Bush Photo Ops: Now On Summer Markdown

Getting one’s photograph taken with the President of the United States used to be something only the well-connected and/or wildly wealthy could (or would) do. But hey, times are tough, and these days, your very own POTUS-‘n-Me photo is more affordable than ever:

Yesterday, Bush headlined a fundraiser for the New Jersey state GOP, where donors could pay $5,000 to pose for a photo with the Commander in Chief. Expensive photo op, right? Well, that’s actually cheaper that what donors paid just a year ago for a grip and grin with Bush. Last summer, GOP officials around the country charged at least $10,000 a pop for presidential photo op, a bargain compared to the $25,000-a-flash Bush commanded during some Republican National Committee fund-raisers back in 2000 and 2004.

Prices slashed to a fifth of Manufacturer’s Suggested Retail! I wonder what it costs to keep Spurious George out of the picture?

[via HuffPo]

13 Comments

Filed under 03_litbrit

13 responses to “Bush Photo Ops: Now On Summer Markdown

  1. Nik E Poo

    What’s next? A dunk tank?
    I’d buy tokens for that.

  2. More likely a “drunk” tank, Nik E Poo.

  3. PortlyDyke

    Lit, welcome back — seems like “old home” week here all of the sudden.

  4. Love the “Blue Light” pic. Very nice touch.

    😉

  5. Litbrit – Have you seen the parody Bob Dylan video clip I have up? I think it’s right up your alley.

  6. Melissa McEwan

    Q: What is definitive proof you have too much money and too little sense?

    A: Paying 50¢ to pose for a photo with the Commander in Chief.

    Q: What is definitive proof you probably just need to be put down gently by a kindly vet?

    A: Paying $5,000 to pose for a photo with the Commander in Chief.

  7. Brave Sir Robin, I will head over there now. (I’m wondering if it’s the Monty Python one–“I’ve suffered for my music…now it’s your turn!”)

    I simply HAD to put up a blue light pic. When we first came to the States and went to the nearest discount department store, which happened to be K-Mart (this was long before Martha Stewart made sheets and towels in colors you could actually find in nature), I saw that blue light and thought it was an American thing overall, used in all stores. You know: Red means Stop, Yellow means speed up and swear at the light so it doesn’t turn Red, Green means Go, and Blue means Crazy-ass Sale Right Over Here, Shoppers!

  8. SAP

    I’d pay $5,000, but only if I could get Dubya to hold up some numbers under his head.

  9. I second PortlyDyke- I do love that nick! Litbrit, I am glad you have the few free moments to post.

    Bush should have PAYED that poor woman in the automobile factory to pose with him. Hell, anyone… Katrina Victims, tornado victims, anyone in a one feet vicinity captured on film with DUBYA and his staged existence. THEY deserve 5, 10 grand and MORE!

  10. Kev

    A D(r)unk tank would be a helpful way to pay the bill for the war. Or the proceeds could be donated to the familes who have paid the ultimate price.

    Billions. Billions would be raised.

  11. Paen

    I wonder if the Chicken in Chief has the slightest idea of how many people in the world would love to pay 5 grand to get close enough to him to have their picture taken with him.

  12. I wonder if the Chicken in Chief has the slightest idea of how many people in the world would love to pay 5 grand to get close enough to him to have their picture taken with him.

    I fear the people you are speaking of would not get very close because most of them would be carrying some sort of lethal weapon I presume.

  13. Champs & Chimps:

    Our beloved Houston Dynamo, 2006 Major League Soccer champs, got invited to the White House recently. They wore matching suits with pale orange ties, got their hair gelled up nicely (those who have hair, that is), presented His Inanity with a jersey and posed for a photo with him sporting big, vacant grins (at least they weren’t smirking). The Dynamo promotions team were handing out posters of the photo at the match Sunday afternoon. One of them looked a little confused and hurt when I said, “No thank you, Bush is not welcome in my house.”

    I was wondering to myself whether, if I were in the position of being invited to the White House to be honored and photographed, I would decline the offer out of principle or accept specifically so I could get in the man’s face. Unfortunately, when one signs that professional contract, one agrees to all sorts of unpleasant duties.

Leave a Reply

