Our Media Rulezzz

Atrios: “An enduring mystery is why our very serious mainstream media doesn’t think it’s a big deal when candidates perpetuate the falsehood that inspectors didn’t go to Iraq.”

Indeed. Maybe it’s just because I kept saying over and over and over and over, “Why won’t Bush let the inspectors finish their jobs?” that it’s burned into my fucking brain that there were inspectors in Iraq, but I’m pretty certain a firm insistence on maintaining a truthful narrative has something to do with it, too.

5 Comments

Filed under 01_shakespeares_sister

5 responses to “Our Media Rulezzz

  1. For the candidates to do it makes perfect sense–have to keep the Big Lie intact. But for the press (and Fox News is not a legitimate member) is inexcusable.

  2. Allie

    Amen. I was in West Africa during this time and I kept asking myself the same question over and over. I listened to Mohamed ElBaradei give his reports to the UN Security Council on the BBC.

    The answer? ‘Cause Bush frickin’ wanted to go to war.

  3. Reg DeCurry

    The first outright lie I ever recognized at the time it was being told:

    “He wouldn’t let the inspectors in!”

    This was after we’d heard, for two weeks straight, about what a hero Dubya was for getting the inspectors into Iraq.

  4. Arkades

    It’s because we’ve been conditioned over the last decade or so to expect to be spun, all the time. No one is shocked when public officials lie (or, to be very generous, give a very biased accounting of things) because it’s become expected practice in today’s politics.

    Call it a case of repeatedly living down to ever-lower expectations.

  5. Oh my god. Honestly, this lie might be the one that most makes me scream at the TV. I still remember when Bush said that Hussein had kicked the inspectors out, and virtually no one in the press called him on it. I’m usually pretty optimistic about the potential to improve things, but it dismays me when pointing out an obvious and crucial lie (inaccuracy, if you prefer) is such anathema to the press corps. As Mama Shakes might say, WTP?

Leave a Reply

