Interview with the Golfchick

Working at a golf Web site, I get to meet quite a few golfers. Of course, Tiger Woods isn’t knocking down my door, but instead I get to meet great people from all around the nation, with different agendas and abilities who all share a common bond – they love golf, both to play, and the game itself.

As the nation’s top tournament – the U.S. Open – grinds to a close, I thought I’d introduce you to one of the golfers it has been my pleasure to meet over the years.

Kristen Williams is the Golfchick behind golfchick.blogspot.com, and this month celebrates her second anniversary of blogging about her favorite hobby. She has been hitting the links for almost three years now, and her readers have not only gotten to see how her game has developed, but also golf course reviews, equipment reviews, her thoughts on the pro game, and pretty much everything else in the golf galaxy.

Williams, who also pens a monthly column at WorldGolf.com, aside from her daily work as a consultant, was kind enough to answer a few questions about her love affair with golf, and the positives golf can bring both women and men

Kristen Williams Q&A

Q: What got you started golfing?

Kristen Williams:Desire. And my boyfriend, Greg. I had been wanting to try it for some time so when I started dating a golfer I got him to get me out there. I became hooked immediately – on golf … and Greg’s still around, too.
Kristen Williams
What got you started blogging?

Kristen Williams: My friend, Rich. We had been friends even before I started golfing and once I had that passion we had even more to share. He told me about his blog, Eat Golf, and encouraged me to start one because there was a lack of female perspective in the golf blogosphere. At the time, Jennifer Mario at Travelgolf.com was really the only active female voice out there. Lately there have been a bunch of female golf bloggers popping up so now we have a lot more company.

What are things that keep women from golfing?

Kristen Williams:Probably the biggest thing that keeps them from starting is intimidation. I think more women would play if they had someone to show them the ropes like I did. There are so many rules and a lot of etiquette to learn and you don’t want to go out there and fumble around. It’s still a male dominated game and you don’t want to give the old fuddy duddies a reason to perpetuate their warped perception that women are slow and stupid players. I know some women also fear that they’ll be embarrassed because they won’t be any good. Remember, everyone was a beginner at some point and we all know how it felt. Golfers are actually pretty patient and understanding people. Besides, most people never get very good so beginners become average in no time!

Then there are some women who probably try golf and then quit because of the primacy of men in the game. The industry is coming around and starting to recognize our buying power but we’re still shamefully undeserved. The attitudes of the old guard can also be bothersome and perhaps even dissuade women from staying in the game – which is a shame because I think that’s their problem, not ours.

What’s the best day you’ve had on the golf course?

Kristen Williams: Boy, that’s a tough one. Like they say, even a bad day on a golf course is a good day. But I can share some highlights. After I won the club championship, I went on to represent the club in the Southern California Tournament of Club Champions. That would have been a great day regardless of the outcome because it was my first SCGA event and it was kind of intoxicating. Then I tied for first place in my flight and took home the trophy and was walking on air. I also had two holes-in-one on back to back weekends after only playing golf for about six months.

Those two moments are etched in my memory for sure.

What positives can women get from taking a shot at golf?

Kristen Williams: The only positive I think might apply to women and not (all) men is that all the other positives apply to both genders – golf is the great equalizer. As for all the other positives – where do I start?

  • Golf is such a mental game it can really sharpen your mind. It will challenge you as much as you let it. You will never master it so you can spend your golf “career” constantly trying to improve or just enjoy how you play and see improvement as a bonus.
  • It’s a great way to spend hours outside on an enjoyable activity. Even if you ride in a cart, you’re still getting some good exercise.
  • Quality time sharing a hobby or passion with friends, a significant other or even meeting new people.
  • Speaking of connections, it can be great for business as well.
  • Social and charitable opportunities are out there, too, with leagues and tournaments in which you can participate.
  • Each and every well-struck ball gives you a sense of accomplishment.
  • All those conversations about golf you hear will no longer seem endless and annoying – because you’ll be participating in them.
  • Oh, the courses you’ll play! You’ll see some real beauty out there.
  • If you’re competitive, you can get involved in clubs to satisfy that need or just compete with yourself for a personal best.
  • Oh, and it can be a whole new fashion outlet – golf clothes aren’t what they used to be.
  • I would encourage ALL women (and men, for that matter) to play golf. Before I started playing I thought golf looked slow and boring and like a waste of time. How wrong I was!

    If women are reading this wondering about how they can get started, they don’t have to find a men’s club to turn co-ed like I did. And existing co-ed clubs can be difficult to find. When I started, there weren’t any women’s leagues too near my home. Plus, I wanted to play with people I knew and I didn’t know any women who played at the time. They just started a new women’s league near me that I will probably join and a new EWGA chapter for my county is organizing. EWGA (Executive Women’s Golf Association) is a great way for women to get involved in golf whether they’re starting with a friend or on their own. They have chapters all around the United States and are a great place to learn the game in a non-threatening environment. It’s also a fun social and networking outlet. If you travel, you can even play with the local chapter wherever you go. Please play golf!

    Take a look at Kristen’s blog by clicking here, or click here to see her latest WorldGolf.com column.

    –WKW

    9 Comments

    Filed under 07_wolfrum

    9 responses to “Interview with the Golfchick

    1. Melissa McEwan

      Really cool, Wolfie. Thanks for posting!

      golf is the great equalizer

      Yes, unless and until one develops enormous boobs at 16. Then, even if one’s dad is the golf coach and even if one does truly enjoy golfing, one might decide to play tennis instead. Heh.

    2. Pingback: My Golf Directory » Blog Archive » Mini Golf - Golf: Cabrera wins US Open (Channel NewsAsia)

    3. Pingback: My Golf Directory » Blog Archive » Free Golf Game - Golf: Spirit of Cabrera conjures epic final round to claim the title (Guardian Unlimited)

    4. Pingback: Should the entire US Open field be disqualified? | golf

    5. Pingback: My Golf Directory » Blog Archive » Golf Course Phoenix - Golf Swing - 6-17-2007

    6. Pingback: The Golfchick » Golfchick sighting on Shakesville

    7. Hey Melissa,

      I never did have a problem with enormous boobs! 🙂 Naturally, I often overlook that angle (literally and figuratively – or literally figurative?).

      Love your site.

      Kristen

    8. Pingback: The Golfchick: Golfchick sighting on Shakesville

    9. Steve, We are using Magic Members for one of our sites and we send out aut-presoonse emails for subscribers. But for some reason, Gmail addresses will not get delivered. They are not hitting the Spam folder or anything, it is not even getting that far. Any suggestions? Just starting the process with support.

    Leave a Reply

    