No, seriously dudes, I’m NOT running!

First of all, I was sooooo bummed that I missed Al Gore’s book signing at the Borders on State St. in Chicago yesterday. I visit the store all the time on lunch breaks – it’s minutes from my office! But, alas, I could not spare the pre-dawn till 1 p.m. wait that the store full of fans had to endure. I was not surprised to learn, however, that many in the crowd shouted epitaphs at the former VP such as “Run, Al, run!” According to the Chicago Tribune’s Red Eye, Gore repeatedly answered with a firm(?) “I’m not planning to be a candidate again,” and “I appreciate the sentiment. I’m not planning to do it as you know.” Perhaps he was really thinking, “Bitchez – NO MEANS NO!”

Seriously, people, how long are we going to pin our hopes to the guy? Sure, his environmentally conscious assault on pop culture is making great strides, and his take on other issues such as Iraq, has been spot-on from day one. Yes, this current book tour looks a lot like a mini-political campaign. But are we just misreading his actions because we are so desperate for a real Democratic nominee? Let’s admit it – despite some of their sheen and sexy appeal, Clinton, Obama and Edwards leave a LOT to be desired. But instead of repeating the mantra “Gore in ’08,” maybe we ought to sober up and realize that it’s possible that the guy means what he says (an admittedly rare occurence for a politician). Maybe we ought to let him keep following his mission – waking the world up to the environmental dangers we still face. Perhaps we should do a better job in seeing past the flash and star power of the current Democratic contenders and support someone with some substance.

Don’t get me wrong. I LOVE Gore. I would vote for him in a heartbeat above the other choices. And sure, I think there are a lot of great things about Clinton, Obama and Edwards. But overall, I find them underwhelming. The greatest feeling I have right now is fury. Yes, fury. At the stupid American voting public of 2000 who didn’t see what a brilliant person Gore was then. I’d love to know what vote was cast by all these yokels who are so gung ho for Gore now – or did they even vote? 2000 should not have been anywhere close to a tie. It should have been Gore in a landslide. But now the U.S. has buyer’s remorse for falling for Bush’s bullshit – twice! Wake up, douchebags. You snooze, you lose. And perhaps Mr. Gore is grinning to himself just a little bit, despite the heartache of 2000, and thinking “Suckas!” I know I would be. Either way, it’s time to get real and deal with what we’ve got. (boo hoo!)

32 Comments

Filed under 06_mr_furious

32 responses to “No, seriously dudes, I’m NOT running!

  1. I agree!

    Go Barak.

  2. …and by the way, Todd, you are just about the cutest thing.

  3. I remember a similar online swelling toward Gore in 2004, though certainly not as large, and I think it occurs because people just want to believe he’ll get into the race and won’t accept it until the primaries actually begin. It’s bigger now, of course, because Gore is bigger, what with the book and the film, and there’s also the whole matter of revenge for a lot of us. We want Gore to be President because he should have been President all along, and we feel cheated if he never is.

    The nice thing about the current situation, however, is that we’re not pinning our electoral hopes on him. I won’t go so far as to say that all of the Democratic candidates would wipe the floor with the Republican–Kucinich and Gravel obviously wouldn’t, and Biden and Dodd would be longshots at best–but it’s not like we’re looking at the frontrunners and saying (as republicans must be right about now) “who the fuck has a chance at winning this thing?” We’ve at least got candidates.

  4. Melissa McEwan

    The greatest feeling I have right now is fury. Yes, fury.

    And that’s why I call him Mr. Furious.

    Let’s admit it – despite some of their sheen and sexy appeal, Clinton, Obama and Edwards leave a LOT to be desired.

    There is truth in this, but the other truth is that I can’t remember an election in my lifetime which had THREE such strong leading candidates. I don’t think we quite realize how spoiled we are, when we’re bitching that Clinton, Obama, and Edwards aren’t perfect. (And they aren’t.) But even the second-tier candidates this time are better than former contenders: I’ll take Chris Dodd over Dick Gephardt any day of the week and twice on Sundays!

    The exception to this rule is Joe Biden, who is a total dickhead ad infinitum.

  5. Todd

    I guess we do. But I think we all agree Gore is far more qualified, competent, genuine, and deserving. Maybe that would be different if he were currently serving a public office and actively on the campaign trail, as the others obviously are.

    And Tart – you made me blush! Teehee!

  6. Melissa McEwan

    Gore is far more qualified, competent, genuine, and deserving

    And hot.

    (Come on. Like there can be a Gore thread at Shakesville without discussing Teh Foxiness.)

  7. Melissa McEwan

    Okay, back in Seriousland, though, I’ll just repeat my sentiments about the practicality of Gore running, issuing again the standard caveat that I love Al Gore and have wanted him to be my president since I was 16 years old (to which Todd can attest; he has heard me babbling about my Gore-love for 17 years now–poor thing).

    Gore getting into the race at this point is a good strategy only if he’s nearly guaranteed to win–because we do have got strong candidates now that Gore will certainly undermine.

