Welcome Back

[Just moving this back to the top for a bit before it gets pushed down too far…  New posts are below.] 

Welcome back, Shakers.  Or, perhaps more accurately, it’s good to be back.

After quite a mad weekend, which started with our getting booted by our old host because of sustained denial of service attacks against Shakesville, and ended late Monday/early Tuesday, when Mustang Bobby’s amazingly generous and kind brother put the finishing touches on the backend functionality of my redesign for a whole new platform, we’re back. And we’re at Word Press.  Nothing’s drastically different.  A few new features.  Otherwise, same old shit.

I’m sorry for the brief hiatus, and my apologies in advance for any glitches that may come up with the relaunch.  We’ll get them taken care of as quickly as we can.

Onward…

46 Comments

Filed under 01_shakespeares_sister

46 responses to “Welcome Back

  1. bobby

    Good to see you back, and I was happy to help in my own small way.

  2. Melissa

    And thank you hugely for that help, which was no small thing at all. 🙂

  3. Misty

    Love the new logo!

  4. Misty

    Er, I mean banner. It’s not really a logo. D’oh! I need more caffeine, LOL.

  5. quixote

    I took one look at the redesign and thought, “Hey, they’ve moved to wordpress.”

    It’s the best. I installed it for my blog in January and love it.

    Sorry to hear about the denial of service attacks. People are going to have to get serious about the troll problem, or the whole web will go down. This isn’t something Gutenberg ever had to worry about. 😦

    It’s horrible that as soon as anyone’s voice rises out of the din, the goons start gunning for you.

    I guess so far it’s not a problem because women have 98% of it. First they came for the women, and I thought it didn’t matter, because I am not a woman. Etc. etc. etc.

    How many times do we have to rerun this horrible movie?

    Anyway, great to see you back, and excellent new design!

  6. Yes, welcome back. I think the new look is just great.

  7. oddjob

    How is it that Aravosis is able to keep on keepin on with Blogger? Certainly he can’t be immune to similar nonsense, likewise Atrios, MyDD, or Koss.

    ?

  8. Kevin

    Very cool new masthead!

    Welcome back. I hope the DOS protection here works well and keeps your host and us happy.

  9. But the banner! The cool illustration! The Noel Coward play and the Martinis!

    Actually, there have been an increasing number of DOS attacks and DB overflow attacks that I’ve seen mentioned on liberal blogs of late. I just read an article on the NY Times about a large scale DDOS attack in Estonia. Welcome to the cyberwar future!

  10. Oooh, it’s pretty! I’m really sorry about the reason, but I think you’ll like the move to WordPress.

  11. Happy to see you back. Had me worried there for a bit. But how will I survive without all the funny little faces? (Think of the one crying here please.)

    Hugs and smooches.

  12. Welcome Back! Is that woman third from the right holding a KNIFE or a screwdriver?

  13. Melissa

    But the banner! The cool illustration! The Noel Coward play and the Martinis!

    The other banner is still around. I’ll be rotating images every so often to keep things interesting, so no worries. 😉

  14. Melissa

    Is that woman third from the right holding a KNIFE or a screwdriver?

    A microphone!

  15. DAMN! She’s still cool anyway.

  16. nightshift66

    I echo all warm and kind sentiments expressed, and also hope that this site will have enough defenses to become Fortress Entirely Able to Maintain Equality. (I do love acronyms!)

    You did motivate me to hit wikipedia and learn about DoS attacks. Amazing. I barely have time to drop a note here and there, and there are toadstools out there who spend hours (or days) attacking websites? Cheetos-eating basement dwellers, no doubt.

  17. How little of a life do you have to have to spend it initiating DOS attacks against websites you don’t like?

    Glad to see you’re back. I was starting to jones a little.

  18. As the kittens say when I get home from work every day, “You were gone FOREVER! I thought you were NEVER coming back!”

  19. PortlyDyke

    Yay! Huzzah! (Tossing hat in the air)

    I, too, began to worry that you had been eaten by cannibals.

    “Does this taste funny to you?”

