Goodling Testimony Open Thread

Monica “Take the Fifth” Goodling, Gonzo’s former White House liaison, is about to begin testifying. You can watch live on C-SPAN3.

Background on Goodling’s role in Attorneygate here as well as some biographical info, like: “Goodling, who is in her early 30s, graduated from Messiah College and received her law degree in 1999 from Regent University, both of which describe themselves as Christian-based schools. She rose in prominence in the Justice Department after volunteering in the 2000 Bush presidential campaign.” Huh.

Anyhoo…open thread.

26 Comments

Filed under 01_shakespeares_sister

26 responses to “Goodling Testimony Open Thread

  1. Via TPM –

    “she once refused to go to a Justice Department baby shower because the mother was unwed”

    yeesh.

  2. did she just hand over the documents?

  3. I guess she isn’t too Christian to lie.

  4. what do we really expect? So she went to some second rate radical religious looney school and a law school which uses the bible rather than the constitution as its primary text. The man in charge, Karl Rove, didn’t even go to college. It’s truly the Beverly Hillbillies in charge.

  5. Doctor Jay

    Please don’t slander Jed Clampett so. He had far more moral character to him than this crowd. And a decent load of smarts, too. And so did Granny. Ok, Jethro was truly dumb. Elly Mae was strong, but heck, I kinda found that sexy.

  6. I have a wonderful Goodling photo retrospective here. Enjoy!

  7. yeah… I do apologize. Jed was pretty upstanding and I did have a thing for Ellie May… I was 13 and watched them on reruns, but I did… And Mayberry Machiavelli’s doesn’t work because Andy always did the right thing and Don Knots was cool.

    well… I’m metaphorically stumped… a little help?

  8. yeah… I do apologize. Jed was pretty upstanding and I did have a thing for Ellie May… I was 13 and watched them on reruns, but I did… And Mayberry Machiavelli’s doesn’t work because Andy always did the right thing and Don Knots was cool.

    well… I’m metaphorically stumped… a little help?

  9. I have a wonderful Goodling photo retrospective here. Enjoy!

    Too funny, I was wondering were you found all the different pictures!

  10. Pretty easy to see who they are setting up….

  11. What the hell is Cannon babbling about???!!!

  12. A few minutes ago I heard Karl Kassell, NPR’s news announcer and voice of gravitas, announce that Monica Lu-Goodling was going to testify that day. Yeeehaw!

    (For what it’s worth, Messiah College is well-regarded. Liberty is, of course, a big joke.)

  13. What the hell is Cannon babbling about???!!!

    What an ASS!!

    Is there a single Republican who cares at all about the constitution.

    I hate these fuckers!!

  14. Two type-A women?! Good fuck.

    Could I hate this woman more? No.

  15. This woman held a position of great power in our Government.

    Disgusting.

  16. nightshift66

    For a admin metaphor, how about Boss Hogg and Sheriff Roscoe Coltrane from Dukes of Hazzard? They were corrupt and stupid simultaneously. Not to mention the admin’s penchant for wrecking everything in sight.

    I know KO will be happy to get new pics of Goodling. I found it amazing that someone in that high a position could stay hidden that well. (Do a Google search for her pics; they aren’t there, save the single one used for months now.)

    “Two Type-A women”? I can’t watch at work, so I hope KO goes into that one. It sounds fascinating.

  17. Hands up, anyone who was surprised that she 1) didn’t know what the law was and 2) pointed the finger elsewhere.

    Anyone?

    Didn’t think so.

  18. pointed the finger elsewhere.

    Isn’t that in the Bible? “Point thy finger to the nearest goat. And Lo the Almighty will shower innocence onto thee.” Gonzekiel 9.11

  19. Goodling has spilled the beans about some things, but she’s still covering for other people. She didn’t come up with loyalty tests of her own initiative.

    Will anyone actually dare to implicate Rove?

  20. I’ve actually been on Messiah College’s campus. I grew up within a few miles of where it’s located in Pennsylvania. I did research for some of my High School projects in their library.

    I have no real commentary to add beyond that. I didn’t really interact with the students or anything. I have no great insight into the mind of Ms. Goodling because of it, but it still gets me every time the school is mentioned. Who would have guessed that the little Bible college near my house would figure in such important matters.

    Alright, I’m done rambling…

  21. From the comment thread at TPM

    (posted by John H. Farr)

    You folks who follow these issues minutely may see “bombshells” and contradictions in the testimony of people like Goodling, but this lay person’s overall impression of this hearing is that:

    a) Conyers needs to retire, and

    b) democracy in the U.S.A. is a hollow fraud.

    My reason for b) is that when one side refuses to play by the rules (i.e., the Constitution), IT DOESN’T WORK, especially if the other side thinks it’s still operative. There isn’t remotely enough outrage or sense of the clear and present danger we’re in.

    My reason for a) is that the Republic is dying in front of our eyes, and the same old clubbiness will not do. None of our so-called leaders on the Democratic side seem willing to confront the reality of the Bush administration. All that’s being accomplished here is to put a “see, we did something about it” veneer on the corpse of liberty, and I can’t stand it

    yeah pretty much. Well said John.

  22. Arkades

    Monica “Take the Fifth” Goodling

    After today’s questioning, something tells me she’s gonna need more than a fifth…

  23. I rant about the look up thing that guys do.

  24. Shit- that was supposed to be on the blogwhore post- bahhhhhh.

  25. I listened to some clips of her testimony. So when did we turn the DOJ over to Lindsay Lohan?

Leave a Reply

