RIP Sen. Craig Thomas

Wyoming Republican Senator Craig Thomas has died. My sincere condolences to the people who cared about him.

I’m not going to pretend I was one of them, so right to the information about his replacement: “The vacancy caused by his death will be chosen by Wyoming Gov. Dave Freudenthal, a Democrat. However, the seat will not switch parties because, under state law, Freudenthal is required to pick a new senator from a list of three candidates submitted by the GOP state central committee.”

Those names have not yet been submitted, although I’m quite certain we can prepare ourselves to be unthrilled with whatever collection of miscreants is dredged up from GOP HQ in Dick Cheney’s home state.

14 Comments

Filed under 01_shakespeares_sister

14 responses to “RIP Sen. Craig Thomas

  1. MR. Bill

    Does anyone here know anything about the Central Committee of the Wyoming Republicans? And who the potential nominees are? I looked at Wyoming newspapers online and can’t find much, beyond the fact that the Democratic Governor has 5 days to select one of three nominees from the Committee, when they give him the list.

    Cynically, I’d say he should choose the one most likely to be indicted…

  2. LS

    Don’t know anything about the Committee, but Freudenthal’s a decent enough guy – friend of mine worked for his campaign and interned with his office. So he’ll pick the least offensive of the nominees. I can ask my friend if she’s got any local scuttlebutt on the possible nominees.

  3. Who’s to say they won’t pick Lynn Cheney?

  4. oddjob

    If we’re fortunate we’ll get someone more akin to Alan Simpson than Darth Cheney.

  5. nightshift66

    What a peculiar law Wyoming has on the subject. I’ve never before heard of such a restriction on the governor’s ability to appoint, but on reflection I like the concept (though I would tweak the details). The voters did elect that party to the seat, so there’s some reflection of the will of the people. If nothing else, it doesn’t reward the removal of a Senator when his governor is of the other party.

    As for the replacement, I predict that the WY GOP will nominate 3 white guys, ages 45-55, who they think can become the next perma-senator given the power of incumbency.

  6. Kevin

    Obviously those of you on this website knew nothing of Craig Thomas. In a time when you cannot trust anything a politician says, Thomas was an honest, straight forward human being. He was able to hold his ground without getting into the catfighting that mires Washington. Regardless of whether or not you agreed with him, you could at least respect the legacy of this very good man.

    Obituary
    Common Sense

    Today we mourn the passing of a beloved old friend, Common Sense, who has been with us for many years. No one knows for sure how old he was since his birth records were long ago lost in bureaucratic red tape. He will be remembered as having cultivated such valuable lessons as knowing when to come in out of the rain, why the early bird gets the worm, life isn’t always fair, and maybe it was my fault.

    Common Sense lived by simple, sound financial policies (don’t spend more than you earn) and reliable parenting strategies (adults, not children are in charge).

    His health began to deteriorate rapidly when well intentioned but overbearing regulations were set in place. Reports of a six-year-old boy charged with sexual harassment for kissing a classmate; teens suspended from school for using mouthwash after lunch; and a teacher fired for reprimanding an unruly student, only worsened his condition.

    Common Sense lost ground when parents attacked teachers for doing the job they themselves failed to do in disciplining their unruly children. It declined even further when schools were required to get parental consent to administer Aspirin, sun lotion or a sticky plaster to a student, but could not inform the parents when a student became pregnant and wanted to have an abortion.

    Common Sense lost the will to live as the Ten Commandments became contraband; churches became businesses; and criminals received better treatment than their victims. Common Sense took a beating when you couldn’t defend yourself from a burglar in your own home and the burglar can sue you for assault.

    Common Sense finally gave up the will to live, after a woman failed to realize that a steaming cup of coffee was hot. She spilled a little in her lap, and was promptly awarded a huge settlement.

    Common Sense was preceded in death by his parents, Truth and Trust; his wife, Discretion; his daughter, Responsibility; and his son, Reason. He is survived by three stepbrothers; I Know my Rights, Someone Else is to Blame, and I’m a Victim.

    Not many attended his funeral because so few realized he was gone. If you still remember him, pass this on. If not, join the majority and do nothing.

    Author unknown

  7. Melissa McEwan

    Obviously those of you on this website knew nothing of Craig Thomas. In a time when you cannot trust anything a politician says, Thomas was an honest, straight forward human being. He was able to hold his ground without getting into the catfighting that mires Washington. Regardless of whether or not you agreed with him, you could at least respect the legacy of this very good man.

    Dude, it’s because I know a lot about Craig Thomas I don’t respect his legacy, and, frankly, anyone would two brain cells knocking together would think I had either lost my mind or was being a disingenuous hypocrite or ignorant fool if I did profess to hold in great esteem someone who endeavored to undermine everything I believe in.

    If there’s anyone in need of an infusion of common sense, it’s someone who suggests I ought to give a shit about the legacy of a guy who “held his ground” when he consistently voted against women’s, LGBT, civil, and workers’ rights.

  8. MR. Bill

    It’s a rumor on the Firedoglake comments section that Lynn Cheney will be the pick for the Wyo Senator.

    Pray for the republic…

  9. Common Sense: an essay by Thomas Paine.

  10. Kevin

    Melissa McEwan,
    I believe that you are the problem. Not you personally, but the prevalence of your attitude today. Just because you don’t agree with someone, you feel that you have no responsibility to show respect and common courtesy. I hope that people in this country can let go of the hatred that you obviously harbor.
    Your words, “frankly, anyone would two brain cells knocking together would think I had either lost my mind or was being a disingenuous hypocrite or ignorant fool,” unfortunately you know nothing about me, but feel the need to degrade me because you apparently disagree with me. I’m sorry that you feel this way.

    God bless Craig Thomas, his family, and the Great State of Wyoming.

  11. Kevin

    Whig,

    Thanks for the citation. And the frontrunners for replacing Thomas are former State Senate leader Fred Parady, Former house speaker Randall Luthi, along with Collin Simpson (Son of former senator Alan Simpson). All well respected legislators.

  12. Nora

    In two weeks I will be moving from West Virginia to Wyoming. I will be another Democrat who will be hoping to help change the current mindset. (The more Democrats, the better.) As an old woman who has often lived in GOP states, I do my best to be sure to vote and get others who think as I do to vote, as well. I also have been an election poll worker and may again volunteer to work polls so that I can try for an honest election, at least in my precinct.

    I’ll continue to haunt this site, mostly as a lurker, to keep up with the news that I seldom have access to. That is, after I return from six weeks in Germany. Wish me luck.

  13. Melissa McEwan

    Just because you don’t agree with someone, you feel that you have no responsibility to show respect and common courtesy.

    Good call. It was really rude of me to say “I piss on his grave.”

    Oh wait–I didn’t say that. I said: “My sincere condolences to the people who cared about him.”

    Yeah, how disrespectful and incourteous of me.

    Wanker.

  14. Melissa McEwan

    That is, after I return from six weeks in Germany. Wish me luck.

    Good luck–and have a wonderful time, Nora! (hug)

Leave a Reply

