Yippee-Ki-Yay, Mother Superior

Cowboy Church: “There’s No High Falutin’ Going On”

I can’t think of anything more awesome than being baptized in a “sanctified” horse trough on the back of a pick-up truck.

Not to mention anything more quintessentially American.

Italy

France

Great Britain

America

Via Petulant, who says: “I am tempted to haul my ass over there and Praise the Lord!” though thinks being a heathen might be a problem—along with being “too proper for a Baptismal Horse Trough!” Oy.

20 Comments

Filed under 01_shakespeares_sister

20 responses to “Yippee-Ki-Yay, Mother Superior

  1. I’ll bet he makes a tidy little living doing that. It’s revivalism without the tent.

  2. anangryoldbroad

    Oh my. I’m not sure whether to or

  3. I’ll bet he makes a tidy little living doing that.

    I’m sure you’re right. He doesn’t even seem to be making any bones about it in the story, either–talking quite plainly about how cheap it is to rent a barn.

    I also love how it “doesn’t matter” to him why people show up, as long as they do. Kind of a funny attitude for a minister, if you ask me; seems like he’d want people to show up because they care about his message, not because of the “bulls” or “belt buckles.”

    Wev. All money in the coffers, I guess.

  4. Yee Haw! I am going to have to attend at least one meetin’! Too close not to.

    I am a bit too proper sometimes. I hold my pinkie up when I take a shit.

    You know Jeff Smith, the pastor, is making a killing. He gets a reduced rate for bringing a horse and has these “churches” popping up all over the place.

    You can even order your own Riding for Jesus belt buckle on his website

  5. I also love how it “doesn’t matter” to him why people show up, as long as they do. Kind of a funny attitude for a minister, if you ask me; seems like he’d want people to show up because they care about his message, not because of the “bulls” or “belt buckles.”

    Standard trope nowadays for evangelists; the power of the Gospel will work in the hearts of those who come, no matter their motivation. He’s surely got some stories of people who came to one of his meetings to mock it but ended up getting saved or whatever.

    So Petulant really should stay away.

  6. So Petulant really should stay away

    No chance of saving me! I am so damned, I am looking for a fire retardant suit.

    Plus I am too proper for baptism in a HORSE TROUGH! I require something gilded and bejeweled.

    I think it would be interesting to watch how worship occurs in a corral. IF all of the members are like the ones they interviewed, it would make for great theater.

  7. MR. Bill

    You noticed that this church is near Asheville, NC…. I grew up in WNC, and live some 10 miles from the NC-GA line, and the woods are full of cowboy (and Indian) wannabes. This is about a style of religion, for which Fundamentalism and the Black and White Cowboy mentality, seem uniquely congruent.

  8. Asheville? they call themselves cowboys?

    yeah, right.

    it looked like the same old fundy shit but this time in costume.

    all hat. no cattle.

    my mustang would probably eat his hat. she likes the straw ones.

  9. I think it would be interesting to watch how worship occurs in a corral.

    Roping a golden calf is only a matter of time.

  10. Roping a golden calf is only a matter of time.

    you are a wicked, wicked girl.

    i like it.

  11. Jewel

    My sister got baptized in a metal horse trough. Outside. In a thunderstorm. With lightning. And she lived to tell about it!

    By the time I was ‘old enough’ (15) to get baptized in my parent’s anabaptist church, they’d upgraded to an actual swimming pool. Maybe they should have stuck with the horse trough, though – sis is still a Good Little Christian, but my baptism didn’t take. I guess the pool wasn’t ‘sanctified’ enough.

  12. I think it’s all a matter of taste. Or having taste to begin with.

  13. you are a wicked, wicked girl. i like it.

  14. What struck me is that this is considered news?!

    Not once did the so-called reporter doing voiceover or newscasters “italicize” when speaking of Jesus, sin, baptism, etc. Of course, the clip could have been supplied by the church itself.

    They’ll give that much airtime to what amounts to a free commercial for Jeff Smith’s money-making enterprise. How much coverage did they give to Congress? Or state politics? Or international news?

    Welcome to the CUSA – the Christian United States of America!

  15. The segment was produced by resident man about town John Le
    He has also been known to stand on the street and flag people in cars to ask their opinion about something. He’s the investigative journalist on staff. HA!

    Melissa, wicked wicked girl indeed!

  16. Nemohee

    Eh… we have one of those in Bedford county in VA. Local and State govn’t tried to shut it down, but public outcry stopped that. This on is not as “staged” as the one in the film, and is mostly geared towards farmers and ranchers who can’t go to normal church because it is held at times when they are normally working. Thus this one is held on Thursday and Sunday nights at around 7pm (when most of the work is done.

  17. Time-Machine

    OMG They mentioned Mountain Home, Idaho.

    I grew up in Mountain Home! What a sad, little military town. Loved it, though. They had a really big tire swing in the park and one crappy old drive-in theater, but no normal indoor theater. You had to drive to Boise for that.

    Never thought that silly, lovely little town would ever find a way into the news. At least, not for something that wasn’t Air Force related.

    Woo! Nostalgia!

  18. Sorry Time-Machine, but they are referring to Mountain Home, NC which is around the Hendersonville, NC area.

    Mountain Home, Idaho sounds like they need a Cowboy Church!

  19. Cowboys my Arse! They are about as much Cowboy as that asshole the clears all the brush down in Texas. Wears the hat all right but wouldn’t know a real range cow if it came up and bit him in the ass. (Which it might just do if he got close enough.)

    Just another asswipe with a new fangled money machine and the fucking Rubes love it. And I’ll bet a bottle of skim piss against fiver that 99% of the idios in the “Old Corral” voted for Deacon Dumb. And they’d do it again tomorrow if the got the chance.

    Or to quote an old time revivalist from my youth: “Just put your hand on the Radio and you’ll be saved. And don’t forget to send your dollar to……….”

  20. Thanks for an awsome article. You’re blog really rocks!

Leave a Reply

