Thank you, Mr. Wizard

In a world where fraudulent hucksters like Kevin Trudeau and Sylvia Browne capture people’s imaginations and dollars with ridiculous and dangerous pseudoscience, and while many U.S. politicians outright deny science, it’s with a heavy heart we say good bye to Don Herbert.

Thank you, Mr. Wizard, for helping so many youngsters understand science and reality. You will be missed.

TV’s ‘Mr. Wizard’ Don Herbert dies at 89

Don Herbert, who as television’s “Mr. Wizard” introduced generations of young viewers to the joys of science, died Tuesday. He was 89. Herbert, who had bone cancer, died at his suburban Bell Canyon home, said his son-in-law, Tom Nikosey.

“He really taught kids how to use the thinking skills of a scientist,” said former colleague Steve Jacobs. He worked with Herbert on a 1980s show that echoed the original 1950s “Watch Mr. Wizard” series, which became a fond baby boomer memory.

–WKW

Crossposted at Williamkwolfrum.com

15 Comments

Filed under 07_wolfrum

15 responses to “Thank you, Mr. Wizard

  1. I grew up with Mr. Wizard. Today is a sad day–he will be missed by thousands of Gen Xers.

    Bill Nye the Science Guy comes in at a close second, but Mr. Wizard was the bomb Diggity. his show came on at 6:30pm everyday, right before You Can’t Do That on Television. *sigh*

    I miss childhood.

  2. I am going to mix vinegar and baking soda in his honor!

  3. Buffalo Gal

    In the days when my beloved science fiction had nary a girl protagonist in sight it made a great impression on me that Mr. Wizard had actual GIRLS participating on his show.

    That and the encouragement of some of my post-Sputnik teachers made me realize I could aspire to a career in science – not an easy thing for a girl back then.

    It was a thrill to be able to thank him a decade ago at a science conference. A terrific man.

  4. D. Edward Sauve

    And swallow an apple standing on my head.

  5. I went to camp out west with his son, who had his father’s exuberance, along with the adolescent love of telling dirty jokes and songs. I met Mr. Wizard when he came to the close of camp and he was a riot, making jokes about the energy generated by a single pile of horseshit.

  6. Jaclyn

    This is so sad. It makes me want to smash frozen bananas with a hammer.

  7. My childhood! It was bad enough when we lost Mr. Rogers! ;-;

  8. amish451

    Mr. Wizard
    Gen-X indeed …I recall watching early Sunday mornings, 195X something, the program always seemed to be kind of an extended commercial for General Electric Co. but it was the best TV around ….

  9. Melissa McEwan

    Thank you, Mr. Wizard, for helping so many youngsters understand science and reality. You will be missed.

    That says it all.

  10. Pingback: Jon Swift: God Takes Mr. Wizard: No Scientific Explanation Needed

  11. RIP Mr Wizard! He opened my eyes to science at a very early age, and inspired a life-time of curiosity. A giant has passed.

  12. Though I never saw any of his programs, I was certainly aware of Mr Wizard’s impact. He was one of the good guys.

  13. AZrider

    Thank you Mr. Wizard for inspiring young kids like me in the 50s and 60s with intelligence. Don Herbert had an influence on my life, and I doubt I’d be in technology today if I hadn’t gotten the clues for him that science was fun and could even be popular.

  14. This news made me sad. đŸ˜¦ I watched his 80s show religiously and I have no doubt that my scientific curiosity was fueled into its undying state by him.

    *sigh*

  15. car

    I was able to commune with another scientist easily 40 years older than me over Mr. Wizard – he had watched it growing up the first time ’round, I had watched the revival on Nick. It is not exaggeration to say that he inspired generations. You made the world a better place, Don Herbert.

Leave a Reply

