I find it very, very easy to be true

Brian at Incertus has a very good reply to a stunningly insulting Newsday article about the work women need to do to keep their man from cheating, especially during these summer months.

I have nothing to add to what Brian said. But I was reminded that, like Melissa, I have a firm belief that being a blogger means always being able to tell your spouse how in love you are:

I Walk the Line

I keep a close watch on this heart of mine
I keep my eyes wide open all the time
I keep the ends out for the tie that binds
Because you’re mine, I walk the line

I find it very, very easy to be true
I find myself alone when each day is through
Yes, I’ll admit that I’m a fool for you
Because you’re mine, I walk the line

As sure as night is dark and day is light
I keep you on my mind both day and night
And happiness I’ve known proves that it’s right
Because you’re mine, I walk the line

You’ve got a way to keep me on your side
You give me cause for love that I can’t hide
For you I know I’d even try to turn the tide
Because you’re mine, I walk the line

I keep a close watch on this heart of mine
I keep my eyes wide open all the time
I keep the ends out for the tie that binds
Because you’re mine, I walk the line


Johnny Cash

I love you, baby.

–WKW

13 Comments

Filed under 07_wolfrum

13 responses to “I find it very, very easy to be true

  1. Random Guy

    Nice song quote. That is our relationship song.

  2. Melissa McEwan

    Right on.

  3. I find myself with a glut of riches today–front paged at both Shakesville and Crooks & Liars. A month ago, a hundred hits was a good day. Today I’ve had nearly eleven times that in 3 hours. I’m a bit overwhelmed.

  4. Note: I do not claim that polyamory is the One True Way of Relationships and that everyone should be poly. I do not believe that monogamous folks are delusional or missing out on anything at all. We clear on that?

    Okay. That said, there are more ways to be true than to be monogamous. The responsible adult thing to do is talk about the rules of the relationship and follow them. For us, it’s fully informed consent all around (including anyone else a potential lover might be involved with), and no fluids with anyone but the two of us. Please don’t think we’re hopping in and out of bed with a different person weekly. We’re tired creaky old broads. I’ve had girlfriends in the past, and we have a friend who shares our bed once in a while.

    Neither of us is particularly inclined to be monogamous, but we’ve come up with our own version of fidelity. It’s pretty easy to be true to that for us too. 🙂

  5. I agree completely, Moira. The key, so far as I can say, is consent and respect, and being willing to adjust if one member of the group gets uncomfortable with the situation. Groups, it seems to me, are very much an all or nothing proposition if they’re going to last. I’ve been in both and liked them–it just so happens I’m monogamous right now and have no desire to change that.

  6. Meowser

    Women are so used to being told that every problem in a relationship is their fault. You cut your hair! You got fat! You didn’t Botox your crow’s-feet! You nagged him to take out the trash! You didn’t shine your sink! Woman, you suck, you suck, you suck!

    Man. We are so collectively brainwashed, we don’t even need men to do it for us, there are plenty of other women holding brickbats over our heads to let us know, in case we ever develop temporary media amnesia, just how awful awful we are and how lucky we are that anyone wants to be with us at all, ever, except for a quick NSA pop if we’re “lucky” enough to be cute enough to be considered prey. Because, you know, other women are competition, not sisters.

    Are there any “men’s magazines” (or newspaper articles that mimic same) that manage to stay in business by reminding guys over and over again how unattractive and stupid they are and that no woman will ever want them unless they “perfect” themselves?

  7. Pingback: Insulting to Men and Women Alike at Shakesville

  8. Are there any “men’s magazines” (or newspaper articles that mimic same) that manage to stay in business by reminding guys over and over again how unattractive and stupid they are and that no woman will ever want them unless they “perfect” themselves?

    No. In fact, if you simply look at the ads in magazines, you’ll see men rewarded for being schlubs while women are constantly being told how wrong they are. There’s a reason June Jordan’s “Poem About My Rights” is one of the poems my female students respond to most strongly (alongside Marge Piercy’s “Barbie Doll”) every semester–it’s the yawp they’ve been wanting to hear all their lives, because they don’t get it in too many other places.

  9. Pingback: Blog of the Moderate Left » Insulting to Men and Women Alike

  10. Would I be a jerk to point out that Johnny Cash actually wrote that song precisely because he was tempted to cheat on his first wife?

    / fan-nerdery

  11. I’ve been in both monogamous and non-monogamous relationships. I’m monogamous with my beloved for many reasons — and non of them relate to any judgment on either choice.

    That said, the key to success in both arrangements has been, for me, honesty and truthfulness — which resonates for me very much in the title of this post “very, very easy to be true” — without honest/truthful, I think that there is no real relationship.

  12. I’ll second PortlyDyke. I’ve been in a polyamorous relationship, a monogomous relationship, and several monogomous relationships in which I was cheated upon. The worst thing about the cheating was that it was deceit. It was a lie that broke the trust of the relationship and showed disrespect for me, my time and my feelings. I didn’t feel that way about the polyamorous relationship because we were completely honest and open about everything that happened. We even kicked people out if they weren’t open and honest!

  13. Pingback: Daily Round-Up at Shakesville

Leave a Reply

