A More Civil Union

New Hampshire joins the growing list of states that recognize civil unions.

Gay couples in New Hampshire can start applying for many of the rights and responsibilities of marriage as early as January under a law Gov. John Lynch signed Thursday establishing civil unions.

“We in New Hampshire have had a long and proud tradition taking the lead in opposing discrimination,” Lynch said. “Today that tradition continues.”

Couples who enter civil unions will have the same rights, responsibilities and obligations as married couples. Same-sex unions from other states also would be recognized if they were legal in the state where they were performed.

Legislators who gathered for the bill signing packed the governor’s chambers and overflowed into an adjoining sitting room. They snapped photos and burst into applause as he signed it.

“I’ve listened and I’ve heard all the arguments,” said Lynch, a Democrat. “I do not believe that this bill threatens marriage. I believe that this is a matter of conscience and fairness.”

Yip yah!

My only problem is that all of the states that have recognized civil unions are in places where they still have winter. C’mon, Florida, join the gang!

5 Comments

Filed under 06_bobby

5 responses to “A More Civil Union

  1. Melissa McEwan

    Same-sex unions from other states also would be recognized if they were legal in the state where they were performed.

    Go New Hampshire!

    “I’ve listened and I’ve heard all the arguments,” said Lynch, a Democrat. “I do not believe that this bill threatens marriage. I believe that this is a matter of conscience and fairness.”

    Now that wasn’t so hard, was it?! (I’m looking at you THE ENTIRE REST OF THE DEMOCRATIC PARTY.)

  2. My only problem is that all of the states that have recognized civil unions are in places where they still have winter. C’mon, Florida, join the gang!

    I think Hawaii’s probably your best bet on that score.

  3. Kate217

    “I’ve listened and I’ve heard all the arguments,” said Lynch, a Democrat. “I do not believe that this bill threatens marriage. I believe that this is a matter of conscience and fairness.”

    How did a sane person ever get elected? Clearly the system broke down…

  4. I think Hawaii’s probably your best bet on that score.

    Sadly, I have to agree. Here in south Florida, you might get it passed, though it would probably be close, but North Florida is a lot like Georgia and Alabama–full of mouth-breathing slack-jaws.

  5. hk

    Thanks Incertus. I wouldn’t say full though.

Leave a Reply