    I believe that you’ll like WordPress too — and a separate comments feed! Yippee!

    Cool auto-preview on the comment box, too.

  20. Jeff

    Didn’t I TELL you that you needed the 1.21 Gigawatt nu-cul-ur powered backup generator to electrify the glass-enclosed nerve center hidden in the secret underground command bunker beneath shakes manor?

    Guess you’ll listen to me better NEXT time!

  21. Welcome back, your dreams were your ticket out.

    Glad to see Shakesville up again. Now, let’s get back to our heathen ways! 8^D

  22. We’ve had trouble with DOS attacks at TMV.

  23. Hmmmm… Litbrit gets “disappeared” and the site goes away and comes back with a new look.

    I’m no conspiracy guy, but this is, without doubt, a huge conspiracy. Space Cowboy is involved with this. Probably Tart also. Just you watch.

    –WKW

  24. The other banner is still around. I’ll be rotating images every so often to keep things interesting, so no worries.

    Cool! That was a great illustration!

  25. Kym

    Love the new look!

  26. Oooh! Change is good, keeps us from atrophying! So glad you’re back – I was forced, FORCED, I tell you, to visit other sites for my daily dose of whatever the hell I dose daily on….

  27. SAP

    Whoa!

    I go away for one weekend, and Xzibit shows up.

    Nice look, Liss.

  28. Every time this blog goes away, it comes back looking better. Weird.

    Well done, Liss.

  29. Doktor Wankenstein

    Just passing thru on the way to a(nother) meeting… nice!

    It still has that “new webpage” smell!

    Oooh! Auto-previews!

    Hoopy.

  30. lea-p

    Much much better! That other version was very hard to read and navigate. Messy-looking. This is much cleaner. Thanks!

  31. Jewel

    Cool! I like the new look and second Waveflux – it just keeps getting better. 🙂

  32. Nice to see you back! The new banner is cool, too. I hope everyone had a good Memorial Day weekend as well.

  33. Love the new layout/masthead/etc. Glad you’re back.

  34. car

    I was very busy this weekend, so, um, I’m glad I didn’t have as much to catch up on. Worked for me. 🙂

  35. I like the new look and the new RSS feeds.

  36. Hmmm. Off topic but here’s an album on iTunes by an artist named Shakes with the title “Sister Self Doubt EP”

    http://phobos.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?id=218344355&s=143441

  37. Mama Shakes

    Lookin’ good, kiddo. Glad to see it’s working!

  38. amish451

    Happy,Happy,Happy

  39. Rottweiler

    Nice to be at a site with people who are civil to each other, and who think before they type.

  40. a) Welcome back, I was seriously jonesin’

    b) Hope this works GREAT for you, ’cause I just signed on to wordpress! (finally!!!!)

    c) What’s this “auto-preview” you speak of? I SERIOUSLY need a “preview” option, on accounta I’m seriously e-tarded!

    …oh, um, heheh… just saw it… …never mind…

  41. Thanks for sacrificing your holiday weekend for us, Liss!!!!

  42. Pingback: Daily Round-Up at Shakesville

  43. Apparently my old handle is now on the “bad words” list. I used to post here as “fiat lux” but when I try to submit comments now, they disappear. They don’t even go into the moderation queue.

    This is more than a little annoying, because I’ve been posting using that handle here for quite some time. I don’t know why the phrase is suddenly considered bad now — it’s a Latin phrase, FFS — but so be it.

    Or is the banning of my handle a subtle way of saying that I am not welcome anymore? I know my politics are a little closer to the center than most of the regulars here, but it’s not like I’m an evil troll or anything.

  44. Melissa McEwan

    They don’t even go into the moderation queue.

    Well, yeah–your comment did go into the moderation queue, and I just approved it. I haven’t created a “bad words” list, so why you were caught by the spam filter, I don’t know. But it wasn’t anything that I did deliberately.

    And of course your handle wasn’t banned to unwelcome you. I’ve never banned anyone because they weren’t “left” enough!

  45. Welcome back and to WordPress, which I like a lot.

Leave a Reply

