How much does Air America suck?

This much:

I’m listening now to Air America’s “replacement” for Sam Seder – a mostly odious personality named Lionel – interviewing the bigoted Bill Donohue and I want to vomit.

…They’re taking calls now, and my only hope is that things improve. The first caller just called Donohue a “professional whiner”. Donohue just repeated his claim that he doesn’t ask for people to be fired. BULL SHIT. Do Lionel’s producers not have Google? I found those links in two fucking seconds. What’s Lionel’s excuse? Donohue just also made flatly homophobic and racist statements. And Lionel? Nothing but a shameless defense for his bigoted guest. This is, I can honestly say, Air America’s worst day.

I’ve long been unimpressed with Air America generally anyway, but this really does sound like new depths have been plumbed.

I mean, seriously:

That’s a totally typical press release issued by Bill Donohue, but Air America’s letting him spew uncontested his tired horseshit that he doesn’t call for people to be fired?! Yeah, when they’re conservative Catholic men who have had an “inappropriate sexual relationship” with an 18-year-old maybe. But when they’re feminist women, all bets are off.

Jebus, Air America. Just go away already.

28 Comments

Filed under 01_shakespeares_sister

28 responses to “How much does Air America suck?

  1. Funny, I was just going to do a post about how I hate Air America’s replacement for Seder and how it made me search the available streams for a replacement. Thankfully, I found Stephanie Miller out of DC and life is good again.

  2. I dumped Air America when they dumped Sam. I listen to his show on Sundays and that’s it.
    The new owners are as awful as the old owners.

  3. Oh, and fuck Bill Donohue. An ass among asses.

  4. Thorn

    Donohue just repeated his claim that he doesn’t ask for people to be fired.

    Silly you – that’s completely true! Everyone knows women aren’t people!

    I cannot believe Air America is even giving such a hateful shitstain air time. That’s disgusting.

  5. Arkades

    I wanna see a Donohue-vs.-Donohue debate… Phil vs. Bill.

  6. Count me as one of those who really doesn’t see the benefit of having a so-called liberal alternative to conservative media programming. Being liberal, IMO, means valuing truth and empirical facts along with commitments to the dignity of each human being. It’s not just trying to be edgy or controversial, or even just cheerleading the Democratic party while making up lies about the GOP and conservatives.

    That’s why I’ve never listened one minute to Air America, even though Sam Seder was pretty good, I guess. I don’t want to have anything to do with something that explicitly takes Rush Limbaugh and Michael Savage as its role models.

    And Donohue manages to stand out as a remarkably vile character in a field of experts.

  7. Erin M

    I guess Air America the radio is taking after Air America the movie:

    The Few. The Proud. The Totally Insane.

  8. Allie

    I’ve never really listened to it (talk radio makes me cranky – even when I agree with the talker… I need music damn it) but I was so hopeful when it launched. I thought – “Al Franken & Janine Garafalo, that’d be pretty cool.” I’ve been saddened to hear they’re not living up to it.

  9. The only program I can listen to on Air America is Randi Rhodes; she’s live during PM drivetime (3-6) in Miami and then repeated the following early morning. She’s a hoot, but other than her, who’s worth listening to?

  10. SAP

    I haven’t listened to AA since they broke up the Unfiltered crew. Every once in a great while, though, I get the urge to listen in and see who’s still hanging out there.

    Thanks for killing that impulse once and for all, Liss. Any show (and by extension, any network) that would give Bill Donahue an unchallenged forum to spew his special brand of wankery deserves nothing but everlasting scorn.

  11. stekatz

    ” I don’t want to have anything to do with something that explicitly takes Rush Limbaugh and Michael Savage as its role models.”

    Word.

    Because Air America did just exactly that. They seemed to miss the point that what is so distasteful about talk radio isn’t just the crap that the Rush Limbaugh’s of the world spew but also the way it gets spewed.

  12. The good thing that Air America did was make programmers realize that progressive talk can work in terms of ratings. their business plan has been a clusterfuck from day one, but it proved that good radio people can do a show and pull an audience. But they don’t have the best talent in good spots anymore. They’ve screwed Seder and messed Maddow around tons, and they were the best things going on that network.

    Fortunately, our local progressive talk station plays Stephanie Miller in the mornings. We’ve got Big Ed in the middle of the day, which is better than Lionel (though that’s faint praise).

  13. Lionel really should have been ready for Donahue to make a claim like that, because Donahue usually tries to look reasonable in his interviews.

    I stopped listening to Air America a while ago. There were a few bright lights on the daily schedule surrounded by long periods of dull. I’m not really sold on talk radio anyway. I much prefer my classical music NPR station.