    Thusly, it’s really an all-or-nothing proposition for him. Knowing he’s going to cut the legs out from under the other Dems means he’s got to be IN IT TO WIN IT big time. Note that all the funds that have been raised and spent by the other Dem candidates (who, at their worst, are all preferable to any of the GOP candidates) are funds that will totally have gone to waste if/when Gore enters, which would essentially cause a Back to the Starting Blocks event for the whole race, and that’s a fuck of a lot of progressive money to have thrown down the shitter.

    Relatedly, a lot of big Democratic donors are pissy crybabies who want their bits kissed constantly. Some of the big spenders will, completely unfairly and stupidly, take their cashballs and go home if Gore sweeps in at the last moment and snags the nomination out from under whomever they’ve been investing in (Clinton, Obama, or Edwards). Unless, of course, he’s making sure they won’t. That sort of behind-the-scenes diplomacy takes a lot of time and a lot of delicacy.

    Also, right now he’s a hero; if he jumps into the race and weakens the Left and a Republican gets into the White House in ‘08, he’d be the biggest fucking jerk on the planet. It’s all-or-nothing for him personally, too.

    Like you say, Todd, “I think we all agree Gore is far more qualified, competent, genuine, and deserving.” (Many of us, anyway.) He’s got nowhere to go but down from there, and he knows it. I wouldn’t blame him for sharing your opinion that we had our chance with him and blew it.

  8. Pug

    I was with the guy in 1988. Would be again in an instant if he would only run.

    You can tell there is genuine fear of him in the other party by the way they react with fury even to the mention of his name. They know, and we know, that he would win big this time. Al has to know it, too.

  9. (Come on. Like there can be a Gore thread at Shakesville without discussing Teh Foxiness.)

    LOL … even I have to admit, the Gore-ness himself does rock the boat, and I’m not remotely interested in the penis-wielding types (whether affixed or not).

    But, seriously, I have to agree with Todd here … honestly, if we keep harping on about him running we are diminishing to a certain extent the wonderful, incredible, and bloody NECESSARY work he is doing. I mean, who else is going to step up to the plate and be the kind of global figured needed in regards to global warming?

    Yes, Gore would make the kind of President that would have made the Clinton years seem like merely a precursor … but I really can’t see it happening now. And, despite their faults (and they DO have faults), we do have some GOOD candidates up there (not as much as us real liberals would have, but still).

    Not to mention, when one of either Edwards, Obama, or Clinton win the presidency, Gore is going to be an EXCELLENT elder statesman foil to keep them honest and on track. Sounds like a fucking AWESOME role for him, and one he can (and already does, if the chimp in power had the strength in power to actually listen to anything other than his echo chamber) do.

    Oh, and Todd, I wanted to do the same *huge pout* but I couldn’t take the time off necessary to line up with all the other fangirls and fanboys … and btw, I would have voted for him in 2000 if I could have!

  10. Melissa McEwan

    Not to mention, when one of either Edwards, Obama, or Clinton win the presidency, Gore is going to be an EXCELLENT elder statesman foil to keep them honest and on track.

    With any luck, they’ll turn head of the EPA into a major cabinet post to work closely with foreign policy and national security, and Gore will accept the position.

  11. And then there’s the biggest reason Gore wouldn’t want to run (and I don’t blame him). The press. They savaged him in 2000, and there’s no reason to believe they won’t be even worse this time around. The fact that we can push back to a limited extent won’t matter. MoDo is probably on her knees praying every night that Gore gets into the race, and if it means I have to live with a President Clinton/Obama/Edwards in order to deny her that satisfaction, I can do it.

  12. Constant Comment

    Admittedly, Gore is my first choice and I do believe he will continue to think about getting into the race until there is absolutely no time left for him to do so because the universe was not so aligned. If he chooses not to, though, I would echo a lot of the above sentiments that we have a number of very qualified and diverse candidates from which to choose. Any of the top- or second-tier candidates are capable of doing an admirable job, I believe, even though they would not be my first choice. The same cannot be said for ANY Republican.

  13. Melissa McEwan

    The same cannot be said for ANY Republican.

    There’s not a Republican in the race of whom the mere contemplation of his serving as my president doesn’t make me retch. Every last one of them is hideously absurd.

  14. Unfortunately, absurd is apparently not a constraint on a Republican becoming President …

    Nor is being retch-inducing …

  15. Doktor Wankenstein

    Just treated myself to Assault on Reason last night… that will be my summer reading assignment (to myself).

    Does anyone else remember Gore at the Academy Awards this year?

    “Is there anything you’d like to… announce?”

    What did he just ask him?

    “I would like to take this time to announce that …”

    Oh shit, he’s gonna SAY IT! Right in the middle of the freaking Oscars, HE’S GONNA SAY IT!

    …then the intro music started, and I realized, along with the rest of the audience sitting there with their hearts in their throats and their breath on hold, that we had been “owned” by the Vice President of the United States.

    Damn you, Al! Quit messing with my head!

    DO IT! DO IT NOW!

