of John Edwards that appeared in Men’s Vogue:

    The implications are 1) Edwards transports his dog in the bed of his pick-up without a carrier; and 2) Edwards is speeding around with the kids without making them buckle up.

  17. A vote for PETA is also a vote for animal abuse.

  18. t87, are you fucking kidding me? Do you think it is safe to transport a dog on the roof of your car or the back of your pickup?

    It is not. You are putting the dog in serious danger of death or severe injury. Even if the dog “doesn’t mind.”

  19. Would you transport a child on the roof of your car?

  20. bjalder26

    Wow, Dems must be scared and desperate.

  21. K

    Yeah this is pathetic. Why don’t you clowns talk about something important rather than this petty attempt at discrediting a decent human being trying to become President.

  22. Anne

    And, anytime a politician can frame the argument as “me and my beloved golden retriever” against that PETA whackjob Ingrid Newkirk, the politician wins.

    Yes, because obviously it’s so hard for politicians to run afoul of PETA’s assholery that they deserve a big fucking gold star when they do. (And I’m a vegetarian, BTW…) If pissing PETA off were the gold standard for getting elected to public office, every politician would be doing it. (And there are plenty of ways to piss PETA off without abusing animals, such as suggesting that women, Jews or the homeless are human.) If every politician were as unimaginative as Mitt Romney, they, too, could frame almost every argument ever as them vs. PETA. But when one of your main reasons why people should vote for you is “Whooooo!!!! PETA doesn’t like me!!!! Whooooo!!!! Vote for MEEEE!!!” then you know you’re a pathetic, incompetent idiot who has nothing else going for you.

    I also don’t buy the whole “Uh, duh, he went up there HIMSELF!!! He liked it up there!” Yeah, well, I know a lot of kids who like to climb onto the top of cars, and I’ve known a lot of cats and small dogs that like to climb into cars’ exhaust pipes. That doesn’t mean that would be an appropriate way to transport them across several state lines. I mean, really, what would have been so difficult about just letting the dog travel in the car, like normal families do, or having him stay with family friends if he wasn’t well-trained enough for a road trip? The thing that gets me is that he doesn’t even have a good excuse for doing it — just, “uh, duh, I don’t wanna make a lot of stops!” (Although perhaps he was afraid that if he made a lot of stops, he might encounter commoners.)

  23. t87

    t87, are you fucking kidding me? Do you think it is safe to transport a dog on the roof of your car or the back of your pickup?

    Try reading what I wrote instead of imagining posts that make you angry.

    If pissing PETA off were the gold standard for getting elected to public office, every politician would be doing it.

    Actually, for a republican during the primary, getting slammed by PETA is almost as good as getting slammed by the ACLU.

    I also don’t buy the whole “Uh, duh, he went up there HIMSELF!!! He liked it up there!” Yeah, well, I know a lot of kids who like to climb onto the top of cars, and I’ve known a lot of cats and small dogs that like to climb into cars’ exhaust pipes.

    One poster asked me how I knew that my dog liked to ride in the back of pickup (in carriers, by the way, as I have posted 3 times now. I described how eager my dog was to get into the carrier to explain how I knew he enjoyed it.

    You jump from there to erect the strawman that just because dogs like it doesn’t mean its safe. I never said it was safe because the dog liked it. It is safe because the dog is in a secure container strapped down in the bed of a pickup – which is actually safer than it would be outside of a container in the inside of car.

    The safest place for a dog is in a harness in a seatbelt in the center of the backseat – away from side or front airbags. I assume that is the way you always transport your dog, right? And it is torture to do otherwise?

    Second safest place is in a carrier secured in the center of the rear seat. Third safest place would be in a carrier secured in the bed (below the siderails) of a pickup. Fourth safest is unsecured inside a vehicle – the way that almost everyone transports their dogs.)

  24. Melissa McEwan

    Seriously, have you ever had a dog?

    Yes.

    The safest place for a dog is in a harness in a seatbelt in the center of the backseat – away from side or front airbags. I assume that is the way you always transport your dog, right?

    That is indeed the way I always transported my dog.

  25. t87 is right about this thing — transporting a dog inside a carrier secured to the bed of a pickup is a pretty safe way to do it. It’s out of the slipstream, and may be safer than the front seat if there’s a passenger-side airbag. Loose in the bed of a pickup is awful, and kills way too many dogs. But t87 isn’t saying that’s how he drives with his dog.

    I personally wouldn’t put my dog in a carrier on top of the car either. It seems like a bad idea. And then there’s the bizarro-world regimentation of how far apart all the stops to pee are. Weird guy, that.

  26. t87

    That is indeed the way I always transported my dog.

    Good for you. Seriously. I wish I had trained my little dog when she was a pup so I could do that with her. But she would not put up with that.

  27. Pingback: William K. Wolfrum » Blog Archive » The Democratic Candidates: An in-depth and mature look at the issues

  28. Pingback: The Democratic Candidates: An in-depth, mature look at real issues at Shakesville

Leave a Reply

