Never blog where you eat

In retrospect, the newly-unemployed projectionist-slash-film reviewer will realize that his dismissal was always just one pan away, no matter how benignly copacetic his employer seemed to be. One wonders how many blogger-slash-citizen journalist types will have to be terminated for having an opinion before that lesson sinks in.

Even so, it’s not at all credible that Fox didn’t demand that the theater company fire this guy forth-slash-with.

Anybody here in constant danger of blog-related termination? (Redact names, please.)

(Cross-posted from a place of fairly tenuous employment.)

7 Comments

Filed under 02_waveflux

7 responses to “Never blog where you eat

  1. JoshWatermanMN

    Nice entry. One nitpick, however–it wasn’t so much that he was blogged about the movie and panned it that got him fired, from what I understand, but rather that he did so before the movie was properly released. I know I could lose my job if I were to release information before the higher-ups intended it to be released.

  2. Did it really take this guy panning the flick to know it was going to blow? I mean, the first Fantastic 4 film was utter crap–why should the sequel suddenly get any better?

  3. I mean, the first Fantastic 4 film was utter crap–why should the sequel suddenly get any better?

    I kinda liked it. But I’ve never read the comic books, and I’m shallow enough to admit that having Jessica Alba in a movie automatically makes it watchable for me.

  4. Josh: Yes, the embargo. I whiffed on that entirely – and thanks – but am unsure how much weight to give it. It’s not as though this film hasn’t already been reviewed elsewhere. Perhaps the embargo only applied to him as a theater employee? Maybe, but it sounds weird.

    Along those lines, I wonder how many of his previous pieces, reviews that didn’t get him fired, were written before the release of the film in question? I’d have to check.

    My initial thought is that the embargo is a bit of a cover story.

  5. JoshWatermanMN

    Hey Waveflux

    Other people have reviewed the movie, and I am not sure how this works, but I am sure the studio sends out advance copies to certain media outlets for that purpose. Since he was not one of those “certain media outlets,” he was slapped and slapped hard. Personally, I think it is harsh, given the likely impact–people are going to see this movie, just because of the “brand name” attached to it. (I am certain that the movie will fall below my already lowered expectations, just like the first one had, but I am sure like the first one it will be fun for a popcorn movie, which is why I will see it)

    My company has rules against people blogging against the company, even on their own time. I think that is harsh as well, but on the flipside, if you hate a company so much, you probably should look for another job.

  6. if you hate a company so much, you probably should look for another job.

    Or you better cover your tracks so they don’t know who you are.

  7. Melissa McEwan

    My initial thought is that the embargo is a bit of a cover story.

    Me, too. And if he’d given it a good review, believe me, they wouldn’t have cared.

Leave a Reply

