Writer’s Bloc

Garrison Keillor on writing.

I know nothing about what is going on in the country, I hear nothing, I have nothing to say, I am a writer locked up with a book that is due on Tuesday, so I am taking a break.

No big deal. Everybody’s writing a book. In libraries and back rooms and parents’ basements, men and women just like me are sitting at computers with stacks of books around them, legal pads full of notes, Post-its, index cards, photocopies, and they are trying to not answer the phone or check e-mail, trying to meet a deadline. It’s like a lingering illness: There are good days and bad days. You go to bed and get up in the morning and try again.

I know how he feels. Sort of. No publisher is begging me to finish my current project.

Cross-posted from Bark Bark Woof Woof.

1 Comment

Filed under 06_bobby

One response to “Writer’s Bloc

  1. evilchemistry

    I used to really like Keillor for many different reasons. But I’ve pretty much come to the same conclusion as PZ over the years, which you can read here.

Leave a Reply

