Santorum! the Musical

When I read the headline “Santorum involved in movie project,” I gave myself a moment to let my imagination run wild with ideas. In mere moments, I had envisioned a magical extravaganza replete with the Man-on-Dog Dancers and the Dead Fetus Flame-Eaters, set to the rousing chorus of the Santorum classic, “I Don’t Want the Eye to Come Back“: As the hobbits go up Mount Doom / I can cower at home in my room / The Eye of Mordor is drawn elsewhere / And I am left without a care! / I don’t want the Eye to come back! / I don’t want the Eye to come back!

But it’s just some didactic dud about “three Iranian brothers who take disparate paths in their lives, including one who becomes a terrorist.” Wev.

[H/T Steve.]

21 Comments

Filed under 01_shakespeares_sister

21 responses to “Santorum! the Musical

  1. oddjob

    Sorry Liss, it’s been done already. Mel Brooks beat you to it when he got The Producers on Broadway. 😉

  2. Off topic perhaps, but when Shakesville: The Movie comes out, I want to be the guy who reads the promos.

    “In a world … ”

    Seriously, I do that great.

    –WKW

  3. Angelos

    What, no frothy mix in there anywhere?

  4. Melissa McEwan

    What, no frothy mix in there anywhere?

    That will be left to the audience and critics.

  5. The only thing that would make this better would be if it were then played as a triple-feature with Rent and Avenue Q.

  6. Next up on America’s Got Talent Idols, Man-on-Dog Dancers!

    🙂

  7. This is RIGHTEOUS.

    Brava, Liss. I can’t wait to show it to Robert. (And Angelos, eeeeuuw, where would you put the frothy mix, anyway? Perhaps the concession stands could sell chocolate milkshakes, though…)

  8. katecontinued

    Brilliant! Very good indeed.
    I yalped at this one I saw at Watertiger’s yesterday.

  9. nightshift66

    Liss,
    You have a sick, twisted sense of humor. Way to go! I’m still chuckling about the puppies on a stick. It’s soooooooo wrong, and yet so accurate.

  10. Co-starring George Allen as Macacawitz.

  11. SAP

    That is. So. Very. Wrong. 😀

  12. t87

    . . . no decision has been made on where it will be filmed and whether it could end up giving the Pittsburgh area’s film industry a boost.

    “One of the things I always say about Southwestern Pennsylvania is that we can double for anything as long as it doesn’t require a beach or a desert,”

    Swiss Alps? African Savanna? Praries? Rainforests? Check.

    Someone beat me to the frothy mix comment anyway.

  13. katecontinued

    Sorry, this wasn’t a blogwhore thread. My bad.

  14. Melissa McEwan

    Macacawitz

    LMAO!!!

    In the immortal words of Space Cowboy, “Man oh Manischewitz.”

  15. Melissa McEwan

    Sorry, this wasn’t a blogwhore thread. My bad.

    No apology necessary! Every thread is a blogwhore thread at Shakesville. 😉

  16. t87

    “One of the things I always say about Southwestern Pennsylvania is that we can double for anything as long as it doesn’t require a beach or a desert,”

    Savannah? Tundra? Rainforest? Swiss Alps?

  17. Melissa McEwan

    Savannah? Tundra? Rainforest? Swiss Alps?

    I had the same thought, except mine was: “Surface of the moon?”

  18. it will probably be another great “high concept” piece right up there with “red dawn” and “red scorpion” which were products of right wing producers wanting to clean up hollywood. usually hollywood cleans them out and sends them packing.

  19. Made me laugh!

    (Actually, I have some gay friends who refer to the Eye of Sauron in the LOTR films as “the giant flaming vagina,” so that would put l’il Rick’s anxiety in a whole new light. 😉 )

  20. mustelid

    Thanks for brightening my day!

  21. I love it. Is Hasselhoff willing to star?

Leave a Reply

