He’s a Uniter

I just received an email from my girlfriend, M. It contained a link to this article, about Bush vetoing (again) the extremely popular legislation that would expand federally funded embryonic stem cell research, and this message: “I wonder how my Dad continues to justify defending Bush in his mind, when his beloved wife is relying on stem cell research for her life, right now. I would love to ask him. But he’s not speaking to me anymore.”

“I’m a uniter, not a divider.” — George W. Bush, endlessly, campaign trail, 2000.

8 Comments

Filed under 01_shakespeares_sister

8 responses to “He’s a Uniter

  1. This is the same guy who allowed the ‘Patient’s Bill of Rights’ legislation to become law without his signature (in Texas, the Governor can veto or sign a law that comes to him from the Lege, or he can just sit on it and let it become law by default), then later claimed it as one of his legislative triumphs. And then there was this excerpt from an interview with Tucker Carlson.

    In the weeks before the execution, Bush says, a number of protesters came to Austin to demand clemency for Karla Faye Tucker. “Did you meet with any of them?” I ask. Bush whips around and stares at me. “No, I didn’t meet with any of them”, he snaps, as though I’ve just asked the dumbest, most offensive question ever posed. “I didn’t meet with Larry King either when he came down for it. I watched his interview with Tucker, though. He asked her real difficult questions like, ‘What would you say to Governor Bush?'” “What was her answer?” I wonder. “‘Please,'” Bush whimpers, his lips pursed in mock desperation, “‘don’t kill me.'” I must look shocked — ridiculing the pleas of a condemned prisoner who has since been executed seems odd and cruel — because he immediately stops smirking.

    This is compassionate conservatism, apparently.

  2. Jeff

    He’s a uniter alright…..currently, seven in ten Americans are united behind the idea that George Bush is taking the country in the wrong direction….and it’s been a LOOOOONG time since seven out of ten Americans could agree on ANYTHING.

    Thanks, (p)resident bush!

  3. i am beyond disgust with this motherfucker. (trying to keep your NC-17 rating going ‘liss) all i want is for him to be gone. this shit makes me nuts because my mother has parkinson’s and this shit head spouts his bullshit morality and is wasting time when every single fucking responsible scientist in the goddamn field has said “embryonic stem cells show the greatest promise for treatment and cure.” to prop up his twisted sense of moral authority this cocksucker is willing to condemn my mother.

    stinking simpering bastard son of a bitch.

  4. Pingback: Umbumumbilical Cords and Spina Bifidada at Shakesville

  5. There’s one thing embryonic stem-cell research has no hope of treating: malignant ignorance.

  6. There’s one thing embryonic stem-cell research has no hope of treating: malignant ignorance.

    And I forgot Cranial Rectitus.

  7. ah my other MB friend, i think the malady you are thinking of is

    craniosphincteritus

    severe head uphisass

  8. NMRon

    Republicans; the Grim Reaper in a Brooks Brothers suit.

Leave a Reply