  14. They seemed to miss the point that what is so distasteful about talk radio isn’t just the crap that the Rush Limbaugh’s of the world spew but also the way it gets spewed.

    I disagree. Tone matters, to be sure, but Air America (at least when it began) didn’t demagogue the way the Savages and Limbaughs do. The closest any of them came was Mike Malloy, and he hardly had a primo spot on the air.

  15. Jay in Oregon

    other than [Randi Rhodes], who’s worth listening to?

    I lost patience with Randi Rhodes after the ’04 election. She comes across as shrill anymore, and she seems to spend most of her time hammering the same points home, over and over again.

    I discovered Rachel Maddow one night when I was working late, and am thrilled that she moved to prime time (even though she took over Sam Seder’s spot). She’s funny, and smart.

    I really like Thom Hartmann. He’s smart, well-informed, and provokes stimulating discussions with his guests, even the conservative ones. (Of course, he’s also a local boy; we also get him on a morning show on KPOJ, the local Air America affiliate.)

    With all this being said, I think Air America will ultimately fail if they end up mimicking the conservative talkers in style and content. I want a show where they discuss the facts, are well-informed, and are capable of challenging their guests. For Lionel (who?) to let Bill Donohue rant unchallenged is a distressing sign as to the future of the network.

  16. eastsidekate

    Whoa, whoa, whoa…. It’s one thing not to call Bill Donahue on his bullshit, but it’s another to invite him on the air in the first place. I’ve never listened to AA, and now I have another reason not to.

    Hey, I love the first amendment, but isn’t there some sort of FCC regulation to use our limited radio frequencies for the public interest? If you’re going to have a reasoned political discussion, try inviting someone with either:
    1) A thoughtful position
    -and/or-
    2) Influence

    Donahue doesn’t have 1), and I suspect that his influence is largely a byproduct of repeated invitations to appear in the media, which build his credibility. Take away the interviews, and he looks about as influential as Fred Phelps or your average militia-man.

    I’m not saying cultural conservatives shouldn’t have a voice, I’m merely suggesting that media outlets should try to find articulate spokespeople. And as much as I detest their policies, such people do exist. Was Ralph Reed out of town?

  17. That’s the point I meant to make and forgot while I was typing. There’s no way Bill Donahue ought to get five seconds of airtime on a progressive show–he’s the antithesis of progressive.

    Now if you want to mock him mercilessly….

  18. Sam Hensel

    What angers me the most is how the media recognizes this clown as a voice for mainstream Catholics, while he’s really a nutcase using a particular Christian denomination that has been distrusted as a political weapon to derail liberal women, Jews and gays.

  19. Evil Bender

    Air America is pretty damn crappy. Between their lack of substance, and their general refusal to engage in genuine progressive debate, I too have had enough. Too many of their hosts are just shockjocks who claim to be leftists.

    But then they “make their points” by doing things like “insulting” Ann Coulter by calling her a “tranny.” That’s class. And it’s why U don’t listen.

  20. Karla

    If anyone involved with Air America on WVAX is following this thread, could you please stop having dead air where commercials should be and then playing the commercials over Rachel Maddow? Is it really that hard?

  21. Susan

    I lost patience with Randi Rhodes after the ‘04 election. She comes across as shrill anymore, and she seems to spend most of her time hammering the same points home, over and over again.

    I discovered Rachel Maddow one night when I was working late, and am thrilled that she moved to prime time (even though she took over Sam Seder’s spot). She’s funny, and smart.

    Absolutely agree, Jay, . I can’t listen to Randi anymore for those very reasons. I have a suspicion that she’s taped shows and replayed them again with no acknowledgement that they’re “re-broadcasts.”

    Rachel Maddow is the best thing going for Air America.

  22. I have never listened to Air America. Right out of the gate I knew it was probably too far to the right for my tastes.

  23. Jovan1984

    I have started coming up with a list of the most evil, vile people. Bigot Donohue ranks in the Top 5 on my list. As far as Air America goes, I am now not gonna listen to it when I’m in Columbia or Charleston! Not until they get rid of snake in the grass that is Donohue! If not, then I hope that Maddow, Randi Rhodes, and Flanders all go somewhere more worthy. I hope that someone wrecks his life and his career!!! I hope someone takes Dickhead Donohue down for the count!!! He is a piece of shit!!! The Catholfascist League needs to have their tax-exempt status immediately revoked!!! This is the last straw!!! Shame on you Air America!!! 😡

  24. Pingback: Hughes for America: More on Air America's sad day

  25. Pingback: Daily Kos: Air America's saddest day

  26. blusilva

    I tried listening to AA the first day. When Randi Rhodes started screaming like a harpy at Ralph Nader, I knew damn good and well that they (a) weren’t “progressive” and (b) didn’t want “my type” listening to them.

