Patsy Will Kick Your Ass

Joanna Lumley, whom I will forever worship because Ab Fab‘s Patsy Stone is one of the greatest characters of all time, gives me more reason to adore her:

ACTRESS Joanna Lumley has been praised for showing “remarkable coolness” when she came face-to-face with an armed man in a Sheffield bar.

…The actress told police she saw Cottam, from Longley Hall Road, Longley fiddling with a bag. She said: “An object fell to the floor with a thud and I noticed it was a gun. He lent down, picked it up, put it back into the bag and zipped it up.”

The court heard Ms Lumley then went up to Cottam to ask “why he had a firearm and whether he was going to use it to cause harm”.

Prosecutor Nigel Duckworth said: “One might think it quite a brave action. He told Ms Lumley he was not going to use the gun but claimed he was undercover and needed it for protection.

“Ms Lumley knew police had been called and she engaged Cottam in conversation until firearms officers arrived.”

Nice one!

The best part about the coverage of this case is that every story keeps going on about how you’d expect nothing less from the gal who played Purdey in The New Avengers. Okay, not only is The New Avengers a freaking TV show, but it’s a thirty-year-old freaking TV show, condemning a stupid comment to being a tragically dated pop culture reference, too. Moan.

18 Comments

Filed under 01_shakespeares_sister

18 responses to “Patsy Will Kick Your Ass

  1. Now that takes some guts.

  2. Melissa McEwan

    I agree! Especially in Britain, where a guy with a gun is a lot rarer an occurrence than it is in the States.

  3. JoshWatermanMN

    I adore the Avengers, although I admit that have NEVER EVER seen an episode with Lumley (I have the Emma Peel mega set–Diana Rigg is the one woman I would switch for, and that is only so I can bask in the glow in her utter gorgeousness).

    I also have every season of Ab Fab on DVD–it was a prerequisite when I was recruited into The Lifestyle, you know. 🙂

  4. Gorgeous. My wig is flipped.

  5. amish451

    We have always known ‘Patsy’ has more balls than many men ….would have been fun to have been there ….

  6. amish451

    Oh Shit …Ab Fab is part of the lifestyle ….?

  7. I think I may have another Ab Fab recruit. Son One and I were watching it on BBC America and he couldn’t believe that Brits let people say and do such things on regular TV. He thought Patsy was especially great. And she is.

    But he and I are both straight–is that okay?! Ab Fab for Absolutely Everyone, I say. Life is far too fucking serious. I only wish there were something even remotely comparable on TV here–come to think of it, whey isn’t there? There are so many fabulous American actresses who come to mind as totally right for the ribald, hilarious, no-holds-barred and deliciously superficial lush character: Bette Middler, for one.

    It doesn’t surprise me in the least that Ms. Lumley kept her cool during the gun incident, btw. In and out of character, she’s always struck me as a take-charge type.

  8. Angry Irish Bitch

    Cheers Pats!

  9. Almost 20 years ago, I was on a public bus in which a woman took a gun out of her purse, loaded it, and shot a French tourist to death — while several people just stood there and watched!

    Perhaps if Joanna Lumley (or someone with her courage) had been on the bus, the victim and the shooter would not have died.

  10. rxl

    This just sounds so very British

    “excuse me old chap, are you going to shoot up the place?”

    “oh no no no not at all”

    “ah well, let’s just wait for the bobbies and see, eh what?”

  11. If they’re going to make decades-old references, the least they could do is namedrop Sapphire & Steel.

  12. kona

    After seeing this post I’m now DESPERATE for an Ab Fab marathon!!!!

  13. Kona–YES!

    Name the time and place, sweetie-dahling.

  14. I only wish there were something even remotely comparable on TV here–come to think of it, why isn’t there?

    Most of the time, all of the life is stripped out of British TV shows when they’re adapted for American TV.

    You may recall that the American version of AbFab never got off the ground. Roseanne Barr purchased the rights to develop AbFab in the United States for network TV, but she was never able to get it past production. The U.S. censors wouldn’t approve the scripts and she couldn’t move to cable because the British AbFab had the rights for cable broadcasts. Roseanne was unwilling to compromise and let the project die.

    However, AbFab was the inspiration for Cybill Shepherd’s show, Cybill.

    They gave her a daughter with a funky name (Zoey) and a wild and crazy, alcoholic best friend (Christine Baranski). They even stole some of AbFab’s plotlines.

  15. JoshWatermanMN

    But he and I are both straight–is that okay?! Ab Fab for Absolutely Everyone

    I agree wholeheartedly! By my comments, I was alluding to when I was first coming out in the 90’s, every gay man was watching Ab Fab. 🙂

  16. Susan

    Mostly nobody but me has seen the movie “The Cat’s Meow,” where Joanna played the part of Elinor Glyn. She is FABULOUS.

  17. Also, Joanna is FAB in James and The Giant Peach. So evil.

    I love when people I already admire do something that makes me that much more of a fan.

    Fritz, SO true. I never saw Cybil, but I remember when they were going to try to Americanize Fawlty Towers, with John LaRoquette (sp?) I can’t remember if the show even made it to an aired pilot, but I do remember the early press during which the writers were already apologizing for the many dumbings down they were performing on the scripts, and American friends of mine were furious that network TV refused to recognize the intelligent segment of the market who could GET non-slapstick, non-laughtrack-backed comedy and didn’t need things dumbed down, thank you very much.

    Anyway, it never made it.

  18. Arakasi

    Re: US AbFab
    Well, things could have been worse – the show could have been made. Does anyone else remember the US attempt at Coupling?

Leave a Reply

