Well, That’s Refreshing

[Spudsy here, just sneaking in a quick post from internship exile during the lunch hour.]

Bill O’Reilly confirms what we’ve been saying all along:

O’REILLY: But do you understand what the New York Times wants, and the far-left want? They want to break down the white, Christian, male power structure, which you’re a part, and so am I, and they want to bring in millions of foreign nationals to basically break down the structure that we have. In that regard, Pat Buchanan is right. So I say you’ve got to cap with a number.

MCCAIN: In America today we’ve got a very strong economy and low unemployment, so we need addition farm workers, including by the way agriculture, but there may come a time where we have an economic downturn, and we don’t need so many.

O’REILLY: But in this bill, you guys have got to cap it. Because estimation is 12 million, there may be 20 [million]. You don’t know, I don’t know. We’ve got to cap it.

MCCAIN: We do, we do. I agree with you.

So, to Bill, the “immigration debate” boils down to “Don’t fuck with my white male privilege.” Nothing is more important than white, “Christian” males getting everything. And McCain couldn’t agree more.

Wow, a Republican presidential candidate is actually admitting that white male privilege exists? Has the world gone topsy-turvy?

24 Comments

Filed under 02_paul_the_spud

24 responses to “Well, That’s Refreshing

  1. Melissa McEwan

    So, to Bill, the “immigration debate” boils down to “Don’t fuck with my white male privilege.”

    You nailed it.

    I would say that’s appalling, except nothing that comes out of that fuckwit’s mouth surprises me anymore.

  2. bluestockingsrs

    This actually made me kinda happy, because someone finally said it.

    This is what we out here on the “far left” want to do, only we don’t need to bring in foreign nationals to do it, ’cause I got your women, people of color, queers –right here, BillO.

    What we on the “far left” are doing is keeping the promise of what America is meant to be –a land of freedom, justice and equality for all of its citizens and residents.

    So get used to sharing the wealth, ’cause we’re kicking ass and taking names and your at the top of the list, BillO.

  3. Grandjester

    Wow. An honest statement outta Bill-O’s gaping maw.

  4. Grendel72

    Post-Katrina Republicans don’t pretend not to be bigots.

  5. nightshift66

    I agree with blue: it is better that they be open with their agenda. That makes it harder for them to deny it, easier for us to attack it.

  6. bluestockingsrs

    Only I’d be able to write “you’re” instead of “your” if I were truly a member of the “far left” because I’d also be an elitist.

    Aww, I love the prescience of Orwell, it makes me sad and happy.

  7. Nik E Poo

    … cap …cap it …

    I smell a future dog whistle.

    [fox news] “The President arrived today, wearing a cap.”
    [Bush] “We need caps. … er … ah … to cap it … um … because caps is good.”
    [BillO] “Tonight, a special report on caps.”
    [Good Morning America] “The sun is bright today along the Mexican border, make sure to wear a cap.”

  8. Jay in Oregon

    One thing in that quote from McCain were the words “very strong economy and low unemployment”.

    That sounds like a right-wing talking point if I ever heard one, kinda like McCain’s brilliant “there are jobs Americans won’t do, even for $50/hour”.

    Does anybody know what the actual employment numbers look like?

  9. Nik E Poo

    Does anybody know what the actual employment numbers look like?

    Well, there is the Dept of Labor Stats.

    Of course, that site makes Microsoft documentation seem concise. Probably, the best thing … is do scrape all the data into a database … and provide some ad hoc reporting over it. Which I’ll get to one of these days. Possibly sooner rather than later … as my current job is just about done.

  10. O’Reilly and McCain. What a meeting of minds.

    Spudsy, I was waiting for an appreciation of Charles Nelson Reilly. Damn the internship!

  11. larkohio

    So women, and minorities should not have a share in this old white boy structure, right? Much less immigrants! Let’s preserve our own place at the top, and to heck with everyone else, right Mr. O.? Well, a few of us beg to differ….

  12. Well, there we are. They obviously feel no need to hide it anymore.

  13. nightshift66

    Nik,
    The unemployment numbers from the feds are very misleading. They don’t count people who have given up looking for work as ‘unemployed,’ for instance. I’d trust the numbers from the British Economist before I would the Feds.

  14. Spudsy, I was waiting for an appreciation of Charles Nelson Reilly. Damn the internship!

    LOL! Needless to say, I was quite upset at the passing of Mr. Reilly; I was planning on posting one of his Bic Banana Pen commercials in tribute!

  15. Melissa McEwan

    O’Reilly and McCain. What a meeting of minds.

    snort!

  16. Damn the internship!

    or how about this: try writing in the evenings, spudsy.

  17. Nik E Poo

    The unemployment numbers from the feds are very misleading.

    [Darth Vader Voice] Your Microsoft training is now complete.

  18. Time-Machine

    Because I never watch O’Reilly, I never would have seen this. I’m so glad you posted it. It made my day.

    If I had a MySpace, I’d be posting this all over it.

    Thank you for alerting me to this finally-honest statement. I’m glad the Left has decided to just set out big targets for us. It save the trouble of looking.

  19. Ginger Yellow

    The most interesting thing about O’Reilly’s comment to me is that, given almost all the people he’s talking about are Mexican and thus Catholic, and given there’s a higher proportion of males among immigrants than in the US population at large, he’s let the cat out of the bag that it’s all about race. It’s the only logical interpretation. How are Catholics going to bring down the Christian power structure? How will increasing the proportion of men bring down the male power structure?

  20. Susan

    I do not believe this is “refreshing”– I think that his “what the New York Times wants, and the far-left want” is a veiled reference to the “work” of Kevin B. MacDonald, a professor at CalState Long Beach and the “Marx of the anti-Semites.” There was a story published about him on Alternet this month written by Heidi Beirich of the Southern Poverty Law Center:
    http://www.alternet.org/story/51338/

    He is highly revered by racists for “revealing” the Jewish agenda:

    According to MacDonald, who considers himself an evolutionary psychologist, Jews, who have typically been in the minority in countries around the world, are compelled by an evolutionary strategy that makes them push for liberal policies, like immigration and diversity, with the intent of weakening the power of the majority that rules them.

  21. Yeah. He’s a Nazi.

    Hel-LO???

  22. “But do you understand what the New York Times wants, and the far-left want? They want to break down the white, Christian, male power structure…”

    As usual, conveniently ignoring the overwhelmingly white male Republican corporate executives who want to maintain a steady supply of cheap labor that they can exploit and abuse at will.

  23. I do not believe this is “refreshing”

    I was being sarcastic.

  24. Pingback: In which Bill O’Reilly gets on my good side at Pandagon

Leave a Reply

