Two-Minute Nostalgia Sublime

Kojak

7 Comments

Filed under 01_shakespeares_sister

7 responses to “Two-Minute Nostalgia Sublime

  1. Ivory Bill Woodpecker

    Before my dad retired, he sold insurance for Prudential. Pru was a major sponsor of “Kojak”. One year, my dad brought home a box of promotional “Kojak Pops”. [based on Kojak’s using lollipops as an oral substitute because he was trying to quit smoking] Quite tasty.

  2. Ivory Bill Woodpecker

    I also remember that when the CB radio craze took off in the mid-late 1970s, a nickname for a police officer with a radar gun was “Kojak with a Kodak”.

  3. My grandfather had a non-speaking part in one episode of Kojak. Thus, I am fond.

  4. One year, my dad brought home a box of promotional “Kojak Pops”.

    Cute! I bet those would be worth a mint today.

  5. Who loves ya, baby

    My grandmother kissed Kojack on the mouth when she was on vacation in Florida in the late 70’s – Telly Savalas was staying at the same hotel and she was a big fan of his show. I heard about the mouth kiss from my Aunt Maureen, who was there, but the pictures only show Mr. Savalas and my grandmother sitting next to each other with drinks in their hand.

  6. Linnaeus

    When I was staying at the Sheraton Universal City in L.A. (well, not technically, but for all intents and purposes) back in 1993, I nearly ran right into Telly Savalas as he was going into the bar there named for him (“Telly’s”). As I understood it, this was not uncommon because he lived in that hotel. Pretty cool.

    That was also the weekend I saw “Macho Man” Randy Savage checking into the same hotel. Brushes with greatness indeed.

  7. Ivory Bill Woodpecker

    “Worth a mint today”. Too late; we ate ’em a long time ago.

Leave a Reply