  16. I would love to have Gore as president, but if his heart is not in it, he shouldn’t run. If he does enter, he will likely face the same media onslaught as in 2000; any Democrat will be up against that, but with Gore they have some practice already. We have other decent candidates with a good shot at the White House.

  17. beatgrl

    This Horsey cartoon pretty much sums it up.

  18. Melissa McEwan

    This Horsey cartoon pretty much sums it up.

    Uh huh.

  19. Kate217

    I’d be willing to bet that a vast majority of Shakers voted for Gore. I know that I did. I felt it even more important than usual because I didn’t want Bush to be able to appoint SCOTUS judges. Obviously, I was right to be worried.

    On a side note, I fervently believe that if one doesn’t vote, s/he gives up the right to complain when the government screws him/her.

  20. After reading Gore’s new book, I would be stunned if he decided to run. He basically takes on the irrationality of the entire system, from media to politicians. There’s no way he would try to change it from within, given his argument’s strong implication that it can only be changed from without.

    But hey, I could be wrong.

  21. I think Incertus is right on. I’m sure many folks here read the Daily Howler, and Shakesville and other blogs have covered it well too, but the savaging of Gore is already going again. It’s really pathetic how he writes a book about how shallow the public discourse is and so much prominent coverage has been… painfully shallow. It’s like watching the worst aspects of high school play out, and it’s painful to see such idiots shape the public discourse so much.

    For Gore, it must be tough. He has to know he could probably win if he ran, and he could do so much good if he did, but he’s pretty happy now, and he knows the latest honeymoon’s already faded in many camps. I can’t blame him for not wanting to go through all that crap again.

    I agree with Melissa, too, that I genuinely like many of the Dem candidates. Even the worst of them is miles above the best of the Republicans.

  22. Melissa McEwan

    It’s really pathetic how he writes a book about how shallow the public discourse is and so much prominent coverage has been… painfully shallow.

    B-b-but it’s important to talk about how fat Gore is!

  23. Melissa McEwan
    Jun 7th, 2007 at 1:10 pm

    Hahahaha! God, I need to do a round-up of all the good posts on how bad the coverage has been on Gore’s book (my copy should arrive soon, looking forward to it). Really, irony is dead on these people!

    Maybe if Gore were as “chiseled” as Romney, The Politico would write a love letter to him… 😉

  24. Honestly, I didn’t think much of Gore as a candidate (though the last few years have made it clear that he was way better than the alternate), and I actually prefer Gore-the-Private-Citizen-with-a-Colossal-Megaphone, because he’s really kicking ass. I think he likes not having to cater to the press and special interest groups and the DLC…

  25. Nik E Poo

    Not to pee in the fountain of this love fest … but no Democratic candidate will make the whitehouse without a dramatic reduction in voter fraud. On that front … Gore is weak. I understand his love of the rule of law … and procedure and shit … but when it comes to something as important as the presidency … I want a fucker that will not take naked vote stealing sitting down. I want someone who will get all Lopez Obrador on their asses.

    And speaking of which … where the fuck is the Democratic Congress and the new-found corruption-busting … as pertains to voter fraud? Do they really think elections were clean, just because they won majority?

    Its surreal.

  26. nightshift66

    Batocchio,
    An appreciation for irony requires intellect; some moderate understanding about the natural laws of the universe; an ability to analyze data (to recognize the irony); and an appreciation for the absurd.

    Is it any wonder that so much of the GOP doesn’t recognize irony even as it is chewing on their butts?

  27. nightshift66

    Nik,
    One of the most important, overlooked aspects of the 2006 Dem sweep is how many gains they made at the state and local levels. Since elections are still state affairs in law for most purposes, that is the single best thing that could have happened to lessen the ability of the GOP to steal it in 2008.

  28. Nik E Poo

    Since elections are still state affairs in law for most purposes, that is the single best thing that could have happened to lessen the ability of the GOP to steal it in 2008.

    I hope so. Just sayin … how many people need to die, before people take this shit seriously?

  29. jahf

    Just sayin … how many people need to die, before people take this shit seriously?

    That’s a trick question. It doesn’t matter how many people die. It only matters whether or not those closest to you number among the dead.

  30. jahf

    Or, phrased closer to what I actually meant to say … what matters is only whether or not those closest to you number among the dead.

  31. Pingback: Daily Round-Up at Shakesville

  32. Maybe we ought to let him keep following his mission – waking the world up to the environmental dangers we still face. Yeah, OR he could become president and actually do something to address those dangers. The way I see it, if Gore really gives a damn and believes the situation is truly critical, he’s kind morally obligated to run. Because:1. The other Dem candidates aren’t as strong, due in part to general racism and sexism (and Edwards’ “too polished” image), and also to that “buyer’s remorse” thing you mentioned.2. Even if they won, there’s no guarantee that the other Dems would do anything meaningful on the environment.3. If a Republican wins, you can be damn sure they won’t.I fear you’re right that Gore won’t run, but it’d be a damn shame.

Leave a Reply