    I’ll stick with Pacifica radio, thank you very much.

  27. Pingback: Air America's saddest day

  28. Pingback: Read-Ems at Shakesville

Leave a Reply

How much does Air America suck?

This much:

I’m listening now to Air America’s “replacement” for Sam Seder – a mostly odious personality named Lionel – interviewing the bigoted Bill Donohue and I want to vomit.

…They’re taking calls now, and my only hope is that things improve. The first caller just called Donohue a “professional whiner”. Donohue just repeated his claim that he doesn’t ask for people to be fired. BULL SHIT. Do Lionel’s producers not have Google? I found those links in two fucking seconds. What’s Lionel’s excuse? Donohue just also made flatly homophobic and racist statements. And Lionel? Nothing but a shameless defense for his bigoted guest. This is, I can honestly say, Air America’s worst day.

I’ve long been unimpressed with Air America generally anyway, but this really does sound like new depths have been plumbed.

(more…)

28 Comments

Filed under 01_shakespeares_sister

28 responses to “How much does Air America suck?

  1. Funny, I was just going to do a post about how I hate Air America’s replacement for Seder and how it made me search the available streams for a replacement. Thankfully, I found Stephanie Miller out of DC and life is good again.

  2. I dumped Air America when they dumped Sam. I listen to his show on Sundays and that’s it.
    The new owners are as awful as the old owners.

  3. Oh, and fuck Bill Donohue. An ass among asses.

  4. Thorn

    Donohue just repeated his claim that he doesn’t ask for people to be fired.

    Silly you – that’s completely true! Everyone knows women aren’t people!

    I cannot believe Air America is even giving such a hateful shitstain air time. That’s disgusting.

  5. Arkades

    I wanna see a Donohue-vs.-Donohue debate… Phil vs. Bill.

  6. Count me as one of those who really doesn’t see the benefit of having a so-called liberal alternative to conservative media programming. Being liberal, IMO, means valuing truth and empirical facts along with commitments to the dignity of each human being. It’s not just trying to be edgy or controversial, or even just cheerleading the Democratic party while making up lies about the GOP and conservatives.

    That’s why I’ve never listened one minute to Air America, even though Sam Seder was pretty good, I guess. I don’t want to have anything to do with something that explicitly takes Rush Limbaugh and Michael Savage as its role models.

    And Donohue manages to stand out as a remarkably vile character in a field of experts.

  7. Erin M

    I guess Air America the radio is taking after Air America the movie:

    The Few. The Proud. The Totally Insane.

  8. Allie

    I’ve never really listened to it (talk radio makes me cranky – even when I agree with the talker… I need music damn it) but I was so hopeful when it launched. I thought – “Al Franken & Janine Garafalo, that’d be pretty cool.” I’ve been saddened to hear they’re not living up to it.

  9. The only program I can listen to on Air America is Randi Rhodes; she’s live during PM drivetime (3-6) in Miami and then repeated the following early morning. She’s a hoot, but other than her, who’s worth listening to?

  10. SAP

    I haven’t listened to AA since they broke up the Unfiltered crew. Every once in a great while, though, I get the urge to listen in and see who’s still hanging out there.

    Thanks for killing that impulse once and for all, Liss. Any show (and by extension, any network) that would give Bill Donahue an unchallenged forum to spew his special brand of wankery deserves nothing but everlasting scorn.

  11. stekatz

    ” I don’t want to have anything to do with something that explicitly takes Rush Limbaugh and Michael Savage as its role models.”

    Word.

    Because Air America did just exactly that. They seemed to miss the point that what is so distasteful about talk radio isn’t just the crap that the Rush Limbaugh’s of the world spew but also the way it gets spewed.

  12. The good thing that Air America did was make programmers realize that progressive talk can work in terms of ratings. their business plan has been a clusterfuck from day one, but it proved that good radio people can do a show and pull an audience. But they don’t have the best talent in good spots anymore. They’ve screwed Seder and messed Maddow around tons, and they were the best things going on that network.

    Fortunately, our local progressive talk station plays Stephanie Miller in the mornings. We’ve got Big Ed in the middle of the day, which is better than Lionel (though that’s faint praise).

  13. Lionel really should have been ready for Donahue to make a claim like that, because Donahue usually tries to look reasonable in his interviews.

    I stopped listening to Air America a while ago. There were a few bright lights on the daily schedule surrounded by long periods of dull. I’m not really sold on talk radio anyway. I much prefer my classical music NPR station.

  14. They seemed to miss the point that what is so distasteful about talk radio isn’t just the crap that the Rush Limbaugh’s of the world spew but also the way it gets spewed.

    I disagree. Tone matters, to be sure, but Air America (at least when it began) didn’t demagogue the way the Savages and Limbaughs do. The closest any of them came was Mike Malloy, and he hardly had a primo spot on the air.

  15. Jay in Oregon

    other than [Randi Rhodes], who’s worth listening to?

    I lost patience with Randi Rhodes after the ’04 election. She comes across as shrill anymore, and she seems to spend most of her time hammering the same points home, over and over again.

    I discovered Rachel Maddow one night when I was working late, and am thrilled that she moved to prime time (even though she took over Sam Seder’s spot). She’s funny, and smart.

    I really like Thom Hartmann. He’s smart, well-informed, and provokes stimulating discussions with his guests, even the conservative ones. (Of course, he’s also a local boy; we also get him on a morning show on KPOJ, the local Air America affiliate.)

    With all this being said, I think Air America will ultimately fail if they end up mimicking the conservative talkers in style and content. I want a show where they discuss the facts, are well-informed, and are capable of challenging their guests. For Lionel (who?) to let Bill Donohue rant unchallenged is a distressing sign as to the future of the network.

  16. eastsidekate

    Whoa, whoa, whoa…. It’s one thing not to call Bill Donahue on his bullshit, but it’s another to invite him on the air in the first place. I’ve never listened to AA, and now I have another reason not to.

    Hey, I love the first amendment, but isn’t there some sort of FCC regulation to use our limited radio frequencies for the public interest? If you’re going to have a reasoned political discussion, try inviting someone with either:
    1) A thoughtful position
    -and/or-
    2) Influence

    Donahue doesn’t have 1), and I suspect that his influence is largely a byproduct of repeated invitations to appear in the media, which build his credibility. Take away the interviews, and he looks about as influential as Fred Phelps or your average militia-man.

    I’m not saying cultural conservatives shouldn’t have a voice, I’m merely suggesting that media outlets should try to find articulate spokespeople. And as much as I detest their policies, such people do exist. Was Ralph Reed out of town?

  17. That’s the point I meant to make and forgot while I was typing. There’s no way Bill Donahue ought to get five seconds of airtime on a progressive show–he’s the antithesis of progressive.

    Now if you want to mock him mercilessly….

  18. Sam Hensel

    What angers me the most is how the media recognizes this clown as a voice for mainstream Catholics, while he’s really a nutcase using a particular Christian denomination that has been distrusted as a political weapon to derail liberal women, Jews and gays.

  19. Evil Bender

    Air America is pretty damn crappy. Between their lack of substance, and their general refusal to engage in genuine progressive debate, I too have had enough. Too many of their hosts are just shockjocks who claim to be leftists.

    But then they “make their points” by doing things like “insulting” Ann Coulter by calling her a “tranny.” That’s class. And it’s why U don’t listen.

  20. Karla

    If anyone involved with Air America on WVAX is following this thread, could you please stop having dead air where commercials should be and then playing the commercials over Rachel Maddow? Is it really that hard?

  21. Susan

    I lost patience with Randi Rhodes after the ‘04 election. She comes across as shrill anymore, and she seems to spend most of her time hammering the same points home, over and over again.

    I discovered Rachel Maddow one night when I was working late, and am thrilled that she moved to prime time (even though she took over Sam Seder’s spot). She’s funny, and smart.

    Absolutely agree, Jay, . I can’t listen to Randi anymore for those very reasons. I have a suspicion that she’s taped shows and replayed them again with no acknowledgement that they’re “re-broadcasts.”

    Rachel Maddow is the best thing going for Air America.

  22. I have never listened to Air America. Right out of the gate I knew it was probably too far to the right for my tastes.

  23. Jovan1984

    I have started coming up with a list of the most evil, vile people. Bigot Donohue ranks in the Top 5 on my list. As far as Air America goes, I am now not gonna listen to it when I’m in Columbia or Charleston! Not until they get rid of snake in the grass that is Donohue! If not, then I hope that Maddow, Randi Rhodes, and Flanders all go somewhere more worthy. I hope that someone wrecks his life and his career!!! I hope someone takes Dickhead Donohue down for the count!!! He is a piece of shit!!! The Catholfascist League needs to have their tax-exempt status immediately revoked!!! This is the last straw!!! Shame on you Air America!!! 😡

  24. Pingback: Hughes for America: More on Air America's sad day

  25. Pingback: Daily Kos: Air America's saddest day

  26. blusilva

    I tried listening to AA the first day. When Randi Rhodes started screaming like a harpy at Ralph Nader, I knew damn good and well that they (a) weren’t “progressive” and (b) didn’t want “my type” listening to them.

    I’ll stick with Pacifica radio, thank you very much.

  27. Pingback: Air America's saddest day

  28. Pingback: Read-Ems at Shakesville

Leave a Reply

